$18.48 + FREE Delivery
In stock.
Ships from and sold by BuyGlobal.
$18.48 + FREE Delivery
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$18.57
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
Add to Cart
$19.34
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Wordery AU
Add to Cart
$16.35
+ $3.00 delivery
Sold by: Rarewaves UK

Loading recommendations for you
Recommendations for you

Adding to Cart...

Added to Cart

Not Added

Item is in your Cart

View Cart

Not Added

There was a problem adding this item to Cart. Please try again later.
Sorry, we're having trouble showing recommendations right now. Please try again later.
Continue shopping
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

How to Lose a Country: The 7 Steps from Democracy to Dictatorship Paperback – 2 Aug 2019

4.2 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$18.48
$16.35

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now
click to open popover

Amazon Launchpad
Discover new, innovative, and trending products from emerging brands Shop now

Product details

  • Paperback: 272 pages
  • Publisher: 4th Estate - GB; Reprint edition (1 August 2019)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0008294046
  • ISBN-13: 978-0008294045
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 19.8 cm
  • Boxed-product Weight: 209 g
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 21,746 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product description

Review

‘Temelkuran, a treasure of a novelist, turns a nonfiction eye to the burning topic of today: populism.  Vivid, visionary, terrifyingly familiar, How To Lose A Country is essential reading for everyone on planet Earth
Andrew Sean Greer, Pulitzer Prize winning author of Less

‘This is a keenly observed and passionately written book. Read it or be prepared to lose your country
Rabih Alameddine 

'The opponents of authoritarian populist and nationalist regimes have often failed to foresee or effectively resist their rise until it was too late. This highly informed and original book is essential reading for anybody who wants to understand the forces that are convulsing our world' Patrick Cockburn, author of Rise of the Islamic State

Never was a book so necessary and urgent.  A brilliant expose of the rise of right wing populism and how we challenge it’ Michael (Lord) Cashman

‘Ece Temelkuran is a passionate authentic voice whose fearless stand against authoritarian incursion is inspiring. She writes with an urgent conviction that has never been more important than now’ Tina Brown
  
‘An important, current and, most importantly, very readable book about the populist playbook and how it threatens to engulf us all’ Rick O’Shea

‘In the tradition of Hannah Arendt’s Origins of Totalitarianism, Ece Temelkuran exquisitely dissects the origins of authoritarian populism, using the bitterly learned lessons of Turkey to warn England and America. Not stopping at critique, she offers defiant visions of how demagogues might be fought. A poetic, vital, harsh and ultimately hopeful book’ Molly Crabapple, author of Drawing Blood and Brothers of the Gun

'A stunning, sane and intimate chronicle of a world gone nuts. An urgent whisper in our ears about our modern dictators and their collaborators. Ece has looked them in the eye, and is now telling us we need talk' Mohammed Hanif

About the Author

Ece Temelkuran is one of Turkey's best-known novelists and political commentators, and her journalism has appeared in the Guardian, New York Times, New Statesman, Frankfurter Allgemeine and Der Spiegel. She has been twice recognised as Turkey's most read political columnist, and twice rated as one of the ten most influential people in social media (with 3 million twitter followers). Her recent novel Women Who Blow on Knots won the 2017 Edinburgh International Book Festival First Book Award.

No customer reviews

5 star (0%) 0%
4 star (0%) 0%
3 star (0%) 0%
2 star (0%) 0%
1 star (0%) 0%

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.2 out of 5 stars 3 reviews
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 starsI have lost two countries
11 June 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Jack Frisch
3.0 out of 5 starsFragmentation
1 July 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Concerned Globalist
5.0 out of 5 starsBest Book Of The Year
17 July 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
One person found this helpful