Buying Options

Kindle Price: $8.94
includes tax, if applicable
Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Fire and Sacrifice: A novel of ancient Rome, based on a true story by [Collins, Victoria]
Kindle App Ad

Fire and Sacrifice: A novel of ancient Rome, based on a true story Kindle Edition

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$8.94

Length: 261 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

What's New in Kindle Unlimited
Discover this month's featured titles, now available to read for $0.00. Learn more

Product description

Product Description

In this enthralling new historical novel, two women - a priestess of fire charged with protecting the Roman empire, and an unwanted slave - are brought together in a triumphant tale of survival, intrigue and deadly loyalty.

Based on the untold true story of ancient Rome's most scandalous trial of Vestal Virgins, 114BC. Rome will sacrifice anything to protect the empire, but this slave will do anything to save her priestess. These are women of fire.


Readers' praise for Fire and Sacrifice:
• 'A quite extraordinary book that held me fascinated and amazed.' Oliver Baudert
• 'A page turner! Was not bored for one second. Loved it.' Olive Allen
• 'This is a fascinating story, intricately structured and beautifully written.' Simone F
• 'Overall, Fire and Sacrifice is amazing. I believe it’s Collins’s debut novel. More, more!' Sherry, Goodreads reviewer
• 'An intriguing story based on a very real and forgotten past.' Helen, Goodreads reviewer

SLAVE: She is Secunda, or she was at the start. Disfigured by burns, the girl named ‘number two’ longs to be truly seen. But when drawn into the world of the famous Vestal Virgins the fiery slave must find her place where scrutiny is constant, and deadly.

PRIESTESS: Aemilia sees. The aristocratic priestess has given a lifetime tending the fire believed to be the living heart of Rome. Now gripped by temptations of a new life of freedom and passion, a shock scandal threatens to trap her where all that once protected her is now peril.

SACRIFICE: As frontline losses to Barbarians unnerve the realm, a vortex of political power and superstition pulls Aemilia into a fight between her survival, and the Roman empire's. Secunda must somehow save her but these are women of fire, and fire knows only to cure through total destruction.

A new release by Australian author Victoria Collins, Fire and Sacrifice is a celebration of the ancient power of the sacred feminine, in a Western world ruled by men.

Readers are transported to the time with quotes from actual writings around the events, and notes from real-life excavations and historians, leaving a sense of being an archaeologist on a dig, unravelling the truth of the 2000-year-old scandal, during one of ancient Rome's most precarious periods.

Readers who enjoy Robert Harris, Michelle Moran, Madeline Miller, Philippa Gregory and Colleen McCullough, will enjoy Fire and Sacrifice.

GET YOUR COPY OF FIRE AND SACRIFICE TODAY!

About the Author

Victoria Collins lives and works in Canberra, Australia. After completing a Bachelor of Communication (Professional Writing) she has held a long career in corporate communications and journalistic writing, and has taught diploma students in creative writing, professional writing and public relations for more than six years. She is also author of Fast Effective News Writing for Nonprofits.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 483 KB
  • Print Length: 261 pages
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0987589814
  • ISBN-13: 978-0987589811
  • ASIN: B07GVRJP5J
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #386,078 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

click to open popover

1 customer review

5.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

8 October 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars 3 reviews
Sherry Christie
5.0 out of 5 starsA beautifully written story of love and duty
9 November 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
Judson Somerville MD review rank
5.0 out of 5 starsA fascinating tale!
31 August 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
One person found this helpful.
Pamela
5.0 out of 5 starsRome and all its intrigue brought to life
13 September 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition