You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $11.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Happiness Project (Revised Edition): Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun by [Rubin, Gretchen]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Happiness Project (Revised Edition): Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 9 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
$11.99

Length: 324 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $14.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Kindle Paperwhite
Kindle Paperwhite
The best device for reading, full stop. Learn more

Product description

Product Description

“This book made me happy in the first five pages.” —AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible

Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is “a cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.” (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1559 KB
  • Print Length: 324 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0061583251
  • Publisher: Harper Paperbacks; Revised ed. edition (29 December 2015)
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B017H7FUIK
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars 9 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #2,396 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top customer reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
It's like when you catch up with a friend you haven't seen in a while and all they do is complain, and you keep looking at your watch and into the dregs of your coffee waiting to escape this silent hell. Its like this but in book form, when your at home chilling on your couch.
One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Well written and has given me lots to think about. Makes good conversation with my family. A book I would recommend
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The most important thing to say about this book is that it is NOT just another one of those vague, hard-to-believe self-help books that promise the world but deliver only vague platitudes and tall tales. There are a few reasons, in my opinion, why this book is vastly more interesting and readable.

- It actually has a specific focus (becoming happier over 12 months, broken down into one life area per month such as money, family, fun)
- It is based on genuine research about happiness, social attitudes and thinking patterns in different societies and over time and human misunderstanding about what will make us happier
- It contains regular practical ideas about how to achieve personal change, from not eating food at children's parties to going on a 5-day intensive art class
- It is not preachy. In fact I can't remember any direct suggestions to the reader, it was almost entirely about the author's own personal journey and the changes she made.
- Most importantly, the author fails in a number of experimental changes she undertakes, and tells us so. This is entirely different from the unrealistic "I achieved instant success without even trying" kind of nonsense in many low-brow self-help books. It also meant I had a lot more trust in the book as a whole and its author.

This is unlikely to turn anybody into a millionaire supermodel overnight, but for me it has been a great prompt to make small changes to my general approach to problems, to seek out new challenges and to make better use of my time. Ultimately anybody can change their life for the better with a bit of self-reflection about what needs to change and an action plan to make it happen.

Oh, and it was also an enjoyable read!
One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
as a generally content person i really related to the idea of just engaging with life and being as happy as i can be. There was so much in this book that i could see reflected in my own life and it helped set me on the track to create my own little happiness project that i'm excited to be starting.
One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
I really enjoyed this book. Some of it is cliched and obvious but it is funny how we sometimes still need the obvious pointed out to us. I am glad the author shared her experiences in such an honest manner.
One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse