Buy New
& FREE Delivery on orders over $39.00 . Details
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon AU.
Il Trionfo del Tempo e de... has been added to your Cart

Loading recommendations for you
Recommendations for you

Adding to Cart...

Added to Cart

Not Added

Item is in your Cart

View Cart

Not Added

There was a problem adding this item to Cart. Please try again later.
Sorry, we're having trouble showing recommendations right now. Please try again later.
Continue shopping

Il Trionfo del Tempo e del Disinganno (GA)

3.5 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

Additional DVD options
Amazon Price
New from Used from
DVD 1-Disc Version

Movies & TV clearance promo
Save up to 50% off select Movies & TV titles offered and sold by Amazon AU. Shop now

Product details

  • Format: Classical, Color, NTSC
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: Italian, French, German, English
  • Region: All Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Studio: Warner Music Group Germany Holding GmbH / Hamburg
  • DVD Release Date: 7 July 2017
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • ASIN: B0718SPC9D

Product description

The Aix festival’s first three days brought three of music’s greatest scores — “Il Trionfo,” “Pelléas”and Mozart’s “Così Fan Tutte”— all played and sung exquisitely and staged with stimulating seriousness. – The New York Times Festival d'Aix-en-Provence has firmly established itself as France’s preeminent summer festival and is a key fixture on the international festival calendar. It is particularly in the field of opera that the Festival d'Aix-en-Provence continues to break new ground and this release from the 2016 festival demonstrates that. In this new staging – a coproduction with the Opéra de Lille, Théâtre de Caen – Emmanuelle Haïm directs Le Concert d’Astrée with a star-studded cast including Franco Fagioli, Sara Mingardo, Michael Spyres, and exclusive Erato artist Sabine Devieilhe. Translated as “The Triumph of Time and Disillusionment” Handel’s first oratorio was one he would continue to revise throughout his life. The first version, heard here, was written and premiered in Rome in 1707 to a libretto by Cardinal Benedetto Pamphili. It tells the story of the narcissistic Bellezza, her relationship with the deceitful Piacere, and her journey towards goodness, truth and inner beauty. It famously includes “Lascia la spina”, the first version of an aria he recycled for his opera Rinaldo – “Lascia ch'io pianga” – arguably his most famous aria.

No customer reviews

5 star (0%) 0%
4 star (0%) 0%
3 star (0%) 0%
2 star (0%) 0%
1 star (0%) 0%

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on 3.5 out of 5 stars 6 reviews
Brent Trafton
5.0 out of 5 starsHandel for the modern world
26 July 2017 - Published on
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Daniel B.
5.0 out of 5 starsHandel's early masterpiece, Il Trionfo: Beethoven considered Handel the greatest composer of all. This production is proof!!
17 March 2018 - Published on
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
C. P. Scillieri
1.0 out of 5 starsNon e trionfo....
28 January 2018 - Published on
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Keris Nine
5.0 out of 5 starsNot a complete loss for Beauty and Pleasure
6 June 2017 - Published on
11 people found this helpful