You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $1.25
includes tax, if applicable
kindle unlimited logo
Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

First Year (The Black Mage Book 1) by [Carter, Rachel E.]
Kindle App Ad

First Year (The Black Mage Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 32 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$1.25

Length: 322 pages Word Wise: Enabled Language: English

BlackFriday Sale
Save up to 70% on Kindle Books. Sale ends 25 November 2017 at 11:59 pm AEST. Shop now

Product description

Review

Praise for Rachel E. Carter's bestselling The Black Mage series: "It takes a lot for me to truly fall in love with a book. I think I maybe do this once or twice a year. This is one of those times. I found a new fantasy story that sucked me in (completely). Imagine my surprise that it was YA too. Y'all know me. Normally, I go for the NA and above reads. But this series...it just has that something "extra." That extra punch that drags you in and won't let go. I hope you give it a try. It's THAT good." - Scarlett Dawn, NYT & USA Today bestselling author of Forever Evermore "A magical academy where potential mages train and study all things magic, a love-hate relationship with an arrogant prince, and a determined and unyielding female heroine? Sign me up." - Raisa Santos - TheFandom.Net "Falling somewhere between the magic of Hogwarts and the excitement of Hunger Games, this story resides in the niche rather nicely!" - Margaret Faria - InD'Tale Magazine "This has undoubtedly become one of my favorite YA fantasy series. Hands down, no competition." -Melissa, EverSoMela, top Goodreads reviewer "Rachel E. Carter has a definite fan in me forever, keep doing what you're doing Rachel because you write an amazing story!" -Emmeline, The Book Herald, top Amazon reviewer

Product Description

Magic. Romance. War. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?


*** The first book in The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 4317.0 KB
  • Print Length: 322 pages
  • Publisher: Rachel E. Carter (21 January 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01MSA1LNA
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 32 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #1,051 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

click to open popover

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 32 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 20 March 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews


Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?