You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $9.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Husband's Secret by [Moriarty, Liane]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Husband's Secret Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 224 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
$9.99

Length: 448 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $3.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

NEW: Unlimited listening with Kindle Unlimited
Enjoy access to over 1 million books and thousands of titles with Audible Narration on any device. Read and listen free for 30 days. Learn more

Product description

Product Description

The no. 1 New York Times bestseller from the author of Big Little Lies

"A staggeringly brilliant novel. It is literally unputdownable." Mail on Sunday

How well do you know your husband?

Cecilia Fitzpatrick, devoted mother, successful Tupperware business owner and efficient P&C President, has found a letter from her husband.

"For my wife, Cecilia Fitzpatrick, to be opened only in the event of my death"

But Cecilia's husband isn't dead, he's on a business trip. And when she questions him about it on the phone, Cecilia senses something she hasn't experienced before. John-Paul is lying.

What happens next changes Cecilia's formerly blissful suburban existence forever, and the consequences will be life-changing for the most unexpected people.

PRAISE FOR THE HUSBAND'S SECRET

"So good you won't be able to keep it to yourself" USA Today

"The story is cleverly plotted, full of suspense and so well-written that it pulls you in from the first page" Sunday Mirror

"Dark and compelling, this is a must read" Sun

"Intelligent and funny" Sydney Morning Herald

Named one of Entertainment Weekly's Best Books of the Year and People magazine's Top Ten Books of the Year

Fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and Paula Hawkins will love Liane Moriarty.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 809 KB
  • Print Length: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Macmillan Australia (1 April 2013)
  • Sold by: Macmillan (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00AW57L96
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars 224 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #44 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

click to open popover

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
I read this book a while ago and lent it to someone who RAVED about it. I remember loving it, but having just re-read it I understand why - it truly is different. Even knowing the husbands secret you are mesmerised by the many intertwining characters.
The story of The Husband's Secret unfolds from the third person perspectives of three women, Cecilia, Tess and Rachel. At first the connections between these women are peripheral but the secret will change them all.
Cecilia has been married to Jon-Paul for fifteen years, they have three bright and beautiful daughters and a busy, happy life. Cecilia is the P&C president, a successful Tupperware host and her neat and orderly world is shattered when her husband returns early from a business trip.
Tess is devastated when her husband announces he has fallen in love with her best friend, cousin and business partner, Felicity. Her only thought is to escape and she abandons her life in Melbourne to return to her childhood home in Sydney. Tess isn't interested in renewing old friendships but finds she can not resist the attentions of an old flame - the school PE (sports) teacher.
Every day is an effort for Rachel. It is only the presence of her toddler grandson that relieves the grief that has haunted her since her teenage daughter was murdered more than twenty years ago, and now her son and his wife are moving to New York. Bereft, Rachel renews her obsession with the man she suspects murdered her daughter, a man that teaches at the school where she is a secretary, a man she is convinced is really a monster.
The Husband's Secret is so successful because of Moriarty's wonderfully created characters. The fact that good people can do bad things, totally out of character but not knowing how to react in a situation is what Liane creates like no other.
I loved that it was set in Australia and I could so imagine the school, the women - everything. Liane Moriarty you are amazing.
8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This was an interesting story and got me hooked from the first page. We read it for my book club and it was a great book to pull apart and discuss everyone's take on the scenario. I would recommend to a friend.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By lisa TOP 50 REVIEWER on 28 March 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
Running through this wonderful book is the theme of fate. If 17 year old Jane had kept a doctors appointment instead of meeting a friend, the events in this story would not have happened.

The book opens with the anniversary of a murder, a marriage betrayed and a sweet loving husband keeping a sinister secret. The author invites us into the fascinating minds of efficient Cecilia, shell-shocked Tess and bereaved Rachael. Tess daydreams about sex while watching a primary school parade, then feels guilty. Rachael fights with anger toward her perfect daughter in law. Cecilia watches her husband iron his orange shirt and wonders if he is secretly gay. It's not laugh out loud funny, but every chapter is either fascinating or very entertaining.

I like the fact that it doesn't give easy cliched answers, instead it makes you think about the patterns of life. That said I wasn't totally happy with what happened to the cute gym teacher at the end, maybe I would have preferred a bit of a cliche after all.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
It was ok. The actual plot line was very good and if it was written better then it would have been more enjoyable. The author babbled on and on, i pretty much sped read this book and still know exactly what happened. There were pages, sometimes whole chapters of absolute rubbish that added nothing to the story.
One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This one of several books I have read by Liane Moriarty. So far they are all written in the second person with the lady characters taking turns relating events from their point of view. The men characters however are also strongly developed through the minds of the ladies. This one is a mystery centred around an unsolved murder. Set in Sydney and Melbourne I could relate to a lot of the anecdotes about raising children in a modern environment. There is plenty of witty and amusing humour.
One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I can't begin to tell you how much I loved this book, also bought it for my Mum and she's loving it, a friend has downloaded to her iPad and loves it...it's just well written, funny, and clever and all of the characters are so likeable in their own way. Do yourself a favout and read this book...it's a page turner from start to finish I promise. I've just bought another of Liane Moriarty's novels and can't wait to start it. Excellent work Liane x
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Once I started this book - I literally could not stop. The story was so engrossing and dramatic, once I was half way I could not put it down - I was too disturbed to sleep - thinking about the events and characters.

I enjoyed her detailed characters and the emotions and feelings they described.
2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Alpha Reader TOP 50 REVIEWER on 30 December 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
Lianne Moriarty's new novel begins with a bit of Greek Mythology, and the story of poor Pandora who's been given a bad rap and turned into a sorry metaphor over time, especially considering "nobody said a word about not opening it!"

It's an apt metaphor, indeed. The unsuspecting and fair Pandora who didn't know what she was getting herself into when she innocently opened a jar and unleashed horrors onto the world. Cut to modern-day Sydney and Cecilia Fitzpatrick is wrestling with her conscience about opening a letter her husband never thought she'd find, to be opened only in the event of his death (which is a problem, since he's still very much alive and healthy). Cecilia is an upstanding citizen and beyond-reproach mum at St. Angela's primary school, where her three daughters are currently attending. Cecilia is a good Catholic, a superb Tupperware saleswoman and loving wife to equally upstanding John-Paul. But this letter is nagging at her - especially when John-Paul is thrown into a fit over it, and her daughters start sharing their own concerns about dad's behaviour. . .

In Melbourne, Tess O'Leary has just had a veritable Pandora's Box blown up in her face, when her husband Will and beloved cousin (more like sister), Felicity, announce their pious love and declare that they'd very much like to start a relationship . . . Tess is shaken to her core, and fuelled with hate. Herself a socially awkward by-product of divorce, and with her young son Liam to consider, she decides to leave her husband and cousin to their debauchery in the hopes they come to their senses - she and Liam leave for Sydney, to stay with her ailing mother and escape the heartache. But while trying to escape the deluge, Tess runs into an old flame and PE teacher at St.
Read more ›
14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category