Buying Options

Kindle Price: $12.52
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing ‘Send link’, you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply.

The Forgotten Home Child by [Genevieve Graham]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Forgotten Home Child Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 411 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.52
Due to its large file size, this book may take longer to download

Yale Top 30
Shop Top 30 bestsellers on Yale Books. Shop now

Product description

Review

Indigo's most anticipated read of 2020

The Kit's "10 New Books to Cozy Up With"

Target Recommends for March 2020

"The Forgotten Home Child is a poignant, edgy, and skillfully written portrayal of a Home Child's experience that typified so many. The absence of any sugar coating makes this story come to life and brings a level of reality that is often lacking--an emotional journey well worth reading."
-- LORI OSCHEFSKI, CEO of the British Home Children Advocacy and Research Association

"[A] page-turner. . . . Graham writes about ordinary people living at important moments in Canadian history, from the displacement of the Acadians to the Yukon Gold Rush to the Second World War. In The Forgotten Home Child, she ensures the British Home Children are remembered and honoured."
-- Winnipeg Free Press

"Another gem from one of my favourite historical fiction authors! Graham reveals our past--both the shame and the hope of it--in the truest possible light. In doing so, she offers promise that the future can be changed by the telling of such important stories. This novel is heartbreaking yet romantic, distressing yet charming--and perfect for fans of Joanna Goodman and Jennifer Robson!"
-- MARISSA STAPLEY, bestselling author of The Last Resort

"Brings alive in the imagination the lives of what were once called Barnardo children--kids who came from England to Canada to be adopted into families here. While historically not all of the stories were positive, Graham evokes the experience of a groundswell of young immigrants from which many in this country are descended."
-- Toronto Star

"Drawing on a dark, yet little-known chapter in Canada's history, Graham paints a searing portrait of a childhood shattered by isolation and brutality. I was profoundly moved by this tale of courage, fortitude, and the heart's ability to open again in the wake of great injustice. The Forgotten Home Child is a powerful and engrossing read, brimming on every page with both heartbreak and hope."
-- ROXANNE VELETZOS, bestselling author of The Girl They Left Behind

"Graham . . . has crafted a sensitive, moving tale of a group of displaced children and their search for belonging on our shores. This little-known piece of our nation's history couldn't be in better hands."
-- Canadian Living

"Graham has immense talent when it comes to making our nation's history interesting and weaving a riveting story around historical facts."
-- Niagara Life Magazine

"If there's one thing that defines The Forgotten Home Child, it's the essence of the past. In these pages, one family discovers the truth about their personal history and realizes that while our pasts are imperfect and multi-faceted, and can bind us or set us free, in the end, they inform our identity. Genevieve Graham captures the reader's attention from the beginning in this exquisite journey to the heart of what makes us human."
-- ARMANDO LUCAS CORREA, bestselling author of The German Girl and The Daughter's Tale --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

About the Author

Genevieve Graham is the USA TODAY and #1 bestselling author of The Forgotten Home Child, Letters Across the Sea, Tides of Honour, Promises to Keep, Come from Away, and At the Mountain's Edge. Her latest novel, Bluebird, will be published April 2022. She is passionate about breathing life back into Canadian history through tales of love and adventure. She lives in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Visit her at GenevieveGraham.com or on Twitter and Instagram @GenGrahamAuthor. --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B07TD6G83V
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Simon & Schuster (3 March 2020)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 12362 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 373 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 411 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Genevieve Graham is the Globe & Mail, Toronto Star, and USA Today bestselling author of several novels, including #1 INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLERS Letters Across the Sea and The Forgotten Home Child—which was #1 across Canada for 11 weeks in 2020, and became the #5 bestselling Canadian fiction novel of 2020.

Genevieve graduated from the University of Toronto with a Bachelor of Music, worked in advertising, marketing, and fundraising, then became a stay-at-home mom. In 2007, Genevieve decided to try writing a book using everything she’d learned from years of reading, focusing on historical fiction. Upon moving to Nova Scotia, she was suddenly surrounded by Canadian history she knew nothing about. Alarmed by what she’d never learned, she has made it her mission to bring Canadian history to life, writing one book per year. Bluebird, publishing April 2022, will be her 7th novel. She lives in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
411 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top review from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 26 July 2020
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

ER
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad but true
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 August 2020
Verified Purchase
melissa lively
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing account of a piece of Canadian history most know little about.
Reviewed in Canada on 12 March 2020
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Karen Hickey
4.0 out of 5 stars An Important Canadian Story
Reviewed in Canada on 26 August 2020
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
George Jones
5.0 out of 5 stars a blot on Canadian history
Reviewed in Canada on 10 July 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Canadian resident
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading
Reviewed in Canada on 21 January 2021
Verified Purchase