You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $1.29
includes tax, if applicable
Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

First Year (The Black Mage Book 1) by [Carter, Rachel E.]
Kindle App Ad

First Year (The Black Mage Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 25 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition, 21 Jan 2017
"Please retry"
$1.29

Length: 322 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

EOFY Sale
Save up to 70% on Kindle Books. Sale ends 30 June 2017 at 11:59 pm AEST. Shop now

Product description

Product Description

Magic. Romance. Rivals. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?


*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 4266 KB
  • Print Length: 322 pages
  • Publisher: Rachel E. Carter (21 January 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01MSA1LNA
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 25 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #235 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

click to open popover

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
When ordering this book I only ordered Book 1, not sure if I would like it. From the first I was hooked, so many characters wanting the same thing and some willing to do anything to get it. I have now ordered the following three books plus the prequel. A great writer and a great read.
One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This story was good and worth the price paid. Unfortunately the writing/storyline didn't impress me enough to pay over $6 each for the remaining books in the series. This book can be read on its own though and I enjoyed it well enough.
One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I usually don't leave reviews but I couldn't help myself with this series. I finished all 4 books in 4 days.

I loved the competitiveness of the main characters, romance, action and humour of this series. I just can't help but fall for them!
Easy to read and definitely makes you want to find out what comes next.
One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A definite must if you like Tamora Pierce or Trudi Canavan's black magician trilogy. It is one of those books you can't put down - just one more chapter... Lucky it is a fairly quick read so I am not completely distracted for too long. Good for teens, with only mild adult themes and no erotic stuff. For someone who grew up reading Tamora Pierce and am now in my 30s, I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This was a n excellent story I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the series. I did think some of the characters needed a little more back story than we got but overall - wonderfully entertaining
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I loved this book and all of 'The Black Mage' books, definitely a must read if you love to feel what your characters do.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Memorable characters and a story of struggle and accomplishment the just begs you to read the second book before you've finished the first!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Found it extremely hard to put this book down. Enjoyed from start to finish. Looking forward to reading the next installment.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse