Buying Options

Kindle Price: $13.33
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
If the Creek Don't Rise: A Novel by [Leah Weiss]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


If the Creek Don't Rise: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 559 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$13.33

Length: 322 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $2.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Pre-order Books. Order now from our extensive selection of books coming soon with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Shop now

Product description

Review

..".masterful use of language....Weiss' novel is a great suggestion for fans of the Big Stone Gap books, by Adriana Trigiani, and Mitford series, by Jan Karon." - Booklist

"Writing with a deep knowledge of the enduring myths of Appalachia, Weiss vividly portrays real people and sorrows. A strong, formidable novel for readers of William Faulkner and Cormac McCarthy." - Library Journal

..".tender but powerful debut...highlighting Weiss's considerable characterization skills.

" - Publishers Weekly

"Weiss' tale is a beguiling, compelling read.

" - Kirkus

"Every page of Leah Weiss' debut, If the Creek Don't Rise, has a pulse as fierce and unyielding as its Appalachian setting. Told through an ensemble of narrators, men and women of all ages bound by the inescapable power of place and belonging, it is a lush exploration of the darkest rooms in the human heart, and the brightest fires of the human spirit. Weiss' remarkable gift for language left me breathless, and her characters, distinctive and unapologetically-human, will haunt me for some time." - Erika Marks, author of The Last Treasure

"This one nearly broke my heart. With deeply human characters I will not easily forget, Weiss captures the fierce pull of desperation and the formidable power of hope. An impressive debut from a talent to watch.... " - Kathleen Grissom, author of the New York Times bestsellers The Kitchen House and Glory Over Everything --This text refers to the library edition.

About the Author

Leah Weiss, PhD, is a researcher, trainer, consultant and author. She specializes in the optimization of mindfulness and purpose in the workplace. She teaches courses on compassionate leadership at the Stanford Graduate School of Business and is a principal teacher and trainer for Stanfords Compassion Cultivation Program, founded by the Dalai Lama. She also directs Compassion Education and Scholarship at HopeLab, an Omidyar Group research and development nonprofit focused on resilience. She consults with a variety of organizations customizing trainings and creating programs, ranging from health care to hedge funds, to optimize well-being, mindfulness, purpose, innovation, and collaboration in the work environment.

Leah Weiss is a Southern writer born in the flat lands of North Carolina and raised in the foothills of Virginia where she loves hiking short stretches of the Appalachian Trail. Her debut novel, If the Creek Dont Rise, is set in the Appalachian mountains of North Carolina. The book has been chosen as an Indie Next, Okra Pick, and LibraryReads. Leah retired in 2015 from a twenty-four-year career as Executive Assistant to the Headmaster at Virginia Episcopal School.

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Product details

  • File Size : 1321 KB
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print Length : 322 pages
  • Publisher : Sourcebooks Landmark (22 August 2017)
  • ASIN : B06XRMFXN1
  • Language: : English
  • Enhanced Typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Enabled
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Screen Reader : Supported
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 559 ratings
click to open popover