Buying Options

Kindle Price: $9.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
The Girl In The Painting by [Cooper, Tea]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Girl In The Painting Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 20 ratings

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Length: 384 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $14.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

Product description

Product Description

For readers of The True Story of Maddie Bright, The Woman in the Green Dress and The Birdman's Wife comes this atmospheric and richly detailed Australian historical mystery from a bestselling Australian author.

Maitland 1913 Miss Elizabeth Quinn is something of an institution in Maitland Town. For longer than anyone could remember she and her brother, businessman Michael, have lived in the impressive two-storey stone house next to the church. When she is discovered cowering in the corner of the exhibition gallery at the Technical College the entire town knows something strange has come to pass.

Was it the prehistoric remains or perhaps the taxidermy exhibition that had reduced the whale-boned encased pillar of society to a quivering mess? Or is there something odd about a striking painting on loan from the National Gallery?

Mathematical savant Jane Piper is determined to find out. Deposited on the doorstep of the local orphanage as a baby, she owes her life and education to the Quinns' philanthropic ventures and Elizabeth has no one else to turn to.

As the past and the present converge, Elizabeth's grip on reality loosens. Can Jane, with her logical brain and penchant for puzzles, unravel Elizabeth's story before it is too late?

Ranging from the gritty reality of the Australian goldfields to the grand institutions of Sydney, the bucolic English countryside to the charm of Maitland Town, this compelling historical mystery in the company of an eccentric and original heroine is rich with atmosphere and detail.

PRAISE FOR TEA COOPER

'Boasts strong female protagonists, an infectious fascination with the past, and the narrative skill to weave multiple timelines into a satisfying whole...smartly edited, cleanly written...easy to devour.' - Sydney Morning Herald on The Woman in the Green Dress

'Cooper is a welcome inclusion to the rising ranks of female-centred historical Australian novels.' - The Herald Sun on The Naturalist's Daughter

About the Author

Tea Cooper is an established Australian author of contemporary and historical fiction. In a past life she was a teacher, a journalist and a farmer. These days she haunts museums and indulges her passion for storytelling. She is the bestselling author of several novels, including The Horse Thief, The Cedar Cutter, The Currency Lass, The Naturalist's Daughter and The Woman in the Green Dress.

To find out more, visit Tea on her website. 

You can also follow Tea on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 731 KB
  • Print Length: 331 pages
  • Publisher: HQ Fiction (1 January 2020)
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07TW67WR7
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #3,387 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
20 customer ratings
5 star
42%
4 star
46%
3 star
12%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 12 February 2020
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 20 January 2020
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 4 February 2020
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 27 January 2020
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 24 January 2020
Format: Audible AudiobookVerified Purchase
TOP 10 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 20 December 2019
Format: Kindle Edition
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 17 December 2019
Format: Kindle Edition
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 17 December 2019
Format: Kindle Edition
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

Joyously Retired Teacher
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping historical mystery
Reviewed in the United States on 17 December 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse