You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $12.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Goodbye Piccadilly: War at Home, 1914 by [Harrod-Eagles, Cynthia]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Goodbye Piccadilly: War at Home, 1914 Kindle Edition

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
$12.99

Length: 401 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $10.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Winter Sale
Save up to 70% on over 250 Kindle Books. Sale ends 27 August 2017 at 11:59 pm AEST. Shop now

Product description

Product Description

In 1914, Britain faces a new kind of war. For Edward and Beatrice Hunter, their children, servants and neighbours, life will never be the same again. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and Barbara Taylor-Bradford.

For David, the eldest, war means a chance to do something noble; but enlisting will break his mother's heart. His sister Diana, nineteen and beautiful, longs for marriage. She has her heart set on Charles Wroughton, son of Earl Wroughton, but Charles will never be allowed to marry a banker's daughter. Below stairs, Cook and Ada, the head housemaid, grow more terrified of German invasion with every newspaper atrocity story. Ethel, under housemaid, can't help herself when it comes to men and now soldiers add to the temptation; yet there's more to this flighty girl than meets the eye.

The once-tranquil village of Northcote reels under an influx of khaki volunteers, wounded soldiers and Belgian refugees. The war is becoming more dangerous and everyone must find a way to adapt to this rapidly changing world.

Goodbye Piccadilly is the first book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1914, Goodbye Piccadilly is extraordinary in scope and imagination and is a compelling introduction to the Hunter family.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1543 KB
  • Print Length: 401 pages
  • Publisher: Sphere (19 June 2014)
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00IA2E66E
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #208,937 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top customer reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Looking forward to the next in this series.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 3.9 out of 5 stars 20 reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good read 10 October 2014
By Nicole J. Rademan - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I really enjoyed this World War I novel about life in the Homefront. The characters drew me in and I ended the book wanting to know more about them and looking forward to the next book in the series.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A look back at WWI 7 December 2014
By brenda - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Anything Cynthia writes is so worth the reading. Fabulous history, engaging, real characters in every book. And this one is a perfect look back at a time we are all remembering now. I am so glad she took the time to write this one. If you love CHE you'll want to read this one!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This author has mastered the fine art of exceptional storytelling from the social perspective of ... 22 August 2015
By Jada Garthalan - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This author has mastered the fine art of exceptional storytelling from the social perspective of history. Those interested in English life during WWI will not be disappointed. Indepth, engaging characters and believeable storylines interwoven with strands of actual historical figures, places and events, are the hallmarks of Cynthia Harrod-Eagles prolific writing style. She is a true "reader's writer".
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars 23 April 2017
By J-GA - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This whole series is wonderful. I eagerly anticipate the next volume.
4.0 out of 5 stars Good 17 May 2017
By Joannagirl - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Begins a good new series