Buying Options

Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR
Kindle Price: $4.74
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Grace After Henry: Winner of The Big Book Awards 2018 by [Eithne Shortall]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Grace After Henry: Winner of The Big Book Awards 2018 Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 96 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$4.74

Length: 315 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $2.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Product description

Review

A witty, heartbreaking, life-affirming, gorgeous charmer of a novel about love and loss and letting go. I couldn't put it down, and I can't stop thinking about the characters, and I can't wait to give copies to all the people I love. * Nancy Thayer, author of A Nantucket Wedding * A touching, beautifully written story about losing love and finding it again in an unexpected way. I couldn't put it down - I was reading the book at two in the morning with a little flashlight, so I wouldn't wake up my husband. * Mary Simses, author of The Irresistible Blueberry Bakeshop & Cafe * This book is a poignant and touching account of one woman moving on after great tragedy. Shortall's American debut does not go for easy solutions but shows how grief manifests differently for those who experience it. * Booklist (starred review) * Insightful... Shortall's thought-provoking potentialities combined with her perceptive characterizations are certain to keep Grace and Andy in the reader's mind for a long time. * Publishers Weekly * Charming and heartfelt, Eithne Shortall's Grace After Henry is the unconventional love story - complete with quirky characters and tissue-worthy moments - you won't want to miss! A lovely, moving read. * Karma Brown, author of The Life Lucy Knew * Full of heart, this bittersweet tale examines love after loss. * Woman's World * Readers who loved Sense & Sensibility's inquiries into the possibility of loving twice will fall head over heels for this book. * Bustle * Fans of Jojo Moyes and Cecelia Ahern will adore Grace After Henry, a story of life after loss that brims with a lovable cast of characters, humor, and lots of heart. I recommend you have tissues at the ready and a phone within reach to call your friends! This emotionally rich, satisfying read is sure to put Eithne Shortall novels at the top of your TBR. * Jamie Brenner, author of The Husband Hour * Is it possible for a novel about grief to be this enchanting? ... Extraordinary... A gorgeously written, haunting reminder that nothing is ever really lost. * Caroline Leavitt, author of Pictures of You * Irish author Eithne Shortall's Dublin-set romance novel allows its characters to experience grief with a mix of lightheartedness and gravity. -- Marie Claire This is the best kind of book, with a blend of sharp humor and dark grief that strikes a pitch-perfect note of poignancy... An absolute treat of a novel. * Lolly Winston, author of Good Grief * Brilliant... A terrific read and superior plot! * Liz Nugent, author of Unravelling Oliver * Witty and wonderful, even at its most tenderly sad moments. * Image Magazine * Beautiful and moving. * Good Housekeeping * A moving exploration of what it means to lose your love... and if it's wise to try to recreate what you once had. * Daily Mail * Grace After Henry is sometimes heartbreaking and sometimes very funny as Eithne Shortall mixes humour and tragedy with a deftness reminiscent of Marian Keyes. * Irish Times * A tender, warm-hearted read. * Prima * Poignant, funny and deeply satisfying. * RED * An emotional, charming read, written with heart and humour. And when you finish it, trust me, you will hold your loved ones that little bit tighter. * Carmel Harrington, author of A Thousand Roads Home * A bittersweet story that tackles grief, love and moving on after a partner, and keeps readers guessing until the final page. * Irish Independent, Book of the Year, 2018 * Grace After Henry is an engrossing, surprising, and empowering story about the complexities of love, grief, and family. The characters were so beautifully developed that by the time I finished reading, I felt like I'd known them forever. * Jill Santopolo, author of The Light We Lost * I really enjoyed it - satisfying and warm, and written with humour and heart. * Sheila O'Flanagan, author of The Missing Wife * Grace After Henry made me WEEP... it was so moving - but also witty and well written. I loved it. * Louise O'Neill, author of Asking for It * This book is an emotional rollercoaster of the very best kind. Sad, funny, touching and ultimately uplifting, Grace After Henry is simply wonderful. * Chrissie Manby, author of Once in a Lifetime * --This text refers to the paperback edition.

About the Author

Eithne Shortall studied journalism at Dublin City University and has lived in London, France and America. Her debut novel Love in Row 27 was a major Irish bestseller and her follow up Grace After Henry was shortlisted for the Big Hearst Book Awards. Now based in Dublin, she is chief arts writer for the Sunday Times Ireland. --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
96 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers
Reviewed in Australia on 23 June 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 12 April 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 15 June 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 11 February 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 1 February 2020
Verified Purchase
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 8 January 2019

Top international reviews

Adele
5.0 out of 5 stars So sad, so beautiful and so heart-warming ...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 July 2018
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Copnor Chick
5.0 out of 5 stars Great feel good read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 July 2018
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Mrsljgibbs
4.0 out of 5 stars Ahhhhhhh I loved it 💕
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 August 2018
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Sheila
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 June 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Felixthecatpig
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read with a decent plot line with several twists.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 31 August 2018
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Karen
3.0 out of 5 stars Readable
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 May 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Anne Duff
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 stars - I really liked it
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 August 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Marie31
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic storyline
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 24 February 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Whirl
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 November 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
cat
5.0 out of 5 stars i loved this story of grace
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 July 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
sukisue
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 July 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully written story of love, loss, reawakening , hope, despair and resolution.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 February 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Moll
4.0 out of 5 stars Poignant Read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 24 September 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 December 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Grace after Henry
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 July 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse