You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $12.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>

Loading recommendations for you
Recommendations for you

Adding to Cart...

Added to Cart

Not Added

Item is in your Cart

View Cart

Not Added

There was a problem adding this item to Cart. Please try again later.
Sorry, we're having trouble showing recommendations right now. Please try again later.
Continue shopping
In the Days of Rain: WINNER OF THE 2017 COSTA BIOGRAPHY AWARD by [Stott, Rebecca]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


In the Days of Rain: WINNER OF THE 2017 COSTA BIOGRAPHY AWARD Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 4 ratings

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99

Length: 321 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $2.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Product description

Review

'Beautiful, dizzying, terrifying, Stott's memoir maps the unnerving hinterland where faith becomes cruelty and devotion turns into disaster. A brave, frightening and strangely hopeful book' Olivia Laing, author of The Lonely City

‘A marvellous, strange, terrifying book’ Francis Spufford, author of Golden Hill

‘Truly magnificent: a big, beautiful, brutal, and tender masterpiece. A deeply affecting human story that also goes to the dark heart of who we are and how the world works’ Mark Mills, author of The Savage Garden

‘Stott is masterly as both a storyteller and a historian’ TLS

‘By rights Rebecca Stott's memoir ought to be a horror story. But while the historian in her is merciless in exposing cruelties and corruption, Rebecca the child also lights up the book, so passionate and imaginative that it helps explain how she survived, and – even more miraculous – found the compassion and understanding to do justice to the story of her father and the painful family life he created’ Sarah Dunant, author of The Birth of Venus

‘She’s a beautiful writer and there is a powerful almost luminous quality to the book’ Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of The Last Act of Love

‘This book is important; … there isn’t an uninteresting paragraph in this furious and compassionate book’ The Times

‘An intense accomplishment’ Sunday Times

‘In the Days of Rain is a double memoir: it describes both Rebecca’s own childhood and her father Roger’s life. It is not, though, in any way a misery memoir and that’s what makes it such an attractive and interesting book’ Spectator

‘Stott deploys her multiplicity of skills to good effect: as a historian, she delves into newspaper clippings, tape recordings, archive materials, a host of memoirs and books on doctrine, theology and the Exclusive Brethren. As a novelist, she makes the tale dramatic … As an essayist, Stott weaves ideas together with ease and economy’ Guardian

Product Description

WINNER OF THE 2017 COSTA BIOGRAPHY AWARD

In the vein of Bad Blood and Why be Happy when you can be Normal?: an enthralling, at times shocking, and deeply personal family memoir of growing up in, and breaking away from, a fundamentalist Christian cult.

As heard on Jeremey Vine

‘At university when I made new friends and confidantes, I couldn’t explain how I’d become a teenage mother, or shoplifted books for years, or why I was afraid of the dark and had a compulsion to rescue people, without explaining about the Brethren or the God they made for us, and the Rapture they told us was coming. But then I couldn’t really begin to talk about the Brethren without explaining about my father…’

As Rebecca Stott’s father lay dying he begged her to help him write the memoir he had been struggling with for years. He wanted to tell the story of their family, who, for generations had all been members of a fundamentalist Christian sect. Yet, each time he reached a certain point, he became tangled in a thicket of painful memories and could not go on.

The sect were a closed community who believed the world is ruled by Satan: non-sect books were banned, women were made to wear headscarves and those who disobeyed the rules were punished.

Rebecca was born into the sect, yet, as an intelligent, inquiring child she was always asking dangerous questions. She would discover that her father, an influential preacher, had been asking them too, and that the fault-line between faith and doubt had almost engulfed him.

In In the Days of Rain Rebecca gathers the broken threads of her father’s story, and her own, and follows him into the thicket to tell of her family’s experiences within the sect, and the decades-long aftermath of their breaking away.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 7711 KB
  • Print Length: 321 pages
  • Publisher: Fourth Estate (1 June 2017)
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01N5BS5JD
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #134,561 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4 customer ratings
5 star
67%
4 star
33%
3 star 0% (0%) 0%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

4 customer reviews

17 December 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
4 June 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
15 September 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
15 August 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3.8 out of 5 stars 40 reviews
NunyaB
5.0 out of 5 starsWell researched and written.
15 August 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Martin
5.0 out of 5 starslike "his questions were more important than the answers"
23 August 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Suzy
5.0 out of 5 starsFinished with an audible WOW
8 October 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Mary E. Lydic
5.0 out of 5 starsChilling
13 July 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
blakes68
5.0 out of 5 starsTerrifyingly accurate
2 December 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase