<Embed>
$40.21
& FREE Delivery
Usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days.
Ships from and sold by Book Depository UK.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$32.55
+ $14.98 delivery
Sold by: Amazon US
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Dry Hardcover – 10 January 2017

4.5 out of 5 stars 4,000 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$40.21
$32.55
Digital
Arrives: 4 - 10 Aug

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • Dry
  • +
  • Force of Nature: by the author of the Sunday Times top ten bestseller, The Dry
  • +
  • The Lost Man
Total Price: $125.40
Buy the selected items together

Product details

Product description

Review

"Ms. Harper is not one to drop a fact...without using it later. She has jampacked her swift debut thriller with sneaky moves that the reader has to track with care... It's hard to believe this is her first novel... The Dry is a breathless page-turner, driven by the many revelations Ms. Harper dreams up...."
--The New York Times, Janet Maslin

One of the most stunning debuts I've ever read. I could feel the searing heat of the Australia setting. Every word is near perfect. The story builds like a wave seeking the purchase of earth before it crashes down and wipes out everything you might have thought about this enthralling tale. Read it!
--David Baldacci, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Guilty

"Leads down a convoluted page-turning trail to an explosive ending. It will have you wearing out the pages flipping back looking for the well-disguised clues. You may find this is the best mystery you have read all year."
--Florida Times-Union

"A stunner...It's a small-town, big-secrets page-turner with a shocker of an ending...Recommend this one to fans of James Lee Burke and Robert Crais, who mix elements of "bromance" into their hard-boiled tales."
--Booklist, starred review

"Devastating debut...a suspenseful tale of sound and fury as riveting as it is horrific."
--Publishers Weekly, starred review

"A nail-biting thriller...A chilling story set under a blistering sun, this fine debut will keep readers on edge and awake long past bedtime."
--Kirkus, starred review

The Dry is one of the most talked-about debuts of the new year....Harper's story is tightly plotted and moves briskly, the tension as brittle and incendiary as the dried-out crops on the Kiewarra farms. But it is the beautifully evoked landscape and the portrayal of a gloomy outpost on the edge of a desert that are the stars of the show.
--BookPage

"A thrilling procedural that pays off on every level."
--Shelf Awareness

Harper writes with precision and creates a tense atmosphere on the brink of combustion.
--Real Simple

With The Dry, Jane Harper immediately takes her place among the elites in the mystery world. If this book doesn't garner an Edgar (Best First Novel) or two (Best Novel), there is no justice. Terrific characters, unique and evocative setting, knockout plot construction. This book has it all.
--John Lescroart, New York Times bestselling author of The Fall

It's extremely rare and exciting to read a debut that enthralls from the very first page and then absolutely sticks the landing. Told with heart and guts and an authentic sense of place that simply cannot be faked, The Dry is the debut of the year."
--C.J. Box, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Off The Grid

Every so often a debut novel arrives that is so tightly woven and compelling it seems the work of a novelist in her prime. That's what Jane Harper has given us with The Dry, a story so true to setting and tone it seemed I fell asleep in Virginia only to wake in Australian heat. It's rare, that sense of transportation, and I loved every minute of it. Thank you, Jane Harper.
--John Hart, New York Times bestselling author of Redemption Road

"From the first paragraph onward, Jane Harper creates a menacing landscape out of which long-held secrets emerge. The Dry is a marvelous novel that once begun is hard to put down, once finished even harder to forget."
--Ron Rash, New York Times bestselling author of Serena

"You will feel the heat, taste the dust and blink into the glare. The Dry is a wonderful crime novel that shines a light into the darkest corner of a sunburnt country."
--Michael Robotham, New York Times bestselling author of Life or Death

"Elegant...After two decades away, a federal agent returns to the small farming community he grew up in. The old crime still looms, but he gets roped into solving a new one. You won't sleep until he does."
--Redbook

"A winner destined for widespread appeal...a beautifully constructed, chilling page turner that you won't soon forget. It's a multilayered, stiletto sharp read...that packs a punch as blistering as the Australian sun it's set under." --Open Letters Monthly

"Fans of Tana French or Laura McHugh won't want to miss this tense but probing thriller."
--BookPage

"Every now and then an Australian crime novel comes along to stop your breath and haunt your dreams...There is about The Dry something mythic and valiant. This a story about heroism, the sins of the past, and the struggle to atone."
--Sydney Morning Herald

"Poised to be one of the season's biggest hits."
--Elle.com, The 25 Most Anticipated Books by Women for 2017

Told with heart-breaking precision and emotional power...If you read only one crime novel this year, make it this one.
--Daily Mail

"A razor-sharp crime yarn dripping in the sights, sounds and smells of the Australian bush...The storytelling is accomplished, with a bald sparseness to the writing that draws you in and characterization that rings resoundingly true...as the action twists and turns, the pace build[s] to a fantastic finale that will leave you breathless."
--Australian Women's Weekly

"A tightly plotted page-turner that kept me reading well into the night...Harper shines a light on the highs and lows of rural life - the loyalty born of collective endurance in adversity, as well as the loneliness and isolation, and the havoc wrought by small-town gossip. She also explores the nature of guilt and regret, and the impact of the past on the present. In this cracker of a book Harper maintains the suspense, with the momentum picking up as it draws to its nerve-wracking conclusion."
--Australian Financial Review

"The Dry is a page-turner written with a maturity of style rarely seen in a first-time novelist and it's here the writer excels. Harper's exploration of the pressures of a small town where people are not able to escape the past is thoughtful and mature. Her plot twists and layering are intricate and subtle and keep you guessing to the end while the townspeople grow on you despite their dirty secrets."
--The West Australian

About the Author

Jane Harper has worked as a print journalist for 13 years both in Australia and the UK. She is originally from the UK and moved to Australia in 2008, where she lives in Melbourne and writes for the Herald Sun. The Dry, her debut novel, won the 2015 Victorian Premier Literary Award for an unpublished manuscript.

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
4,000 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers
Reviewed in Australia on 19 March 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 11 May 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 3 January 2020
Verified Purchase
TOP 50 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 2 January 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 14 May 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 18 May 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 22 November 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 24 May 2019
Verified Purchase

Top international reviews

KymH
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking read and a fantastic debut for Harper!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 December 2017
Verified Purchase
52 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kalimotxo
1.0 out of 5 stars One star
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 January 2019
Verified Purchase
25 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Gary M. Dobbs
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 June 2018
Verified Purchase
25 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Peter Hilton
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst novel I have ever read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 February 2019
Verified Purchase
25 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Sarah-Lou
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dry by Jane Harper is one of the best reads I have had for a long time
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 February 2017
Verified Purchase
22 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
H Johnson
2.0 out of 5 stars Full of tedious detail
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 31 August 2018
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Pat Cornwall
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 April 2017
Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
BR41
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, fascinating, unexpected, heartrending
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 March 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
R. A. Cookson
3.0 out of 5 stars A perfectly pleasant but over-rated read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 February 2019
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Roses are Amber
4.0 out of 5 stars Cultural thriller set in Australia
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 May 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Margosa
5.0 out of 5 stars Mayhem in the outback.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 24 January 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Beetleypete
4.0 out of 5 stars A powerful and timely reminder.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 April 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Angelaswlondon
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 September 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
sweet petite
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars great crime thriller
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 6 October 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
shelducky
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not outstanding
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 April 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse