You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $3.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Equality: What Do You Think About When You Think of Equality? by [Fahey, Paul Alan, Reynolds, Susan, Zackheim, Victoria, Bram, Christopher, Palumbo, Dennis, Perry, Anne, Hyde, Catherine Ryan, Abercrombie, Barbara, Allen, Anne R., Burgoine, ‘Nathan]
Kindle App Ad

Equality: What Do You Think About When You Think of Equality? Kindle Edition


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$3.99

Length: 103 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

BlackFriday Sale
Save up to 70% on Kindle Books. Sale ends 25 November 2017 at 11:59 pm AEST. Shop now

Product description

Review

..". forces us to take a close look at our beliefs, our fears-and yes-even those prejudices we would rather not acknowledge." Caroline Leavitt, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author ***** "Oh, how I love this book, this collection-thank you, a million times ... Equality, has come at the perfect time. The world is in need of this book; I would go so far as calling it a Bible. Written by 25 amazing writers, authors, activists, it would stand as a vital read, but as a collection should be on everyone's shelf, or better yet, night table. It is a reminder of how far we have come, and how much further we must travel, and how, when we stand up-either alone or collectively-we become the occasion that we are rising to." Amy Ferris, editor, screenwriter and author of Marrying George Clooney: Confessions From A Midlife Crisis ***** ..". a carnival of intellectual provocation. Moving and inspiring, these are essays that move us forward to imagine endless possibilities." Michael Bronski, author of A Queer History of the United States, and Professor of the Practice in Activism and Media Studies of Women, Gender and Sexuality Harvard University. ***** "Some sombre, some bright, these beautifully crafted essays on equality lay out the amazing breadth of a struggle that's achieved so much and still has so far to go." Richard Stevenson, author of the Don Strachey private eye novels ***** ..". the perfect antidote to current politics in America. Instead of pontificating and posing, each writer takes on the subject matter with a sense of both urgency and introspection, and by the end of the book you feel edified, as well as quite a bit saner." Keith Banner, author of Next to Nothing and The Smallest People Alive ***** "Equality taps into the talent of many to explore the depth and breadth of this sensitive topic in ways that will enlighten your mind and feed your soul." Anna Unkovich, co-author of Chicken Soup for the Soul in the Classroom, and Caring To Teach, Teaching To Care ***** "Equality is actually about living the truth. This brave new collection ... bring[s] a queer-focused human voice to the idea and necessity of it." Perry Brass, author of IPPY Award winning The Manly Pursuit of Desire and Love ***** "The stories in this collection will settle gently and deeply into the reader's thoughts and will, most likely, spur a steady desire to attend to equality of every kind." Leeza Carlone Steindorf, speaker, trainer, mediator, coach, award-winning author of Connected Parent, Empowered Child: Five Keys to Raising Happy, Confident, Responsible Kids-A CORE Success(r) Guide ***** "Some concepts seem so basic, we tend to assume they mean the same thing to all of us. In this compelling anthology, a diverse group of writers demonstrate that all views are not equal-even when the concept in question is equality itself. Ranging from the historical and political to the deeply personal, these essays examine what equality-or, more pointedly, inequality-means in the lives of real people. Encompassing race, sex, age, sexual orientation, and other prisms of experience, Equality is a fascinating and enlightening read. Each author provides a glimpse into the delicate balance between equality of personhood and respect for the diverse aspects of human identity. Together, these essays paint a moving, even occasionally comic, portrait of the varied paths we all take to proclaim our rights while respecting and holding onto the specific things that make us who we are. The particular subjects and perspectives of each author create a quilt of experience, suggesting that our very difference as individuals is key to our equality, perhaps the one thing we have most in common." Lewis DeSimone, author of Channeling Morgan and The Heart's History

Product Description

In the tradition of Dr. Martin Luther King’s ‘Stride Toward Freedom’ and Malala Yousafzai’s, ‘I Am Malala’, ‘Equality: What Do You Think About When You Think of Equality?’ presents thought-provoking and compelling personal essays that probe a concept professed to be the very foundation of our democracy – a concept that may even be more vital today than in the past.

From international bestselling author, Anne Perry who asserts we must look within ourselves to our emotions, experiences, and beliefs before we attempt an honest and truthful answer, to Dennis Palumbo, psychotherapist and author, who claims diagnostic labels used in treating mental illness often stigmatize and dehumanize the patient causing clinicians to view their patients in terms of their diagnosis rather than people, and Barbara Abercrombie, writer and distinguished university professor, who explores ageism as yet another form of stereotyping and discrimination in the language we use to describe older adults. These award-winning and best-selling writers, and twenty-two more, tackle equality across multiple spectrums – racial, social, political, religious, marital, gender – and run with it in surprising directions.

What do you think about when you think of equality?

Contributors: Barbara Abercrombie, Anne R. Allen, Christopher Bram, ‘Nathan Burgoine, Rob Byrnes, David Congalton, Larry Duplechan, Eldonna Edwards, Jewelle Gomez, Lisa Horan, Catherine Ryan Hyde, Barbara Jacksha, Michael McMahon, Jeff Mann, Michael Nava, Dennis Palumbo, Anne Perry, Felice Picano, Mara Purl, Susan Reynolds, Jeffrey Ricker, Michael Rupured, Baxter Clare Trautman, and Victoria Zackheim.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3676 KB
  • Print Length: 103 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Vine Leaves Press (15 January 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01N9GWFU7
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
click to open popover

Customer reviews

There are no local customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars 11 reviews
One person found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsEnlightening, valuable and necessary study in personal perceptions about equality.
on 2 February 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsPaul Fahey has assembled a unique, diverse, and ...
on 10 April 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsMore Important than Ever
on 20 April 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
5.0 out of 5 starsGood "food for thought" and book discussion group material!
on 25 September 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
5.0 out of 5 starsFive Stars
on 28 October 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?