Buy new:
$49.13
Only 1 left in stock.
US imports may differ from local products. Additional terms apply. Learn More.

Amazon Global Store

  • International products have separate terms and are sold from abroad and may differ from local products including fit, age rating, and language of product, labeling, or instructions, or plugs (you may require an adapter).
  • Manufacturer warranty may not apply but you may have other rights under law.
  • Learn more about Amazon Global Store
[{"displayPrice":"$49.13","priceAmount":49.13,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"49","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"13","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"8fY2mDccUuhB4p1Dm%2F9iCxAkfNLWMT0Dttn%2Fa%2BGntptkfgs8B2Ka4Ft8dKw17VSGbPsgoI4XD8Jg70x3XdM119gsL67uW%2F%2BE%2F%2FS3lnCC0trR3yXJsmNokqMicVekcoXXaxdUTgZhQn2N7EpxnnN3MZGYHcnHSZoI","locale":"en-AU","buyingOptionType":"NEW"}]
$$49.13 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$49.13
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon US
Sold by
Ships from
Amazon US
Sold by
Golden Hill: A Novel of O... has been added to your Cart
Share <Embed>

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing ‘Send link’, you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Golden Hill: A Novel of Old New York Audio CD – Unabridged, 19 March 2019

4.1 out of 5 stars 1,258 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Audio CD, Audiobook, CD, Unabridged
$49.13
$49.13

Enhance your purchase

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Product description

Review

Golden Hill possesses a fluency and immediacy, a feast of the senses.

-- "Washington Post"

A fast-paced romp that keeps its eyes on the moral conundrums of America.

-- "New Yorker"

Delirious storytelling backfilled with this much intelligence is a rare and happy sight.

-- "New York Times"

Gorgeously crafted...Spufford's sprawling recreation here is pitch perfect.

-- "NPR"

Nothing short of a masterpiece.

-- " Guardian (London)"

About the Author

Francis Spufford is the award-winning author of several books, including The Child That Books Built, Golden Hill, and Unapologetic. In 2007 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. He teaches writing at Goldsmiths College and lives near Cambridge, England.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Simon & Schuster Audio and Blackstone Audio; Unabridged edition (19 March 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Audio CD ‏ : ‎ 1 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1508284067
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1508284062
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 14.22 x 2.79 x 14.73 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.1 out of 5 stars 1,258 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Officially, I was a writer of non-fiction for the first half of my career, and I certainly enjoyed scraping up against the stubborn, resistant, endlessly interesting surface of the real world. I like awkwardness, things that don't fit, things that put up a struggle against being described. But when I was excited by what I was writing about, what I wanted to do with my excitement was always to tell a story. So every one of my non-fiction books borrowed techniques from the novel, and contained sections where I came close to behaving like a novelist. The chapter retelling the story of Captain Scott's last Antarctic expedition at the end of "I May Be Some Time", for example, or the thirty-page version of the gospel story in "Unapologetic". It wasn't a total surprise that in 2010 I published a book, "Red Plenty", which was a cross between fiction and documentary, or that afterwards I completed my crabwise crawl towards the novel with the honest-to-goodness entirely-made-up "Golden Hill". This was a historical novel about eighteenth century New York written like, well, an actual eighteenth century novel: hyperactive, stuffed with incident, and not very bothered about genre or good taste. It was elaborate, though. It was about exceptional events, and huge amounts of money, and good-looking people talking extravagantly in a special place. Nothing wrong with any of that: I'm an Aaron Sorkin fan and a Joss Whedon fan, keen on dialogue that whooshes around like a firework display. But those are the ingredients of romance, and there are other interesting things to tell stories about. My new book "Light Perpetual" (February 2021 in the UK, May 2021 in the US) is deliberately plainer. It's about five twentieth century lives – the lives that five London children might have had, if they hadn't been killed in 1944 by a V2 landing on a branch of Woolworths where their mothers were shopping for saucepans. I follow Ben and Alec and Jo and Val and Vern onwards through the decades, catching up with them for a day every fifteen years as they pass through the stages of adulthood and the city changes around them; and changes again; and changes again, this being an era of endless metamorphosis. It's a book dedicated to the proposition that there aren't any ordinary lives. It's a book about how we live in time.

Biography: I was born in 1964, the child of two historians. I'm married to an Anglican priest, I have two daughters, and I teach writing at Goldsmiths College, London, just next door to the place where a V2 fell on a branch of Woolworths.

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5
1,258 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 13 November 2016
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 27 August 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 14 April 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 25 May 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 16 July 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 15 December 2016
Verified Purchase
TOP 10 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 24 February 2017
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 23 April 2019

Top reviews from other countries

Lindsay
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for fans of The Essex Serpent, Pride and Prejudice, The Crimson Petal and the White.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 August 2018
Verified Purchase
23 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Vigilantius
4.0 out of 5 stars An original and crisply written page-turner, albeit rather conventional
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 September 2018
Verified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Early New York comes to life!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 September 2019
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Pill User
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing - over rich text
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 February 2021
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Tone the Cone
3.0 out of 5 stars An over hyped novel.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 July 2019
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse