You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $4.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Falling For Rain by [Taylor, Meadow]
Kindle App Ad

Falling For Rain Kindle Edition


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
$4.99

Length: 160 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Great Reads on Kindle for $1.49
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to $1.49 each. Learn more

Product description

Product Description

Will coming home mean heartbreak or happiness?

When Emily was eighteen, her mother died in an accident on their farm in rural Ontario. Devastated, Emily vowed never to suffer the loss of love again. She fled to Toronto and transformed herself from a farm girl into a sophisticated businesswoman. Now, ten years later, having made good in the big city, Emily is back to sell the family farm and put her past behind her forever. However, she didn’ t count on finding Ray Storm, the farmhand she had nicknamed Rain as a child, more attractive than ever. But as Emily struggles to come to terms with the tragedy of her mother’ s death and learns to trust again, Rain harbours a secret that he fears will keep them apart forever.

Falling for Rain is a classic contemporary romance in the tradition of Kristin Hannah and Nora Roberts, set against a picturesque country landscape. Meadow Taylor breathes new life into this heartwarming modern-day romance, exploring enduring themes of love, loss, healing, and trust.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1488 KB
  • Print Length: 160 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers (11 December 2012)
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00A6DTVTW
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #364,236 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.com.au.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 4.3 out of 5 stars 157 reviews
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A nice story, but slow moving...2.5 stars 31 July 2014
By D Stone - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is a well written story about a bitter young woman named Emily, angry that her mother passed away too early, who runs away from farming life looking for career success and more than farm life can offer. It is also about the man,Rain, who loves her and hopes for her return long past the point when there should be hope. Most of the elements of this story are formulaic, but the author has blended in an historical aspect of Emily's ancestors which add a layer of creativity and additional depth to the story.

Although Rain and Emily are well developed characters, Rain seems too good to be true and Emily is just unlikable throughout most of the book due to her bitterness. With her bitterness that borders on being mean and her inability to actually see what is going on until the very end, it is a difficult book to plow through. It is one of those books that you want to like more than you do. You want to like it for the love story element and because it is well written, but the reality is Emily isn't likable and the book is slow moving. I like a faster pace story, but if you don't mind slow moving stories than you may appreciate this story more than I did.

This is a story more about love and misunderstandings and the sex is very low key and minimal. If you are like me, I hate loose ends in stories and the writer did wrap up the story nicely in the epilogue.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful story 12 August 2014
By Jen R - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
4.5 stars

Oh what a beautifully written book. Falling for Rain was just wonderful to read. The writing, the story, everything just captivated me from the start. With a different author this story could have been really tedious. With a different author I would have hated Emily and her stupid rational and reasons for doing things. Instead I loved it, I loved seeing Emily and Rain work through Emily's issues. I loved this beautiful story.

It has been ten years since Emily has been back to her family's farm. Her mom died in an accident on the farm and since then she has hated everything to do with it. She was in love with Rain back then, back before the accident, but since then she doesn't want to be tied down to a stupid farmhand. If only her mother wouldn't have given up her dancing to be with a farmer she would still be alive! These are Emily's thoughts and she is really quite ridiculous in her misplaced hatred for everything having to do with the farm. As I said above, another author would have made Emily seem too ridiculous with her hatred and anger, but in this story I got it. I understood her. I was okay with Emily.

Rain has lived on the farm since he was little. He was like a son to Emily's father and has been taking care of the place since he died. He doesn't understand how Emily could not ever come back to see her dad after she left after her mom's accident. He doesn't understand how she could cut him out of her life like that. He understands why she hates him as he has a lot of guilt over her mom's death, but her father? When she shows up again telling Rain she is selling the farm and he will have to get out it is quite a shock for him. Rain still loves Emily even though it has been so long since they last saw each other. He needs to do something to try and keep her there, to try and get her to see that the farm is not all terrible. He was really so sweet and kind at times and I really liked him.

Emily quickly starts battling with herself. On one hand she wants to stay unemotional. She wants to keep her emotions off, wants to keep not feeling anything. On the other hand she is starting to crack, starting to feel things again and doesn't know what to do about that. She is starting to feel for Rain again, but that is not how this was supposed to go. She was supposed to come back and show him how much better than him she is, how she doesn't need a stupid farmhand anymore. Again with another author I would have hated Emily and her need to show Rain how much better than him she is. I would have found that really horrible, but with this author it just was how Emily was. The writing softened it, softened Emily, so even though she was trying to be cold and calculating you could still see the kind, caring person that is inside. Really a beautiful story. I loves seeing Emily battle her own emotions, I loved seeing her come together with Rain, I really enjoyed most of this book.

So my one issue with the story? The ending. It was way too quick for me, for this story, and I wish it would have been a little different. **slight spoilers** I wish Emily would have been able to forgive Rain just because he is a good person and obviously he didn't mean to do anything terrible. I wish she would have been able to realize how terrible she has been and how she needs to let go of the past. Instead she gets something that shows her how Rain wasn't the terrible person she thought so she should go back to him. I wish she would have been able to make that choice without the new information that even Rain didn't know. That is my only complaint about the book. It would have been a 5 star book had Emily been able to get over the past and work her way back to Rain. Still a great read that I highly recommend. I look forward to reading more from this author.

This review was originally posted to Jen in Bookland
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern historical romance with a family history twist 18 May 2012
By Sandra Trolinger - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Emily was eighteen when her mother died in a tragic farm accident. After graduation she moved to Toronto and because a successful businesswoman and only goes home for her father's funeral. To tie up lose ends, Emily returns to sell the family farm and put her past behind her but encountering her old childhood love, Ray "Rain" Storm, doesn't go as planned. As Emily struggles to put the tragedy of her mother's death behind her, sell the farm and move on she learns the secret that Rain has been keeping and the devastation rocks her world. Rain is not the man she left behind and instead has become a successful author and has recounted her family history from her ancestors that told a love story of how the farm is a part of their heritage and how heartbreak can be overcome.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Story of Forgiveness and Love 30 July 2012
By Voracious Reader - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I was surprised by how good this story was. It started off good and got better all along. There are a few mild curse words and pre-martial sex, but it is not detailed or explicit. Normally I wouldn't give a book with the above mentioned components a five, but this one was too good to do otherwise. I did question how a Rain got a calf in the barn loft to feed it, when the barn appeared to be all above ground, but this was a minor detail. I loved the novel and would like to read more by these authors.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read and find out why so many love this book 4 May 2016
By must have coffee - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Perfect reading length. I normally avoid contemporary romance but oh my gosh I'm so glad I decided on this one. The saying "I could not put it down" does exist. Read it yourself and find out why it's a good book. You won't regret. Full of sassy dialogues....no explicit sex scene but it still made my heart race!...... I just couldn't read fast enough to get to the next part to find out 'what now'! Sometimes being a mom is a chore. Need a door sign: reading- do not disturb.

Look for similar items by category