You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $3.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Evie's Year of Taking Chances: A heart warming romantic comedy you won't be able to put down by [Barlow, Christie]
Kindle App Ad

Evie's Year of Taking Chances: A heart warming romantic comedy you won't be able to put down Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
$3.99

Length: 344 pages Word Wise: Enabled Language: English

NEW: Unlimited listening with Kindle Unlimited
Enjoy access to over 1 million books and thousands of titles with Audible Narration on any device. Read and listen free for 30 days. Learn more

Product description

Product Description

It’s Evie’s birthday and the start of a year she’ll never forget. An emotional story of love, friendship and grabbing life by the horns.


Evie’s job has always been her safe haven. As a librarian in the little town of Becton she loses herself in books - after all it’s far easier to read about other people’s problems than set about solving her own.

Then, one birthday, everything is turned upside down. A mysterious parcel containing a beautiful book with a poignant inscription arrives for Evie. It’s the beginning of a new chapter for Evie and she’s inspired to try and find her real mother.

Evie’s search leads her to meet handsome author Noah Jones. Charming and intelligent, Noah seems the perfect catch but what Evie doesn’t realise is that he is hiding something – a key to Evie’s past.

As Evie gets closer to Noah and discovering her mother, she must take a giant leap of faith. Can she embrace the new and make this her year of taking chances? And if she does, will she get her heart broken?

A romantic, funny and poignant story of living life to the full and finding love in the most unlikely of places. Fans of Debbie Johnson and Cathy Bramley will adore this book!

What readers are saying about Christie Barlow:


‘An utterly gorgeous story, with an utterly gorgeous plot that kept me turning the pages ... left me feeling full of happiness and hope.’ Becca’s Books

This is an excellent book which swept me along so well that I read it in less than a day. I loved the characters and the story and will definitely be reading more by this author. This is definitely a book to read curled up with a mug of tea or hot chocolate.’ Bookloverwormblog

'A heart-warming and cosy countryside read with characters you will love.' Rachael Lucas

‘I found this book really enjoyable, the author has an engaging writing style that managed to draw me into the storyline and the lives of our character. The storyline flowed at a great pace and I raced through the book in no time soaking up the wonderful detailed descriptions. I can see that fans of Cathy Bramley and Cathy Woodman would love this book.’ Rea's Book Reviews

This will have you laughing and smiling one minute and then you'll feel it pulling at your heart strings.Crooks on Books

‘I didn’t want to put the book down.’ Best Crime Books and More

A soul-boosting necessity. I have a suspicion it's been sprinkled with a little bit of magic, as on the darkest days it'll warm your cockles and make everything seem right with the world.' Little Bookness Lane

'A fantastic story, one that will keep you reading long into the night, just to find out what happens'. Rachel's Random Reads

‘I was unable to put this book down. I read it within a day because I was so drawn in to the characters themselves it was like I knew them. I would completely recommend this book to anyone and everyone. Definitely a huge 5 stars!’ Katie's Reading Korner Review

'This had me gripped from the first chapter. It will have you laughing, crying and will just give you a warm feeling inside.' Laura H Book Blog

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1189 KB
  • Print Length: 344 pages
  • Publisher: Bookouture (10 March 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01N6Q9O82
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #3,065 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
I loved this book! Obviously, I’m a reader so Libraries appeal to me. The librarian storyline in this book I absolutely loved. There is romance, mystery and likable characters. Right from the first chapter, even though you don’t immediately meet Noah or Irene or even Evie’s birth family, you bond with her and you know her goal early on.
I did love the characters as well. One thing that was refreshing for me is how almost innocent and sweet Evie is, despite her rough childhood and past. Isn’t it amazing that with just the right person our whole lives can turn in a direction we never even thought possible? Irene is that person for Evie. It seemed so true to the whole ‘foster kid’ atmosphere as well. They are shipped from home to home, never really finding the ‘family’ they long for. A lot of kids never do, which is so sad. I was glad to see Evie find that, even though she is a fictional character I feel like many people who have been through a similar foster situation will easily bond with her.
This book almost had that ‘cozy mystery’ vibe with the mysterious package and the hunt for Evie’s past. The mysterious love interest, Noah, which is a lot of the reason I turned the pages so quickly. I loved that mysterious plot even though it didn’t contain a ‘who done it’ aspect.
I’ve read a few of Christie’s books now and they never ever disappoint me. This one was definitely no different.

What I Loved?
-A lot of things were awesome about this story. I loved the characters, everyone from Evie to Carla & Aiden, even the UPS driver… they all had such an understated elegance to them that it made them really easy to love.
-Noah – before I even met Noah I knew I’d love him. Christie set him up early on so perfectly that he was easy to like, even with his mysterious self.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Monica Mac TOP 50 REVIEWER on 11 March 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
This was such a lovely book, with the ups and downs of Evie's life brilliantly described.

The characters in this book were warm and relatable and I found myself holding my breath a couple of times and wondering how things were going to work out!

There are more coincidences in this book than you can poke a stick at but somehow the author makes it all work and I was swept along by the story and thinking that I would really like all these people if I met them in real life.

Highly recommended from me :)

I voluntarily reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book. With thanks to NetGalley and Bookouture.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?