Kindle Price: $10.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Daughters Of Mars by [Keneally, Tom]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Daughters Of Mars Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 16 customer reviews

See all 15 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$10.99

Length: 528 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $3.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

Product description

Review

International Praise for "The Daughters of Mars"

"Magnificent... a stunning performance, full of suspense, searing particulars, and deep emotion.... The huge talents of Thomas Keneally are everywhere on display."

"May be the best novel of Keneally's career... a book that aims for, and achieves, real grandeur."

"Extraordinarily moving...Keneally isa master of character development and period detail.... Fans of "Downton Abbey" and "Gallipoli" alike will find much to admire in Keneally's fast-moving, flawlessly written pages."

"Superbly exciting to read..... An unmissable, unforgettable tribute."

"Not only is "The Daughters of Mars" one of the most ambitious novels in a career that stretches back to 1964, but it might even be "the" best... The result is something few other authors would aim for, let alone achieve: genuine grandeur."

"A big and brutal book, a new prism through which to think about World War I...breathtaking...magnificent and almost magical. There are moments of joy, of pleasure, that make you look up from their page for a while to arrest and savour their sensation."

"Now, at last and triumphantly, there is a full-scale Keneally novel of the Great War...All of it is handled by Keneally with calm mastery. If epic is no longer a literary category that fits this world, "The Daughters of Mars" nonetheless has a tragic and humane span that few recent novels have attempted, let alone equalled."

"Greatly detailed... boasts authentic characters set in equally authentic locations."

"Along with a Tolstoyan ability to describe the horrors of battle, this amazing book also has an extraordinary intimacy, especially in the relationship between the sisters...an altogether towering achievement."--A.N. Wilson

Along with a Tolstoyan ability to describe the horrors of battle, this amazing book also has an extraordinary intimacy, especially in the relationship between the sisters...an altogether towering achievement. --A.N. Wilson

Review

"No Australian author has written more eloquently or extensively of war than Tom Keneally...Now, at last and triumphantly, there is a full-scale Keneally novel of the Great War...All of it is handled by Keneally with calm mastery. If epic is no longer a literary category that fits this world, THE DAUGHTERS OF MARS nonetheless has a tragic and humane span that few recent novels have attempted, let alone equalled." (Canberra Times)

"Keneally, for decades one of Australia's most prominent and exuberant storytellers, has a passion for history that is infectious and irresistible. His new novel tackles - on an epic scale - the role of Australian nurses in World War I...Keneally's fascination with the roles of ordinary people like these young women play in momentous events gives THE DAUGHTERS OF MARS its terrific energy and freshness." (Adelaide Advertiser)

"The huge talents of Thomas Keneally are everywhere on display." (The Guardian)

"The translation into fiction of all that he uncovered is one of this novel's finest achievements. You sense a storymaker with his manuscript pegged out and in play, dotting in tiny facts, intricate details: innovations in medical practice and anaesthetics, even the different fashions worn by Australia's different state nurses. Here, he drops in the artistic philosophy of light; there, the surreality of travel to famous places; and then, the death of Joan of Arc, in five perfect paragraphs. The breadth and accretion of all this is dazzling, matched - and sometimes superseded - by the perfection of the intimate gestures and internal moments through which he vivifies his young women. What grief looks like as it works across somebody's lips; how human touch feels to someone more used to swabbing and stitching." (The Australian)

"The skill of Tom Keneally is that he writes with a large scope on matters from the Irish diaspora to convict life in Australia, the Holocaust and now World War I, but his stories are engagingly intimate." (The Daily Telegraph)

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1002 KB
  • Print Length: 528 pages
  • Publisher: Random House Australia (1 June 2012)
  • Sold by: Random House Australia
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B007KAZ2FQ
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars 16 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #12,253 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

16 customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-8 of 16 reviews

16 August 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
9 July 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
30 April 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
29 July 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
7 June 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
22 May 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
23 July 2015
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
24 January 2015
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?


Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?