You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $7.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Game Of Scones by [Tonge, Samantha]
Kindle App Ad

Game Of Scones Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition, 20 Apr 2015
"Please retry"
$7.99

Length: 240 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Kindle Paperwhite
Kindle Paperwhite
The best device for reading, full stop. Learn more

Product description

Product Description

‘This was the ultimate summer read and I enjoyed every page and every word. A little slice of paradise.’ - Jenny in Neverland

A story of icing and flour… and how love doesn’t always go to plan!

Growing up, Pippa Pattinson’s summers were spent in the idyllic Greek island fishing village of Taxos. There she spent many long hazy days determinedly ignoring thoughts of the life her parents had mapped out for her (a dreary-but-secure accounting job and obligatory sensible husband!) Instead she daydreamed of running her own tea shop – serving the perfect scones – with mocha-eyed childhood friend Niklaus by her side…

Arriving back in Taxos for the first time in years, with suave boyfriend Henrik, Pippa barely recognises the tired little town – but is relieved to catch glimpses of the quaint, charming village she’s always loved. Together Niklaus and Pippa put together a proposal to save Taxos from tourist-tastic ruin, and at the heart of their plan is Pippa’s dream project: The Tastiest Little Tea Shop in Taxos. It’s time for Pippa to leave her London life behind and dust off her scone recipe that’s guaranteed to win over both locals and visitors. And amidst the rolling pins and raisins, it seems romance is blossoming where she’s least expecting it…

Loved Game of Scones then don’t miss My Big Fat Christmas Wedding – out now!

This sizzling summer read is perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk's Always the Bridesmaid and Lucy Diamond's Summer at Shell Cottage

What reviewers are saying about Game of Scones

‘The perfect book to kick start your summer reading… A gloriously fun read which does not disappoint.’ – Book Addict Shaun

‘a great escapist read that is still well written and character lead.’ – The Price is Usually Right

‘an enjoyable light read with a good story and characters. The baking element of the story is also an enjoyable aspect… An enjoyable read for summer.’ – Chick Lit Central

I loved Game of Scones… and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a HEA steeped in friendship, tradition, location, and yummy desserts.’ – Harlequin Junkie



Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2455 KB
  • Print Length: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Carina; 1 edition (20 April 2015)
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00ULP98BQ
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #91,622 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top customer reviews

By Baked Beana TOP 500 REVIEWER on 30 January 2016
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Thoroughly enjoyable short story. Made me want to holiday in Greece again. Would have liked a few scone recipes at the end!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A friend recommended this book. I enjoyed it but it was pretty predictable.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Great read and tips to make those delicious scones
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars 50 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game of Scones, Summery, 5-Star Fun 20 April 2015
By Katie - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Pippa Pattinson hasn't visited the picturesque Greek fishing village of Taxos in years, not since she was a teenager. She long ago put aside her dreams of baking scones and opening a tea shop there and instead has sensibly pursued a career as an accountant.

Now, as she returns to Taxos with her boyfriend Henrik for a much-needed vacation, she wonders - will he pop the question? How will she feel if he does? Her ambivalence troubles her. More importantly, will seeing Niko, her best friend from those carefree teenaged days on the island, reignite old feelings?

She isn't prepared for the changes she sees in Taxos. The old ways - fishing, diving for sponges - is not enough to sustain the village. Without discos, nightclubs, and flash hotels to attract tourists, and money, to the village, it won't survive. Henrik, and the company he works for, ThinkBig, want to commercialize Taxos to make it a viable concern - i.e., a place that will generate money for the village...and for ThinkBig.

But doing so will destroy the very soul and charm of Taxos.

Game of Scones is a vibrant, heartfelt story. Pippa must choose between sentiment - her love for Taxos, her feelings for Niko - and the way forward to the future that Henrik is showing her.

But is it a future she wants? Read Game of Scones and find out.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another five star treat! 6 May 2015
By Bec - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I'm always excited when there's a new Samantha Tonge book out! She's proven time and time again - so I know I'll get a lovely, funny, feel-good romance to read that'll leave me smiling. Game of Scones has all this and more! A stunning location that now has me adding another spot to my travel list! Beautiful sunshine, hunky men, and scones! The Greek family had me in stitches and I wanted to visit them! When the town came together to help save what's theirs I also wanted to visit and lend a hand. I'm looking forward to another instalment without spoiling it I want to know what happens with the lovebirds next! Five fabulous stars! And now I'm off to bake some scones!
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and flirty 6 August 2015
By Chubby Bookworm - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This was a fun story. Yes it was a bit predictable but it kept me turning pages. Fun and fast read.

I only gave it for instead of five stars because of some vulgar language used that detracted from the romance. Recommend if you like light and flirty reads.

Rating: PG-13 for profanity
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeps you turning the page 24 May 2017
By lovesbooks - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Cozy romance on a Greek island. Uplifting tale of finally doing what you want in life. Enough turns and laughs to suit me.
4.0 out of 5 stars ' It is my first read by this author and I really liked it. We have Pippa Pattinson as our heroine ... 18 June 2015
By Alexia Janie Evans - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
"Game of Scones" by Samantha Tonge is the first book in her series 'The Little Teashop.' It is my first read by this author and I really liked it. We have Pippa Pattinson as our heroine who spent her Summers growing up on the Greek Island of Taxos, and never too far from her side was Niklaus her friend from childhood. Fast forward to the present and she is now with current beau Henrik who is smitten with Pippa but she is not so smitten with him. This is the story of revisiting parts of the past, and possibly falling in love again.

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?