<Embed>
$14.75
  • RRP: $16.99 Details

    Recommended Retail Price (RRP)

    The RRP displayed is the most recent manufacturer’s recommended retail price made available to Amazon AU.
  • You Save: $2.24 (13%)
FREE Delivery on first order. Details
Only 5 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon AU.
Other Sellers on Amazon
$16.68
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
$19.95
+ $3.00 delivery
Sold by: Rarewaves UK
$22.96
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: PBShopUK-au TRACKED
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Girl Who Drank The Moon Paperback – 25 October 2017

4.7 out of 5 stars 9,477 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$14.75
$14.75
Arrives: 21 - 22 Jan
Fastest delivery: Tuesday, 19 Jan

Releases March 2, 2021. Pre-order Beyond Order: 12 More Rules for Life now with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Order now
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • The Girl Who Drank The Moon
  • +
  • The Secret Lake
  • +
  • The One and Only Ivan
Total Price: $43.72
Buy the selected items together

Releases March 2, 2021. Pre-order Beyond Order: 12 More Rules for Life now with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Order now

Product details

  • Publisher : Piccadilly Books (25 October 2017)
  • Language: : English
  • Paperback : 400 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1848126476
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1848126473
  • Reading age : 9 - 12 years
  • Dimensions : 12.9 x 2.3 x 19.8 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 9,477 ratings

Product description

Review

A fairytale with a difference, this is about finding your power and what is means to belong, captured in a richly textured prose in a beautifully realised fantasy world. ― The Bookseller

Impossible to put down . . . The Girl Who Drank the Moon is as exciting and layered as classics like Peter Pan or The Wizard of Oz ― The New York Times

A gorgeously written fantasy about a girl who becomes "enmagicked" after the witch who saves her from death feeds her moonlight. ― People

[Barnhill's] next middle grade sensation...With compelling, beautiful prose, Kelly Barnhill spins the enchanting tale of a kindly witch who accidentally gives a normal baby magic powers, then decides to raise her as her own. ― EW.com

Guaranteed to enchant, enthrall, and enmagick . . . Replete with traditional motifs, this nontraditional fairy tale boasts sinister and endearing characters, magical elements, strong storytelling, and unleashed forces. ― Kirkus

Rich with multiple plotlines that culminate in a suspenseful climax, characters of inspiring integrity, a world with elements of both whimsy and treachery, and prose that melds into poetry. A sure bet for anyone who enjoys a truly fantastic story. ― Booklist

An expertly woven and enchanting offering. ― School Library Journal

Barnhill crafts another captivating fantasy, this time in the vein of Into the Woods . . . Barnhill delivers an escalating plot filled with foreshadowing, well-developed characters, and a fully realized setting, all highlighting her lyrical storytelling. ― Publishers Weekly

Barnhill writes with gentle elegance, conveying a deeply emotional and heartrending tale with accessible, fluid prose. Characters are skillfully developed: the heroes are flawed, the villains are humanized, and they are forgiven for sins they may or may have not intended. The swamp monster and dragon provide plenty of moments of humor to leaven the pathos, while the setting is infused with fairy tale elements, both magical and menacing, and given a tragic history. Fans of Barnhill's The Witch's Boy and Iron Hearted Violet will find similar intersections of love, loss, and identity here. ― Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

The Girl Who Drank the Moon takes a probing look at social complexity and the high cost of secrets and lies, weaving multiple perspectives, past and present, into one cleverly unfolding fairy tale. Barnhill crafts wonderfully imperfect characters with poetic prose, warmth and wit. The resiliency of the heroes may be partly because of magic, but also because of critical thinking, empathy, deep love and the strength of family in all its unconventional manifestations. Thoughtful and utterly spellbinding. ― Shelf Awareness for Readers

About the Author

Kelly Barnhill is an author and teacher. She wrote The Girl Who Drank the Moon, The Witch's Boy, Iron Hearted Violet, The Mostly True Story of Jack and many, many short stories. She won the World Fantasy Award for her novella, The Unlicensed Magician, a Parents Choice Gold Award for Iron Hearted Violet, the Charlotte Huck Honor for The Girl Who Drank the Moon, and has been a finalist for the Minnesota Book Award, the Andre Norton award and the PEN/USA literary prize. She was also a McKnight Artist's Fellowship recipient in Children's Literature. She lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota with her three brilliant children, architect husband, and emotionally unstable dog. She is a fast runner, a good hiker, and a terrible gardener. You can visit and chat at her blog: www.kellybarnhill.com

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
9,477 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 8 August 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 19 June 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 24 April 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 20 March 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 23 March 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 23 January 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 4 March 2018
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

H. O'Sullivan
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 May 2019
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
SuperMcFluffyPants
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 6 July 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
J. Barber
5.0 out of 5 stars I fell in love with this story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 December 2017
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Anshula @thebookishlawyer
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read! An enchanting middle grade fantasy!
Reviewed in India on 10 August 2020
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read! An enchanting middle grade fantasy!
Reviewed in India on 10 August 2020
◾ ▫ ◾

Hello my book witches!

To forget about reality for a while, I bring you The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill. This is a light middle-grade fantasy with witches, magic, tiny dragons and swamp monsters. I absolutely leafed through the pages like a hungry reader thirsting for more. It's a simple and enchanting fairytale that kept me quietly chuckling to myself, while I was lost under waves of various emotions.

A small Protectorate town sits nestled near a volcanic peak, encircled by dense dark forests. The townsfolk believes a Witch lives in the forest who'll harm them all, if a baby isn't sacrificed each year. So they leave the youngest child of the Protectorate, in the forest, as an offering to the Witch. But the witch, Xan, doesn't understand why these people abandoned one of their own in the forest each year. So she took care of them, travelled far to place them in the arms of another loving family who wanted them. But one time, the kind witch fed a child moonlight, instead of starlight. And the child grew up enmagicked, as her granddaughter, Luna. I loved the tiny dragon Fyrian, and the swamp monster Glerk who lived with Xan and Luna. Luna being an enmagicked child, couldn't understand her powers and Xan had to lock away the magic inside of Luna by binding it to her own. Luna's magic will return when she turns thirteen. This also meant Xan will die when Luna's magic comes back.

There's multiple point of views in the narration and that added to the story immensely, making it very compelling for a fantasy read. And the writing was so flowing and almost poetic that I couldn't help but fall in love with this book.

- Anshula
@thebookishlawyer (Instagram id)
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
14 people found this helpful
Report abuse
L
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved everything about this magical book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 December 2020
Verified Purchase