Buying Options

Kindle Price: $12.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Florence and Giles by [Harding, John]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Florence and Giles Kindle Edition

4.0 out of 5 stars 2 ratings

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99

Length: 277 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $4.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Amazon Launchpad Watch and Shop
Discover new, innovative, and trending products from emerging brands Watch Now

Product description

Review

‘Real atmosphere is increasingly rare in novels and here it is in spades…A darkly glamorous tour de force.’
Wendy Holden, DAILY MAIL

'Harding rings enough ingenious changes on James's study of perversity to produce his own full-blown Gothic horror tale. The climax of their struggle… is genuinely exciting and shocking.' THE INDEPENDENT

‘Florence and Giles is an elegant literary exercise worked out with the strictness of a fugue: imagine Henry James’s The Turn of the Screw reworked by Edgar Allan Poe…Nothing prepares you for the chillingly ruthless but inevitable finale.’ THE TIMES

'A tight gothic thriller… The climax becomes unbearably tense. Florence feels the horror of her situation "cheese-grating" her soul, which is just how Harding leaves the reader feeling at the end of this creepily suggestive story.' FINANACIAL TIMES

‘Harding’s creepy, ingenious tale slyly wrongfoots the reader, and its deliciously sinister conclusion is the stuff of troubled nights.’ THE LADY

‘Brilliantly creepy’ DAILY MIRROR

‘An intriguing read’ GRAZIA

‘A good, clever, modern take on old-style American gothic; a creepy haunted house tale in which the living are just as eerie as any real or imagined ghouls.’ NEW ZEALAND HERALD

‘a scarily good story, in an arrestingly unusual narrative voice.’ THE OXFORD TIMES

Product Description

A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher

1891. In a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence is neglected by her guardian uncle and banned from reading. Left to her own devices she devours books in secret and talks to herself - and narrates this, her story - in a unique language of her own invention. By night, she sleepwalks the corridors like one of the old house's many ghosts and is troubled by a recurrent dream in which a mysterious woman appears to threaten her younger brother Giles. Sometimes Florence doesn't sleepwalk at all, but simply pretends to so she can roam at will and search the house for clues to her own baffling past.

After the sudden violent death of the children's first governess, a second teacher, Miss Taylor, arrives, and immediately strange phenomena begin to occur. Florence becomes convinced that the new governess is a vengeful and malevolent spirit who means to do Giles harm. Against this powerful supernatural enemy, and without any adult to whom she can turn for help, Florence must use all her intelligence and ingenuity to both protect her little brother and preserve her private world.

Inspired by and in the tradition of Henry James' s The Turn of the Screw, Florence & Giles is a gripping gothic page-turner told in a startlingly different and wonderfully captivating narrative voice.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 353 KB
  • Print Length: 277 pages
  • Publisher: The Borough Press (4 March 2010)
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003ATPQWK
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #931,222 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
2 customer ratings
5 star 0% (0%) 0%
4 star
100%
3 star 0% (0%) 0%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

2 customer reviews

22 May 2015
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
TOP 500 REVIEWER
18 October 2015
Format: Kindle Edition

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3.7 out of 5 stars 35 reviews
V. Cano
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
25 October 2012 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Shawna Marie Johnson
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much talk not enough action
6 April 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
MJZ
5.0 out of 5 stars Florence and Giles
28 May 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Dianne M. Stewart
5.0 out of 5 stars An atmospheric, amazing, satisfying read
27 March 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
SusanB
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a ghost story
11 October 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful