You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $14.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
The Giver of Stars: Fall in love with the enchanting 2020 Sunday Times bestseller from the author of Me Before You by [Jojo Moyes]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Giver of Stars: Fall in love with the enchanting 2020 Sunday Times bestseller from the author of Me Before You Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 26,805 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$14.99
Hardcover
$18.74
Length: 448 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $13.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Kindle Paperwhite
Kindle Paperwhite
The best device for reading, full stop. Learn more

Product description

Review

HER BEST NOVEL YETThe Times

Inspiring and wildly romanticDaily Mail Books of the Year

An entertaining, immersive and moving read. The Giver of Stars is rip-roaring popular fiction . . . but it is also a novel that celebrates education, intellectual curiosity and, above all, books and the knowledge, comfort, company and power that they can bring. Moyes shines a light on a historic footnote to pay tribute to women's work, endurance and female solidarity ― The Sunday Times

For years I've been a huge Jojo Moyes fan. It's such a great narrative about personal strength and really captures how books bring communities together, especially for these women who are completely bonded by their love of literature ― Reese Witherspoon

A genuinely entertaining book that's a perfect gift for people who need some escape from the everyday and just want to be absorbed in a really cracking story. Set in rural America in the 1930s, it's got a band of feisty characters who are funny and sweet with contemporary resonances to boot ― The best books to give this Christmas, Stylist

With characters so real they feel like dear friends and a compelling storyline, this is a beautiful, special novel. I loved it and didn't want it to end!Liane Moriarty

What a wonderful novel. The Giver of Stars is the most sweeping, dramatic, richly evocative book, full of brilliantly feisty women. I whipped through the pages, utterly agog, pretty much feeling as though I was on a horse in 1930s Kentucky myself ― Sophie Kinsella

EpicDavid Nicholls, bestselling author of One Day

Timeless, Jojo Moyes' greatest work yet, and one of the most exquisitely-written - and absolutely compulsory - novels about women ever told. Brilliant and perfect and will remind you of why you read; even of why you breatheLisa Taddeo, bestselling author of Three Women

Purest joy - even as it cheerfully breaks your heart. A go-get-em adventure about E Roosevelt's horseback librarians, it celebrates female friendship and the power of booksDamian Barr --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Review

Praise for The Giver of Stars

"A captivating tale of love, friendship, and self-actualization."
--People

"The Giver of Stars is a richly rewarding exploration of the depths of friendship, good men willing to stand up to bad and adult love. Moyes celebrates the power of reading in a terrific book that only reinforces that message."
--USA Today

"Though she made her mark writing contemporary romance, Moyes proves just as adept at historical fiction. . . . The Giver of Stars is a celebration of love, but also of reading, of knowledge, of female friendship, of the beauty of our most rural corners, and our enduring American grit: the kind of true grit that can be found in the hills of Kentucky and on the pages of this inspiring book."
--The Washington Post

"Moyes paints an engrossing picture of life in rural America, and it's easy to root for the enterprising librarians."
--The New York Times Book Review

"Bestselling author Jojo Moyes has a unique way of using her prose to make her readers feel great emotions - love, passion, sadness, and grief - and her latest novel, The Giver of Stars- does not disappoint in that respect."
--Parade

"Moyes stays true to her narrative and takes full advantage of the sense of place she gained from repeated trips to the area . . . riveting. A stirring novel sure to please Moyes's many fans."
--Star Tribune

"An epic journey of friendship, danger, and literacy. . . an ideal read."
--theSkimm

"With characters so real they feel like dear friends and a compelling storyline, this is a beautiful, special novel. I loved it and didn't want it to end!"
--Liane Moriarty, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Big Little Lies

"[A] dramatic, sweeping story. . . As well as creating wonderful strong characters, Jojo Moyes has an incredible eye for historical detail -- I really felt as though I was riding over those Kentucky mountains with those women.
--Sophie Kinsella for Bustle

"Timeless, Jojo Moyes's greatest work yet, and one of the most exquisitely-written--and absolutely compulsory--novels about women ever told."
--Lisa Taddeo, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Three Women

"Epic in scope and fiercely feminist. . . an unforgettable story."
--POPSUGAR

"Compelling. . . It's an epic feminist adventure that candidly paints a community's soul-searching with great humor, heartache, honesty, and love."
--The Christian Science Monitor

"Inspired by the history of the actual Pack Horse Librarians, Moyes depicts the courage and resourcefulness of these women in loving detail. The Giver of Stars is a tribute not just to the brave women who brought the light of knowledge in dark times, but also to the rejuvenating bond of women's friendship."
--The Associated Press

"Moyes brings an often forgotten slice of history to life. . . the true power of the story is in the bonds between the women of the library. . . A love letter to the power of books and friendship."
--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"[An] homage to the power of reading and the strength of community. . . A must-read for women's fiction."
--Booklist (starred review)

"An adventure story grounded in female competence and mutual support, and an obvious affection for the popular literature of the early twentieth century, give this Depression-era novel plenty of appeal. . . . There's plenty of drama, but the reader's lasting impression is one of love."
--Publishers Weekly

"Rich in history, with well-developed characters and a strong sense of place, this book will fit well in any library's fiction collection. For fans of Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants or Catherine Marshall's Christy."
--Library Journal (starred review)
--This text refers to the audioCD edition.


From the Publisher

Product details

  • ASIN : B07SYB4MPF
  • Publisher : Penguin; 1st edition (1 October 2019)
  • Language : English
  • File size : 2161 KB
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Screen Reader : Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Enabled
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print length : 448 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 26,805 ratings
click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
26,805 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 16 October 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 5 November 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 22 November 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 2 February 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 2 January 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 16 March 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 1 December 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 7 March 2020
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Sarah Faichney
5.0 out of 5 stars There are insufficient stars in the Universe to give this a high enough rating.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 October 2019
Verified Purchase
126 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Lacy Mary
2.0 out of 5 stars So similar to The Book Women of Troublesome Creek that I thought I bought the book a second time!
Reviewed in the United States on 22 October 2019
Verified Purchase
1,221 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Beka92
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 October 2019
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 October 2019
Alice married to get away from her life in England, only to find herself in a cold relationship in America far from everything that she knows and understands, until one day she volunteers to join the newly established 'travelling library'. Here she finds the oddballs of her small town and they form an unlikely friendship group; their library opens a new world and a appreciation of reading to the children of the town and the people living in the surrounding area.
The book explores a host of subjects; (love and finding your "tribe" through genuine friendship.
It also highlights how reading affects people in a positive way: giving hope, comfort and the power to make informed decisions) it was a privilege to read.
- my full review is on goodreads
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer image
75 people found this helpful
Report abuse
liv2write
3.0 out of 5 stars ROMANCE NOVEL OUT OF ITS ELEMENT
Reviewed in the United States on 16 October 2019
Verified Purchase
652 people found this helpful
Report abuse
JaquiP
5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph for JoJo Moyes .... Starstruck by The Giver of Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 October 2019
Verified Purchase
39 people found this helpful
Report abuse