$26.50
In stock.
Ships from and sold by Book Depository UK.
$26.50 + FREE Delivery
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$23.51
+ $3.00 delivery
Sold by: RarewavesUSA
Add to Cart
$27.72
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: BuyGlobal
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Emergency Contact Hardcover – 27 Mar 2018

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Hardcover
$26.50
$19.64
click to open popover

Product details


Product description

Review

* "Choi sensitively shows the evolution of two lonely, complicated people who slowly emerge from their shells to risk an intimate relationship. Her sharp wit and skillful character development...ensure that readers will feel that they know Penny and Sam inside and out before the gratifying conclusion."--Publisher's Weekly - starred review "January 1, 2018 "

"Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book."
--Rainbow Rowell, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fangirl

* "Choi creates an up-to-date and realistic contemporary romance by upending the love story trope....A highly recommended purchase for the teens who enjoy realistic relationship fiction. Recommended for fans of Nicola Yoon's Everything, Everything and Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park."--School Library Journal - starred review "February 1, 2018 "

"Readers will swoon over Emergency Contact. Choi has a knack for creating relatable characters, and this quirky, socially awkward love story will keep your cheeks rosy with every page....Emergency Contact is the perfect book for those who root for the underdog and believe that broken people can heal together."--RT Book Reviews "March 1, 2018 "

"Blushingly tender and piquant...Choi... inserts timely issues like sexual assault, cultural appropriation and even DACA into her characters' intimate conversations, but it is her examination of digital vs. F2F communication that feels the most immediate."--The New York Times Book Review "March 2, 2018 "

"Readers who enjoyed the unorthodox evolution of romance in Nicola Yoon's Everything, Everything (2015) will like this debut novel."--Booklist "March 7, 2018 "

"Penny somehow broke down all my walls. Her tech became incidental and her voice endearing, and just like that, I was hooked. Even the texts feel very natural and elegantly woven into the narration.There is much more to both Sam and Penny than quirky character traits and witty repartee....While the story does traffic in the heart flutter of romance that is tantalizingly out of reach, its emotional core goes deep."

--NPR "March 29, 2018 "

"Whip-smart, hilarious and poignant...Choi's prose is to be savored....Along with the biting wit and sharp observations, Choi's marvelous novel offers a perceptive exercise on the divide between digital and in-person communication - and how daunting it can be to 'escalate' to that face to face encounter."--The Buffalo News "March 29, 2018 "

"A tender, texting-based teen romance."--Entertainment Weekly

"Mary H.K Choi's Emergency Contact is one of the best debuts of the year and one of the first YA novels to really capture the depth and complexities of a text-based relationship."--The Globe and Mail

About the Author

Mary H.K. Choi is a writer for The New York Times, GQ, Wired, and The Atlantic. She has written comics for Marvel and DC, as well as a collection of essays called Oh, Never Mind. She is the host of Hey, Cool Job!, a podcast about jobs, and is a culture correspondent for VICE News Tonight on HBO. Emergency Contact is her first novel. Mary grew up in Hong Kong and Texas and now lives in New York. Follow her on Twitter at @ChoitotheWorld.

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 1 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

TOP 10 REVIEWER
28 March 2018

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.6 out of 5 stars 117 reviews
Brendan Kennedy
5.0 out of 5 starsYA with all of the feels and none of the cringe.
19 April 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful.
Sara V.
5.0 out of 5 starsLOVE
27 March 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful.
Mary Ward
4.0 out of 5 starsOne of the sweetest couples I have read in a while
30 May 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
abby
5.0 out of 5 starsFavorite book of 2018!
31 March 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful.
Ye-Won Seo
5.0 out of 5 starsI just love Penny so much
3 June 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?