Buying Options

Kindle Price: $3.44
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
EIGHT: Terror Has A New Species by [Mortensen, WW]
Kindle App Ad

EIGHT: Terror Has A New Species Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$3.44

Length: 564 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

What's New in Kindle Unlimited
Discover this month's featured titles, now available to read for $0.00. Learn more

Product description

Product Description

New and revised, EIGHT is now leaner, faster, and scarier than ever...

Deep in the Amazon lies the solution to the global energy crisis - a mysterious source of power that will end our dependency on oil.

It's not the only discovery.

When entomologist Rebecca Riley receives a series of strange photographs from expedition leader and former partner, Ed Reardon, she finds herself heading to Brazil to join the team of scientists assembling there. She hasn’t seen Ed for more than a year, and their relationship hadn’t ended well.

But his revelation is impossible to ignore.

What she uncovers is beyond imagination: strange statues in the jungle… a ruined city built by the refugees of a lost Pacific continent… and a terrifying new species.

She knows this is no ordinary animal. When the team is attacked, the mission becomes a desperate race for survival, and Rebecca must confront a crippling childhood phobia she’d thought long dead and buried.

An ancient enemy has awakened, one whose very existence has implications for all of humankind… and the planet itself.

TERROR HAS A NEW SPECIES.

∞∞∞∞∞

Reviewers are loving the action and scares of EIGHT:

"A wild roller coaster-ride-from-hell that keeps you guessing to the very end."
Knockin' Books

"Wow! Maybe the most suspenseful book I've ever read."
Bobbie, Goodreads Reviewer, 5*

"Thoroughly hooked."
Sarah, Netgalley Reviewer, 5*

"Scared me right out of my chair..."
Helen, Goodreads Reviewer, 5*

"This is a great fast-paced adventure that I recommend as an entertaining read in the vein of Rollins and Cussler, and checks off all the boxes of things I enjoy and expect in such novels- adventure in exotic parts of the world, ancient artifacts and lost civilizations, danger in many forms, from a hostile environment to evil mercenaries with guns."
Greg Del Mar, NetGalley Reviewer, 4*

"If you're a fan of folks like James Rollins or Matthew Reilly, this book is for you!... I refuse to spoil the nature of our beasties - and there's more to them at first glance than things that want to chomp you - but they are awesome!... I expect to read Mortensen in the future. I also expect to be paying big bucks for his books as he rides alongside James Rollins and Matthew Reilly in success. A very good read!"
Dena Martin, NetGalley Reviewer, 5*

"On several occasions when I thought he had run out of options to keep the action going, the author would manage to do so. In fact there were no lulls in the action and by the end of the story I had become accustomed to the pace. I would easily recommend this for anyone craving action and excitement in a great read."
JeepWonder, ReadingAlley Reviewer

"I decided to start with a quick few pages while waiting for a meeting and then was 20 mins late because I forgot to look up.. I drifted through the meeting wondering what could happen to the young girl in the book on her journey and just where the storyline could or would be going! I then decided I needed to have a rare afternoon off just to get to the end of the book, just to see if the writer could keep this going at the pace that the book started with, but, every time I thought I could slow down for a break, something else happened in the wild twists and turns to pin me right back in my seat. I must admit in all humility, that I now have a new phobia and the storyline scared the (Beep) out of me more than once!. The writing was brilliant and easy to follow, didn’t overpower me with too much detail, just enough to understand the situation and flowed so smoothly from one situation to another with surprises around every bush, that I didn’t even realize I had finished. Wow good writer and great style. Thank you."
Mikemdm1111, ReadingAlley Reviewer

"Real page-turner, recommended."
Polly Krize, NetGalley Reviewer

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3706 KB
  • Print Length: 564 pages
  • Publisher: WW Mortensen (13 December 2016)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01NCHBQNL
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #94,976 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

click to open popover

8 customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

18 January 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
25 April 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
7 March 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
18 August 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
11 April 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
22 January 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
28 December 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
18 April 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?