You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $1.29
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

First Year (The Black Mage Book 1) by [Carter, Rachel E.]
Kindle App Ad

First Year (The Black Mage Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 17 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
$1.29

Length: 322 pages Word Wise: Enabled Language: English

Autumn Sale
Save up to 70% on Kindle Books. Sale ends 24 April 2017 at 11:59 pm AEDT. Shop now

Product description

Product Description

Magic. Romance. Rivals. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice --pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm's three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage...

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail--first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in the The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 4188 KB
  • Print Length: 322 pages
  • Publisher: Rachel E. Carter (21 January 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01MSA1LNA
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 17 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #86 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

click to open popover

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
This book was really nice! :)

Now get this- I usually can't and i really mean CAN'T Stand young people going into an 'Academy' to learn blah and to be the best thing in the world. Seriously, I attempted Vampire Academy forget about it! Four chapters in and i threw it away. I just think it was grossly overdone since Harry potter came out.

SO the fact that I read this book and enjoyed it to the end is a miracle I am not even exaggerating.

I really like Carter's writing style and descriptive narration.

We are introduced to the main protagonist Ryiah and her brother Alex, they are both 'Lowborns' on their way to a prestigious Academy. When the book started- within the first chapter, my eyes lit up with interest, especially that forest scene. (You must read it to understand)

I thought at first that she discovered her power a little too quickly, and had a moment of fear that her character would be one of those 'amazing, just amazingly stupendous heroes' like *cough, cough* Harry Potter.

BUT way to go Carter! She made Ryiah work for her place in the Academy! *happy clapping* Ryiah didn't just ace everything from the beginning, she had the most trouble and she fought for it and even then, she stumbled.
That just made it feel more like she deserved the spot.

Okay, so this is action packed book! is it one of the most original Academy books? nope. Is it one of the most entertaining Academy books that is worth reading? YES! Think of Boot Camp to the power of a million with daggers and lightning and earthquakes! I seriously half imagined there would be deaths...not just resignations, but actual death occurring. I probably would have keeled over and died LONG ago. It was entertaining!
Read more ›
8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
When ordering this book I only ordered Book 1, not sure if I would like it. From the first I was hooked, so many characters wanting the same thing and some willing to do anything to get it. I have now ordered the following three books plus the prequel. A great writer and a great read.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By MadHatter TOP 100 REVIEWER on 14 February 2017
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is an excellent start to a series. There is action, drama, tension, some humour, and a slow-build romance.
None of the characters are cliched or overt (except Pricilla, who is mega mean girl).
Well writen and I will definately look for the sequel.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Ryiah is a 15yr old girl who dreams one day of becoming part of the Black Mages, an elite fighting squad which compliments the kings army. Only problem? Hundreds of other magically talented kids are vying for the same spot.

Enter Darren, the aloof(read: conceited bad-boy) second to the throne as the competition and we have a heated race to the top.

Ryiah is flawed. She isn't the strongest, fastest, or the best. I once heard a football player describe himself as the guy who was the least "skilled" on his squad, but he said he stayed on top by being the hardest working. That Ryiah, she is pure grit and determination and even though she fails abysmally at times, we still cheer for her as the underdog who is giving it their all.

But this book is so much more then overcoming adversity. Its a complex romance, its a commentary on class, with a bevy of strongly fleshed out characters who you will love.

Easy 5-stars for me.
2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This story was good and worth the price paid. Unfortunately the writing/storyline didn't impress me enough to pay over $6 each for the remaining books in the series. This book can be read on its own though and I enjoyed it well enough.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
First Year was an explosive start to what I can see evolving into an amazing realm of mages, court intrigue and magic.
The first book of the black mage series follows Ryiah, as she and her twin brother enroll at the country's only Academy for Magic to compete with hundreds for one of the 15 apprenticeship positions. Ryiah's struggle intensifies when she strives for a position in the most popular faction, Combat. On top of that Ryiah must bear the difficulties that arise from her lowborn heritage and the elitism that is rife towards the members of court, particularly the second prince, Darren.
I loved that Ryiah was not a character that was 'blessed' with 'special' powers, but rather all her accomplishments arise from her dedication and months of tireless work ethic. This leads to an unlikely and tense friendship between her and the otherwise caustic Darren. Although the subsequent books have a greater exploration of the worldspace and an emphasis on romance, the keypoint of the first book is more about the pressures of intensive schooling, friendship and family.
I loved Alex, he's my dream big brother and Ella is the best friend that everyone needs. The Academy teacher's were realistic, they were unrelenting and had absolutely no niceties, which adds to the competitiveness and difficulty of the war school.
And of course there was Darren and Ryiah, I loved their rapport and Carter's foundation for an attraction between them, which I can see developing to something more in the future.
Overall, a great debut novel, which has built the framework for an imaginative Mage world and a truly epic fantasy series.
One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews