Buy new:
FREE delivery: 2 - 14 Feb
Usually dispatched within 5 to 7 days.
$$43.95 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon AU
Sold by
Amazon AU
Ships from
Amazon AU
Sold by
Amazon AU
The Ill-Made Mute - Speci... has been added to your Cart
Other Sellers on Amazon
+ $3.00 Delivery
Sold by: RarewavesUSA
Sold by: RarewavesUSA
(4600 ratings)
84% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
+ $4.90 Delivery
Sold by: Amazon US
Sold by: Amazon US
Only 2 left in stock.
International Product from outside Australia
Delivery rates Return policy

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing ‘Send link’, you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Ill-Made Mute - Special Edition: The Bitterbynde Book #1 (1) Hardcover – 1 September 2013

4.3 out of 5 stars 57 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from

Enhance your purchase

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Frequently bought together

  • The Ill-Made Mute - Special Edition: The Bitterbynde Book #1 (1)
  • +
  • The Battle of Evernight - Special Edition: The Bitterbynde Book #3 (3)
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description


Dart-Thornton's Bitterbynde trilogy - each book, and all three together, DESERVE TO WIN EVERY FANTASY AWARD THERE IS. This glorious book gives my back my faith in fantasy fiction... a stunning representative of its field... to Cecilia Dart-Thornton I extend the plea: More! More!
- TANITH LEE, World Fantasy Award Winner

The Ill-Made Mute is THE BEST FANTASY NOVEL I'VE READ. . . at last, a book to get excited about.
- THE MERCURY - Tasmania

A buzzing proliferation of NEW WORLDS, weaving in and out of the psychic profile of our own.

With deep roots in folklore and myth, tirelessly inventive, fascinating, affecting and profoundly satisfying - and Dart-Thornton has plenty in reserve for sequels. A STUNNING, DAZZLING DEBUT.

This is an enjoyable entree to The Bitterbynde. LIKE TOLKIEN and many of the best fantasy writers, Dart-Thornton has created a wonderful fantasy world that is a delight to wander through.

About the Author

Cecilia Dart-Thornton is the author of numerous bestselling fantasy novels, notably the Bitterbynde Trilogy. The Washington Post reported that the first summer after Neilsen Booktrack launched in Australia, it showed Dart-Thornton's newly launched fantasy tome The Ill-Made Mute hitting the Herald's best-seller list, ranked next to mainstream authors and 'serious' fiction. Technology, in one swift blow, destroyed a decades-long publishers' bias against fantasy. It demonstrated that what people were really buying was simply not reflected in the old bestseller lists, based as they were on reports from a small panel of bookshops. The reality was, people were buying fantasy - in particular, they were buying The Ill-Made Mute. This debut novel and its two sequels in the 'Bitterbynde Trilogy' went on to win fans and accolades across the globe. The Ill-Made Mute was listed on Amazon's Best, Locus Magazine's Best First Novels, the Sydney Morning Herald's Top Twenty and the Australian Publishers' Association 'Australia's Favourite Read'. It is published in five languages and distributed in more than fifty countries around the world.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Quillpen Pty Ltd t/a Leaves of Gold Press (1 September 2013)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 508 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0987575406
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0987575401
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 15.24 x 3.71 x 22.86 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 57 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Cecilia Dart-Thornton was born and raised in Melbourne, Australia, graduating from Monash University with a Bachelor of Arts degree in sociology.

She became a schoolteacher before working as an editor, bookseller, illustrator and book designer.

She started and ran her own business, but became a full-time writer in 2000 after her work was 'discovered' on the Internet and published by Time Warner (New York).

A keen supporter of animal rights and wilderness conservation, she has also branched out into such diverse industries as clay sculpting, performing in folk music bands, and digital media.

Her books are published around the world and have been translated into several languages.



'This series follows the journey of a mute, amnesiac foundling through a world of beauty and peril, teeming with faerie creatures.'

The Ill-Made Mute (2001)

The Lady of the Sorrows (2002)

The Battle of Evernight (2003)


'A four-part epic fantasy describing the adventures that befall a cursed and gifted family.'

The Iron Tree (2004)

The Well of Tears (2005)

Weatherwitch (2006)

Fallowblade (2007)

THE MIDNIGHT GAME - A young-adult fantasy novel published in a fine limited edition. (2012)


Long the Clouds are Over me Tonight (Published in the anthology Emerald Magic: Great Tales of Irish Fantasy; Tor Books, 2004)

The Stolen Swanmaiden (Published in Australian Women's Weekly September 2005)

The Lanes of Camberwell (Published by Harper Collins in the anthology DREAMING AGAIN, 2008)

The Enchanted (Published by Harper Collins in the anthology LEGENDS OF AUSTRALIAN FANTASY, 2010)

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
57 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 27 January 2014
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 26 March 2018

Top reviews from other countries

Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 July 2020
Verified Purchase
Ms. Rachel A. Gill
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 December 2018
Verified Purchase
Sue Pegg
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 April 2016
Verified Purchase
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 March 2013
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Sagar Vibhute
3.0 out of 5 stars Visual
Reviewed in India on 6 September 2021
Verified Purchase