Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.
<Embed>
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Final Girls: Three Girls. Three Tragedies. One Unthinkable Secret Hardcover – 15 July 2017

4.4 out of 5 stars 2,724 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover, 15 July 2017

Save on selected Bestselling Children's books.
Includes Bluey, Peter Rabbit, Spot, Peppa Pig, Roald Dahl and more. Click to explore.

Special offers and product promotions

  • Buy this item and get 90 days Free Amazon Music Unlimited. After purchase you will receive an email with further information. Offer valid for a limited time only. Terms and Conditions apply.” Learn more here.

Save on selected Bestselling Children's books.
Includes Bluey, Peter Rabbit, Spot, Peppa Pig, Roald Dahl and more. Click to explore.

Product details

  • Publisher : EBURY PRESS - TRADE (15 July 2017)
  • Language : English
  • Hardcover : 352 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1785034022
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1785034022
  • Dimensions : 16.2 x 3.2 x 24 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 2,724 ratings

Product description

Review

Praise for FINAL GIRLS by Riley Sager - the twisty psychological thriller - for fans of Caz Frear, JP Delaney and Ruth Ware:

The first great thriller of 2017 is almost here: FINAL GIRLS, by Riley Sager. If you liked GONE GIRL, you’ll like this

-- Stephen King

Fantastic -- Whoopi Goldberg ― The View

A tense thriller you won’t want to put down until you find out what's really going on ― Stylist

When you stop breathing for the first couple of pages of a book, you know you’re in for a treat ... Gripping, fast-paced and full of twists - the perfect holiday read. ― Grazia

The must-be-a-movie thriller ... one for slasher-fic fans ― Glamour

The FINAL GIRLS need you. You must sit down with this book, you must read. You must start flipping pages, faster, faster, faster. The FINAL GIRLS are tough, everything survivors should be. But the new threat is clever, ominous, even closer than you suspect. You are about to gasp. You might drop the book. You may have to look over your shoulder. But you must keep reading. This is the best book of 2017, the FINAL GIRLS need you. -- Lisa Gardner

A terrific read! -- Karin Slaughter, ― New York Times and international bestselling thriller writer

An intriguing original idea. We’ve all shuddered at bloodbath stories – but how does the survivor cope? It made me think outside the psychological box. Fresh voice, great characterisation and unexpected surprises. This stayed in my mind because it was different -- Jane Corry, ― the Sunday Times bestselling author of My Husband's Wife

A great thriller that gave me goosebumps and kept me reading into the night. There were so many unexpected revelations that I had no idea where it was going. A must read -- Katerina Diamond, ― bestselling author of The Teacher and The Secret

Phenomenally drawn characters and an intriguing premise make this one of my favorite books I've read this year. An outstanding debut -- Hollie Overton, ― Sunday Times bestselling author of Baby Doll

About the Author

Riley Sager is the pseudonym of a former journalist, editor and graphic designer who previously published mysteries under his real name.

Now a full-time author, Riley's first thriller, Final Girls, was a national and international bestseller that has been sold in 25 languages. A film version is being developed by Universal Pictures and Anonymous Content.

A native of Pennsylvania, he now lives in Princeton, New Jersey.

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
2,724 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 16 June 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 21 December 2017
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 21 September 2017
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 21 January 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 22 September 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 25 October 2019
Verified Purchase
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 11 January 2021
Customer image
4.0 out of 5 stars Three girls survive separate serial killers - and now they are connected by a new murderous threat.
By Casey Carlisle on 11 January 2021
Actual rating 3.75 stars.

This was a thrilling and interesting read. I wasn’t quite sold on ‘Final Girls’ because I had difficulty relating to the protagonist, and she was always doing irrational things – stupid behaviour typical of pulp horror movie classics. In that way, ‘Final Girls’ is an entertaining homage to the genre; but for me, it was simply frustrating. I like my heroines intelligent, aware, and proactive. Quincy came across as volatile, reactive, and whiny.

It was on the cusp of being predictable – maybe because I’d already heard there was a twist, so I was really paying attention to the narrative. I wouldn’t say I predicted the ending, but I definitely pegged the murderer in my top two suspects… though the backstory to how this came about was a complete surprise. So Riley Sager definitely got me a good one. I have to admit his writing skills are right up there with the best. He can craft tension, suspense, and a reveal with expertise.

I already mentioned that Qunicy was not my favourite protagonist. It was like if she had just taken a step back and followed some common sense, most of this book would not have happened – which feels like a flimsy plot device for ‘Final Girls.’ It feels like this did a disservice to Sager’s writing, because he clearly has the chops to construct engaging prose.

Jeff, Quincy’s husband, really felt superfluous to the plot, I even found myself questioning why he was in the book in the first place. He did not feel like her husband, but merely a plot device.
Sam was wrong from the start – again a lot of frustration blossomed because of her character, and on the surface, she did not match the profile of a final girl... and this was dragged through the entirety of the novel. We do get some development of her character through conversations and Quincy’s research, but I feel like we should have gotten a more realised character in the beginning. It would have provided much more impact when sequential reveals happen later.

Coop was a really interesting character and I liked the tension built between him and the other characters.

There was a lot of jumping around the timeline through repressed memories resurfacing and flashbacks in conjunction with the current timeline, I’m not usually a fan of this storytelling device, amnesia is such a tired device, but it framed the plot really well. Though there was a bit too much compartmentalisation going on for me. Quincy intentionally kept her memories, and the people in her life, apart… which was another source of my frustration.

This many-times-mentioned frustration was good and bad. Good, in that is kept me interested and eager to uncover the truths behind my suspicions; and bad in that some plausibility was on flimsy ground.

I loved the concept of ‘Final Girls’ it had me enrapt from the first page and I am keen to read more from Riley Sager, he really knows how to exude atmosphere from the page. There was a reveal in every chapter, so the pacing was set at a cracking pace from start to finish.

Compelling read I recommend to all. On a side not, with Universal Studios having optioned this title for a film. I’m looking forward to how this story translates to the big screen.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 19 August 2018

Top reviews from other countries

Alyssia Cooke
2.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable and forced
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 February 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Tracey Madeley
5.0 out of 5 stars A clever thriller
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 April 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Caz
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but didn't quit hit
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 March 2021
Verified Purchase
Read and Reviewed
4.0 out of 5 stars Implausibilities and poor characterisation aside, Final Girls is also a wickedly funny yarn and a cracking bit of escapism!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 24 February 2018
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
last year's girl
2.0 out of 5 stars Strong Female Characters TM
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 May 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse