Buy new:
$16.49
Was: $21.56 Details

Was Price

Was price refers to the price at which this item was recently sold on Amazon AU.
Save: $5.07 (24%)
FREE delivery: Wednesday, 3 Nov on first order.
Fastest delivery: Tomorrow
Order within 18 hrs and 27 mins
Only 2 left in stock.
$$16.49 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$16.49
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon AU
Sold by
Amazon AU
Ships from
Amazon AU
Sold by
Amazon AU
1-Click ordering is not available for this item.
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$34.11
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: AustraliaBooks4u
Sold by: AustraliaBooks4u
(284 ratings)
88% positive over last 12 months
Only 2 left in stock.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
$20.36
+ $4.90 Delivery
Sold by: Amazon US
$34.00
+ $15.59 Delivery
Sold by: CaliforniaBooks
Sold by: CaliforniaBooks
(14 ratings)
50% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Delivery Rates and Return policy

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing ‘Send link’, you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Forgotten Home Child Paperback – 3 March 2020

4.6 out of 5 stars 410 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$16.49
$16.49

Enhance your purchase

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Frequently bought together

  • The Forgotten Home Child
  • +
  • Tides of Honour
  • +
  • Letters Across the Sea
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items ship sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

Indigo's most anticipated read of 2020

The Kit's "10 New Books to Cozy Up With"

Target Recommends for March 2020

"The Forgotten Home Child is a poignant, edgy, and skillfully written portrayal of a Home Child's experience that typified so many. The absence of any sugar coating makes this story come to life and brings a level of reality that is often lacking--an emotional journey well worth reading."
-- LORI OSCHEFSKI, CEO of the British Home Children Advocacy and Research Association

"[A] page-turner. . . . Graham writes about ordinary people living at important moments in Canadian history, from the displacement of the Acadians to the Yukon Gold Rush to the Second World War. In The Forgotten Home Child, she ensures the British Home Children are remembered and honoured."
-- Winnipeg Free Press

"Another gem from one of my favourite historical fiction authors! Graham reveals our past--both the shame and the hope of it--in the truest possible light. In doing so, she offers promise that the future can be changed by the telling of such important stories. This novel is heartbreaking yet romantic, distressing yet charming--and perfect for fans of Joanna Goodman and Jennifer Robson!"
-- MARISSA STAPLEY, bestselling author of The Last Resort

"Brings alive in the imagination the lives of what were once called Barnardo children--kids who came from England to Canada to be adopted into families here. While historically not all of the stories were positive, Graham evokes the experience of a groundswell of young immigrants from which many in this country are descended."
-- Toronto Star

"Drawing on a dark, yet little-known chapter in Canada's history, Graham paints a searing portrait of a childhood shattered by isolation and brutality. I was profoundly moved by this tale of courage, fortitude, and the heart's ability to open again in the wake of great injustice. The Forgotten Home Child is a powerful and engrossing read, brimming on every page with both heartbreak and hope."
-- ROXANNE VELETZOS, bestselling author of The Girl They Left Behind

"Graham . . . has crafted a sensitive, moving tale of a group of displaced children and their search for belonging on our shores. This little-known piece of our nation's history couldn't be in better hands."
-- Canadian Living

"Graham has immense talent when it comes to making our nation's history interesting and weaving a riveting story around historical facts."
-- Niagara Life Magazine

"If there's one thing that defines The Forgotten Home Child, it's the essence of the past. In these pages, one family discovers the truth about their personal history and realizes that while our pasts are imperfect and multi-faceted, and can bind us or set us free, in the end, they inform our identity. Genevieve Graham captures the reader's attention from the beginning in this exquisite journey to the heart of what makes us human."
-- ARMANDO LUCAS CORREA, bestselling author of The German Girl and The Daughter's Tale

About the Author

Genevieve Graham is the USA TODAY and #1 bestselling author of The Forgotten Home Child, Letters Across the Sea, Tides of Honour, Promises to Keep, Come from Away, and At the Mountain's Edge. Her latest novel, Bluebird, will be published April 2022. She is passionate about breathing life back into Canadian history through tales of love and adventure. She lives in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Visit her at GenevieveGraham.com or on Twitter and Instagram @GenGrahamAuthor.

Save on select Books
Discover deals on fiction, non-fiction, children's books and more Shop now

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Simon & Schuster (3 March 2020)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 384 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 198212895X
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1982128951
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 15.88 x 2.54 x 23.5 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 410 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

&quot;Breathing life back into Canadian history one story at a time.&quot;

Genevieve Graham is the bestselling author of &quot;Tides of Honour&quot;, &quot;Promises to Keep&quot;, &quot;Come from Away&quot;, and &quot;At the Mountain's Edge&quot;. She is passionate about breathing life back into history through tales of love and adventure, focusing on often forgotten moments in Canadian history. She lives near Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
410 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top review from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 26 July 2020
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

ER
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad but true
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 August 2020
Verified Purchase
melissa lively
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing account of a piece of Canadian history most know little about.
Reviewed in Canada on 12 March 2020
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Karen Hickey
4.0 out of 5 stars An Important Canadian Story
Reviewed in Canada on 26 August 2020
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
George Jones
5.0 out of 5 stars a blot on Canadian history
Reviewed in Canada on 10 July 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Canadian resident
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading
Reviewed in Canada on 21 January 2021
Verified Purchase