You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $8.41
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
The Governess: The instant Sunday Times bestseller, perfect for fans of The Crown by [Wendy Holden]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Governess: The instant Sunday Times bestseller, perfect for fans of The Crown Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 721 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$8.41
Length: 427 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $4.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Save on selected Bestselling Big Idea books.
View our curated selection of books. Click to explore.

Product description

Review


'Compelling characters and a wonderful blend of historical accuracy and real narrative drive . . . a heart-breaking study of loyalty and love' SALLY MORRIS, Daily Mail

'[A] beautifully researched and captivating novel . . . Wendy Holden's tender and intimate portrait of Lilibet, the future Queen Elizabeth II, is masterly' RACHEL HORE

'A great book for escaping into . . . I loved this!' KATIE FFORDE

'Sensitive, funny and fascinating - this masterful novel gives the reader fly-on-the-wall privileges into the early life of the Queen' FREYA NORTH

'A brilliantly imagined and poignant novel . . . of sacrifice, deep affection, strained loyalties and divided English society in the post-Downton Abbey era' ELIZABETH BUCHAN

'An intimate view of the royal family at a time of great uncertainty and change . . . Marion Crawford's dedication to her charges, as well as her passion for education and reform, shines through the pages' CHANEL CLEETON

'Wendy Holden absolutely delivers in this perfect blend of story and history . . . Lovers of The Crown series on Netflix will adore this!' SUSAN MEISSNER

'I loved, loved, LOVED this book and if it isn't adapted for the screen, I'll eat my crown!' ERICA JAMES --This text refers to the paperback edition.

About the Author

Sunday Times number one bestseller Wendy Holden was a journalist before becoming an author. She has written ten consecutive top-ten bestselling novels and sold more than 3 million books. --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0867F2FW7
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Welbeck (20 August 2020)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 1057 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 427 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN ‏ : ‎ 1787394700
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 721 ratings

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
721 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 6 February 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 26 September 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 15 January 2021
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Book Lover
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Historical Novel!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 September 2020
Verified Purchase
16 people found this helpful
Report abuse
mamo
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 September 2020
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
David Cartwright
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a novel, not a biography.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 October 2020
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Judy Smith
5.0 out of 5 stars A rattling good read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 31 October 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Jojo
2.0 out of 5 stars Amusing read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 October 2020
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse