<Embed>
$27.54
In stock.
Ships from and sold by RarewavesUSA.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$30.55
And FREE delivery on eligible orders. See details and conditions
Sold by: Amazon AU
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Dark Fissures: 3 Paperback – 21 November 2017

4.5 out of 5 stars 56 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$27.54
$25.00
$3.00 delivery: 21 - 31 Dec

Pre-order Books. Order now from our extensive selection of books coming soon with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Shop now
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • Dark Fissures: 3
  • +
  • Night Tremors: 2
  • +
  • Yesterday's Echo: 1
Total Price: $77.54
Buy the selected items together

Pre-order Books. Order now from our extensive selection of books coming soon with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Shop now

Product details

  • Paperback : 352 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1608092682
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1608092680
  • Product Dimensions : 15.75 x 2.03 x 22.78 cm
  • Publisher : Oceanview Publishing; Reprint Edition (21 November 2017)
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 56 ratings

Product description

Review

"Anthony Award-winner Coyle's gripping third Rick Cahill novel (after 2015's Night Tremors) finds the vulnerable, well-meaning La Jolla, Calif., PI in fear of losing his house to a bank foreclosure. Even worse, the town's police chief, Tony Moretti, is preparing to arrest Rick for murder in a case involving a missing person as soon as he gets enough evidence. Meanwhile, singer Brianne Colton hires Cahill to prove that her police officer husband, Jim, didn't commit suicide but was murdered. Jim didn't trust Moretti, which puts Cahill in a tough position. The detective must also contend with criminal lawyer Alan Rankin, who once took a beating from Cahill. A kick in the nose from Rankin's assistant, mixed martial arts-expert Miranda Jennings, is a reminder that Rankin hasn't forgiven Cahill, though Miranda later provides some unexpected help in the Colton case. The deck is stacked against Cahill, but he comes up trumps by the end of this satisfying hard-boiled adventure." --Publishers Weekly

"I think I'm falling for Rick Cahill. He's the best kind of down-on-his-luck detective: hard-boiled yet vulnerable; gritty but gallant; somewhat of a screw-up but noble to the core; droll yet all heart. I'll follow him anywhere. Coyle's writing was terrific out of the gate but still manages to get even better."--Kristi Belcamino, Anthony, Barry, and Macavity award nominee

Matt Coyle's Dark Fissures is a meticulously plotted detective novel with such fast and continuous action that neither the cars nor the gun barrels ever cool down. Go buy it. --Thomas Perry, Edgar Award-winning author

"Dark Fissures is a roller coaster ride through the streets of San Diego. Tightly plotted with memorable characters. An outstanding read! --C. J. Box, New York Times best-selling author

"Private eye Cahill is in hot water in third Coyle series offering. Private investigator Rick Cahill is being framed for the murder of a missing person and, to make matters worse, the bank is about to foreclose on his house. To stave off the bank, Cahill takes a paying case, but this only draws more negative attention from the La Jolla Police Department, and soon he finds himself dodging not only the police chief and the FBI, but also some highly unsavory characters who will stop at nothing to ensure the truth stays under wraps." --Fresno Bee

"Matt Coyle has done it again." --La Jolla Village News

"Private Investigator Rick Cahill fears the next knock on his door will be a cop holding a warrant for his arrest. For murder. La Jolla Chief of Police Tony Moretti is convinced Rick killed a missing person. No body has been found, but the evidence that's piling up says murder and it all points to Rick. With Moretti on his tail and the bank about to foreclose on his house, Rick takes a paying case that will stave off the bank, but pits him against Moretti and the La Jolla Police Department." --San Francisco Book Review

"...an engrossing story, well written, and of course ending with the makings of the next book in this series. Certainly Matt Coyle will intrigue the reader with both the plots and characterizations presented." --BookBitch.com

"Hi-adrenaline, fast paced, a series with non-stop danger and action and a troubled PI, to love. What an adventure! Coyle is a talented author to follow! Powerful plot planning, and rich character development. Fans of Michael Connelly (Harry Bosch), David Baldacci, and J. Carson Black (Cyril Landry) will enjoy this well-written series. Highly recommend reading all the books in the series, for the full background of the highly entertaining Rick Cahill. Can't wait for the next ride." --JDC Must Read Books

"Each installment sets the hardboiled thriller bar higher, making Dark Fissures my number one Top Pick for 2016." --Dean Murphy, Bookreporter.com

"Coyle's latest Rick Cahill novel is a gripping fast-paced, page-turner that will hook readers from page one and not let go until the end. The protagonist is a noir-ish, dark hero who's a loner, a cynic yet a surprising romantic at heart. The to the point, decisive 1st person narrative works well with the star's curious, suspicious nature. Plus the author being a native of the area brings an intimate feel to every scene. This keeper shelf must read will appeal to both sexes and all fans of engaging plot driven thrillers. Fans of Michael Connelly and Nelson DeMille will love this!" --Reading Frenzy

"Those who enjoy gritty crime dramas will like Cahill and appreciate Coyle's writing style. Though this is the third in the series, Dark Fissures is a great place to start." --Booklist

"Intrigue, suspense, emotional and gripping... don't pass this one up!" --InDTale

"If you like tight, fast, dark thrillers, you'll do well to follow Coyle into the dark fissure that runs through Cahill's soul." --Suspense Magazine

"A simply riveting read from cover to cover, Dark Fissures reveals author Matt Coyle's genuine flair for deftly crafted knack for stories replete with memorable characters and unexpected plot twists." --Midwest Book Review

About the Author

Best-selling author Matt Coyle is the winner of the Anthony Award, the Benjamin Franklin Silver Award, and the San Diego Book Award. Matt has a degree in English from the University of California, Santa Barbara, and has worked in the restaurant, golf, and sports collectible businesses. Dark Fissures is the third in his Rick Cahill crime series, following Yesterday's Echo and Night Tremors. Matt lives in San Diego with his yellow Lab, Angus.

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
56 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top review from Australia

TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 7 December 2016
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

N. Gargano
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for the whole series......so far.
Reviewed in the United States on 14 November 2017
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
An avid reader
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars. A sometimes unlikable protagonist backed by good writing
Reviewed in the United States on 5 November 2017
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars The dark side of La Jolla
Reviewed in the United States on 7 April 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Bookzilla
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast-paced
Reviewed in the United States on 6 April 2017
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome read
Reviewed in the United States on 7 April 2017
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse