<Embed>
$23.69
  • RRP: $29.99 Details

    Recommended Retail Price (RRP)

    The RRP displayed is the most recent manufacturer’s recommended retail price made available to Amazon AU.
  • You Save: $6.30 (21%)
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon AU.
The Holiday Murders has been added to your Cart
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

The Holiday Murders Paperback – 30 January 2013

4.0 out of 5 stars 27 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$23.69
$23.69
FREE delivery: 28 - 29 Oct on orders over $39.00 shipped by Amazon.
Fastest delivery: Wednesday, 28 Oct

Pre-order Books. Order now from our extensive selection of books coming soon with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Shop now
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • The Holiday Murders
  • +
  • The Port Fairy Murders
Total Price: $47.38
Buy the selected items together

Pre-order Books. Order now from our extensive selection of books coming soon with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Shop now

Product details

  • Paperback : 320 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1922070254
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1922070258
  • Product Dimensions : 13.34 x 2.54 x 20.96 cm
  • Publisher : Scribe Publications (30 January 2013)
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.0 out of 5 stars 27 ratings

Product description

Review

"[M]ore than just a pulsating procedural thriller, Gott's novel presents an acute socio-political rendering of a nation haunted by an underworld of fascism and the bloodshed of war...a fascinating cautionary tale that explores the wonderful bond between crime fiction and the shadows lurking in our collective past."
--Scott Macleod, Australian Book Review

"The Holiday Murders is a new crime novel from Robert Gott, author of the "William Power" crime novels as well as many children's books. I hope it will be the first of many...Drawing on the political and social milieu of the time and name-checking some of Melbourne's landmark streets and hotels, Gott's story rings true--as well as being a real page-turner. It's also a little grisly in parts. Fans of Kerry Greenwood, Sulari Gentill and any readers who like a little history with their crime will love The Holiday Murders."
--Pip Newling, Australian Bookseller and Publisher

"Aficionados of all that's hard-boiled will thrill to the frisson."
--Australian Financial Review

"A spell-binding, fast-paced story...[that] romps along at a rollicking pace...Anyone who enjoys curling up in front of the television to watch Midsomer Murders, Inspector Morse or Phryne Fisher will relish Gott's work."
--Fran Metcalf, Courier Mail

"A great addition to historical Oz crime fiction...a fantastic read."
--Andrew Nette, Crime Factory

"It's difficult to know where to start with the list of things I loved about this book...Every time I thought I had worked out how things would resolve another element or twist came to light and the resolution, which I stayed up long past my bed time to get to, was a stunner. I'm hopeful this is the first of a series of novels featuring these characters and I highly recommend it."
--Fair Dinkum Crime

"The Holiday Murders offers everything you could want in a crime novel: tension, intrigue, complex characters (both male and female) and a powerful social context."
--Blanche Clark, Herald Sun

"[An] excellent read with...a strong plot and a surprise ending."
--Launceston Examiner

"Gott's new book is as close to perfect as a mystery can be."
--Christine Cremen, Sunday Age

"A spell-binding, fast-paced story."
--Sunday Territorian

"What works best...are the characters and their nicely judged relationships. Titus, Joe and Helen are keepers. More please."
--Sue Turnbull, The Saturday Age

"A compelling story of guilt and redemption in wartime Australia."
--Garry Disher

"A riveting crime novel that is both intelligent and terrifying."
--Angela Savage

Book Description

The Holiday Murders explores a little-known and sometimes violent corner of Australian history, and finds oddly modern echoes in its paranoia, xenophobia, and ugly fervour.

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4 out of 5
27 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 12 June 2015
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 9 March 2015
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 7 April 2015
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 8 April 2015
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 5 June 2015
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 23 April 2015
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 8 March 2017
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Grr (tiger)
3.0 out of 5 stars “A bizarre juxtaposition of the odd and the banal”
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase
John Stackhouse
5.0 out of 5 stars When the trad publisher wins
Reviewed in the United States on 21 March 2013
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Elaine Schroller
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific protagonists and marvelous writing
Reviewed in the United States on 28 December 2019
Verified Purchase
Amazon Customer
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid twist in the climax brought unexpected interest and enjoyment. Overall a recommended read and one that left ...
Reviewed in the United States on 24 October 2015
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Ashflat
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder based on historical past.
Reviewed in the United States on 14 March 2013
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse