Buying Options

Kindle Price: $11.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
HEX by [Heuvelt, Thomas Olde]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


HEX Kindle Edition

4.0 out of 5 stars 429 ratings

See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$11.99
Paperback
$18.05

Length: 385 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $10.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Find your next great read with Kindle Unlimited
Check out Cosy Winter Fiction reads, Cookery and more with this month's featured titles, now available to read for $0.00. Browse this month's selection.

Product description

Review

"This is totally, brilliantly original." --Stephen King

"HEX is creepy and gripping and original, sure to be one of the top horror novels of 2016." --George R.R. Martin

"Thomas is a great writer, the next genre superstar." --Paul Cornell

"[A] touch of strangeness, of alienness, avoiding sub-Stephen King clichés. [Olde Heuvelt] has written five novels already, and publishers should be lining up to translate them." --The Wall Street Journal

"HEX is reminiscent of vintage Stephen King, and I can think of no higher praise. Chilling, moving and . . . profound." --John Connolly

"Olde Heuvelt's HEX sets ancient magic against contemporary technology to create a kind of dark fairy tale that seems ultimately believable in today's world. A terrific debut novel." --Jeffrey Ford

"HEX is a thoughtful horror story, and one that is all the more chilling for its uncompromising view of humanity. . . . I found the story and its ending uncompromising and inevitable." --Robin Hobb

"HEX takes the horror/thriller genre to a whole new level. It's deeply unsettling, wholly original, brilliantly written and contains scenes that will haunt you for a long time to come. I dare you to read it." --Sarah Lotz

"Thomas Olde Heuvelt's HEX is a treat for all fans of dark fiction . . . a modern spin on the witch's curse story that forces us to take a closer look at ourselves. Who is really evil after all? It's may not be who you think. This is just the beginning and I can't wait to read his next one." --Ann VanderMeer

"Hidden tensions and human weakness trigger a witch-hunt that boils over into persecution, scapegoating and a shocking denouement. A powerfully spooky piece of writing." --Financial Times

"The best horror debut since John Ajvide Lindqvist's Let the Right One In." --Alan Kelly, Rue Morgue

"Equal parts Stephen King and The Cabin in the Woods, Thomas Olde Heuvelt's novel is a pop page-turner with an intriguingly weird ambience . . . a funny, surprising and eerie novel." --SFX Magazine

"Olde Heuvelt offers up a truly terrifying parable about mankind's depravity and the depths of evil of which we are capable. The story is not merely unsettling, it is horrifying" -Kirkus Reviews

"[I]ntriguing premise . . . Heuvelt develops his characters enough to give their tragic lives resonance" --Publishers Weekly

[S]imilarities to early Stephen King . . . Spielbergian in the way Olde Heuvelt shows supernatural goings-on in the midst of everyday life . . . It's a fabulous, unforgettable conceit and Olde Heuvelt makes the most of it." --The Guardian

"Heuvelt's masterfully frightening debut will haunt the reader for days afterward." --Book Riot

"A great read for fans of The Blair Witch Project or The Crucible. " --Booklist

"[O]ne of the most original, clever, and terrifying books to be published in the 21st century". --New York Journal of Books

"An entertaining read with a chilling concept. Not for the faint hearted." --Brave New Words

"Truly absorbing and keeps you locked into the horrifying events as they unfold." --Fantasy Book Review

Review

A wicked witch holds an upstate New York town prisoner. This is totally, brilliantly original. - Stephen King

Deeply unsettling, wholly original, brilliantly written . . . I dare you to read it. - Sarah Lotz

HEX is reminiscent of vintage Stephen King, and I can think of no higher praise. Chilling, moving and, in its odd way, not a little profound. - John Connolly

A truly terrifying parable about mankind's depravity ... the story is not merely unsettling, it is horrifying ... read it if you dare! - Kirkus Reviews

Hidden tensions and human weakness trigger a witch-hunt that boils over into persecution, scapegoating and a shocking denouement. A powerfully spooky piece of writing. - Financial Times

A thoughtful horror story, and one that is all the more chilling for its uncompromising view of humanity . . . HEX is a book that answers the question, "Where does evil come from?" - Robin Hobb

A great writer, the next genre superstar - Paul Cornell

A compelling story rich in imagination and history . . . HEX is truly absorbing. - Fantasy Book Review

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1253 KB
  • Print Length: 385 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton (28 April 2016)
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00X61MWWY
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #126,665 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4 out of 5
429 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers
Reviewed in Australia on 13 August 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Top international reviews

josbookblog
4.0 out of 5 stars A creepy tale
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 May 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
DieselEstate
2.0 out of 5 stars The Promise Never Arrives
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 24 December 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
KIKAREN
3.0 out of 5 stars Way too long - almost glacial
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 December 2016
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Richie
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written, original and imaginative
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 December 2017
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
EllenD
5.0 out of 5 stars Hex
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 November 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
K. Davis
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 November 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Mrs. K. J. Hawk
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully creepy
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 March 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad Bad Bad! but not in a good way
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 July 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Rhiannon
3.0 out of 5 stars Great first couple of chapters - really unique concept and ...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 October 2016
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Andy
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy and original
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 June 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
4.0 out of 5 stars A modern day witch's curse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 November 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Simon Hares SerialTrainer7 Ltd
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 January 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Bonnie
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, Powerful and Disturbingly Relevant
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 September 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
"movie_madness"
3.0 out of 5 stars A little anticlimactic (spoiler alert)
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 October 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kayleigh
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting Read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 September 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse