You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $12.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Historian by [Kostova, Elizabeth]
Kindle App Ad

The Historian Kindle Edition

3.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$12.99

Length: 721 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

Product description

Review

Some stories can be told again in endlessly different ways. Elizabeth Kostova's The Historian combines a search for the historical Dracula with a profound sense that Stoker got some things right--that the late Mediaeval tyrant kills among us yet, undead and dangerous. From Stoker, she also takes a sense that the supernatural seems more real when embedded in documentary evidence. (Three generations search for Dracula's resting place, and their stories are nested within each other, so that we know that at least two quests ended badly. Kostova rations her thrills very carefully so that we jump out of our chair at quite slight surpris)

This is a quietly good book rather than a spectacular debut, with some uncomfortable twists in its tail; her heroine-narrators are, and perhaps remain, in the most serious of jeopardies. (Roz Kaveney, AMAZON.CO.UK)

A vastly ingenious plot . . . Kostova is a whiz at storytelling and narrative pace (OBSERVER)

Book Description

DESTINED FOR IMMORTALITY...


* In the tradition of THE SECRET HISTORY and THE ALIENIST - a captivating and suspenseful novel that delves into the true history of Vlad the Impaler...


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1704 KB
  • Print Length: 721 pages
  • Publisher: Sphere; New Ed edition (6 June 2010)
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003PPDBLW
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #19,180 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

click to open popover

Customer reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 2 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 15 August 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars 2,274 reviews
4.0 out of 5 starsGreat summer read
on 28 May 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
2.0 out of 5 starsNot my favorite
on 5 May 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
4.0 out of 5 starsCreepy, not Frightening
on 14 November 2005 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
4.0 out of 5 starsLong read
on 28 September 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
5.0 out of 5 starsA "what if of epic scale." Fantastic!
on 1 February 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase

Look for similar items by category

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?