You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $12.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>

Loading recommendations for you
Recommendations for you

Adding to Cart...

Added to Cart

Not Added

Item is in your Cart

View Cart

Not Added

There was a problem adding this item to Cart. Please try again later.
Sorry, we're having trouble showing recommendations right now. Please try again later.
Continue shopping
The Gown: An enthralling historical novel of the creation of Queen Elizabeth's wedding dress by [Robson, Jennifer]
Kindle App Ad

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Gown: An enthralling historical novel of the creation of Queen Elizabeth's wedding dress Kindle Edition

4.8 out of 5 stars 12 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99

Length: 384 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Kindle Paperwhite
Kindle Paperwhite
The best device for reading, full stop. Learn more

Product description

Review

"Embroidering a magical moment in royal history, Robson tells a heartrending story of friendship, loss, love, and redemption."--Leslie Carroll, author of American Princess: The Love Story of Meghan Markle and Prince Harry

"A moving story about the power of female friendship and renewal in the face of adversity. Like the good luck sprig of heather hidden amid the embroidery on Princess Elizabeth's wedding dress, this story promises secrets and lives that bloom in unlikely ways. Perfect for fans of The Crown!"--Lauren Willig, author of The English Wife

"Jennifer Robson embroiders life, friendship, and hope into the somber gray world of post-war London... The Gown is marvelous and moving, a vivid portrait of female self-reliance in a world racked by the cost of war."--Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network

"A story of friendship, family bonds, and courage, The Gown is the ideal read for fans of historical fiction and royal watchers alike!"
--Brenda Janowitz, author of The Dinner Party

"Told through the eyes of three compelling women, The Gown is a heartwarming story of friendship, resilience, and the power of heirlooms to connect people through generations, sometimes in the most unexpected ways."
--Kristina McMorris, New York Times bestselling author of The Edge of Lost and Sold on a Monday

"Robson's novel shifts deftly between... Toronto to London in 2016... giving meticulous attention to the historical detail of post-World War II London. A fascinating glimpse into the world of design, the healing power of art, and the importance of women's friendships."
--Kirkus Reviews

"In The Gown, Jennifer Robson illuminates with her signature meticulous historical detail and sure voice the story behind Queen Elizabeth's wedding dress... an unforgettable story of friendship, hardship and hope. Robson has managed to craft a story that is personal and universal, timely and timeless. The Gown soars!"--Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Orphan's Tale

"Robson vividly brings to life these three women's struggles. Historical details about fabric, embroidery, and the royal family are well incorporated into their stories, with light romance rounding out this charming work of historical fiction."--Library Journal

Jennifer Robson delivers a satisfying multigenerational epic linked by the intricate embroidery used on Princess Elizabeth's wedding gown. Robson's meticulous attention to historical details--notably the intricacies of the embroidery work--is a wonderful complement to the memorable stories of Ann and Milly, making for a winning, heartwarming tale. --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Robson deftly weaves issues of class, trauma, romance, and female friendship with satisfying details of Ann and Miriam's craft. This unique take on the royal wedding will be an easy sell to fans of Netflix's The Crown and a sure bet for readers of women-centered historical fiction."--Booklist (starred review)

Product Description

Perfect for anyone who's captivated by The Crown, The Gown 'will dazzle and delight' (Independent)!

The Gown is an enthralling historical novel about one of the most famous wedding dresses of the twentieth century - Queen Elizabeth's wedding gown - and the fascinating women who made it.

London, 1947: Besieged by a harsh winter, burdened by shortages and rationing, the people of post-war Britain are suffering despite their nation's recent victory. For Ann Hughes and Miriam Dassin, embroiderers at the famed Mayfair fashion house of Norman Hartnell, a glimmer of brightness comes in the form of their unlikely friendship and being chosen for a once-in-a-lifetime honour: taking part in the creation of Princess Elizabeth's wedding gown.

Toronto, 2016: Heather Mackenzie seeks to unravel the mystery of a legacy from her late grandmother. How did her beloved nan, who never spoke of her old life in Britain, come to possess the priceless embroideries that so closely resemble the motifs on the stunning gown worn by Queen Elizabeth II at her wedding almost seventy years before? And what was her nan's connection to the celebrated textile artist and Holocaust survivor Miriam Dassin?

With The Gown, Jennifer Robson takes us inside the workrooms where one of the most famous wedding gowns in history was created to tell a story of women whose lives are woven together by the pain of survival, the bonds of friendship, and the redemptive power of love.

'Robson succeeds in creating a riveting drama of female friendship, of lives fully lived despite unbearable loss, and of the steadfast effort required to bring forth beauty after surviving war' Independent

'A great tale of female friendship' The People's Friend


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2111 KB
  • Print Length: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Review (31 December 2018)
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07H8GJY45
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars 12 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #36,056 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12 customer ratings
5 star
81%
4 star
19%
3 star 0% (0%) 0%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

12 customer reviews

TOP 50 REVIEWER
28 July 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
20 August 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
27 January 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
15 August 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
12 February 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
3 March 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
6 March 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
23 March 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?