You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $3.69
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
The Dangerous Years (Captain Kelly Maguire Trilogy Book 2) by [Hennessy, Max]
Kindle App Ad

The Dangerous Years (Captain Kelly Maguire Trilogy Book 2) Kindle Edition

5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$3.69

Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled Page Flip: Enabled
Language: English
  • Similar books to The Dangerous Years (Captain Kelly Maguire Trilogy Book 2)

60 Kindle Books for $2 each
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to $2 each. Learn more

Product description

Product Description

Fresh from his triumph in the Great War, Kelly Maguire returns to battle.

Hero of Jutland in World War I, Kelly Maguire progresses rapidly through the ranks during the dangerous post-war years, despite the government’s decision to cut down the Navy.  

He eventually finds himself in Russia during the Civil War years, when the Navy manned armoured trains in order to rescue thousands of terrified White Army men, beset on all sides by disease and the rampaging Red Army.

From Russia he moves on to China, and is involved with a gunboat incident on the Yangtze. His military and romantic resolve are tested to their limit when he must choose between his childhood sweetheart, the unassuming Charlotte Upfold, ‘Charley’ to him, and a marriage with a wealthy aristocrat.

From old enemies to old flames, Maguire will once again have to prove his worth - and continue his journey up the ranks of the British Navy.

An awe-inspiring tale of adventure and war, The Dangerous Years is a thrilling historical novel, perfect for fans of David McDine, Alan Evans and Alexander Fullerton.

About the Author

John Harris, who also wrote under the pen names of Mark Hebden and Max Hennessy, was born in 1916. He authored the best-selling and later filmed The Sea Shall Not Have Them, a story of survival and rescue from World War II that continues to be periodically screened on TV. He was a sailor, an airman, a journalist, a travel courier, a cartoonist, and a history teacher. After turning to full-time writing, he wrote adventure stories, war novels, political thrillers, and also created a sequence of crime novels around the quirky French Chief Inspector Pel, centered primarily in Burgundy, but occasionally Paris and elsewhere. Harris was unusually versatile and wide ranging as an author. Epics such as China Seas and the three trilogies written under the pseudonym Max Hennessy, along with African adventure novels, wide-ranging crime, mysteries, and historical fiction, all guarantee a library of diverse and entertaining reading full of dry wit and gripping prose.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1149 KB
  • Publisher: Canelo Action (4 March 2019)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07N3ZGC6D
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #1,613 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
click to open popover

2 customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

14 May 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
8 June 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.4 out of 5 stars 10 reviews
F B
5.0 out of 5 starsDeja vu
11 April 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Charles F. Kartman
5.0 out of 5 starsLittle-told tale of inter-war RN
16 May 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Bob in Big D
4.0 out of 5 starsI learned a lot of what went on in the time between the world wars
27 April 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Joe Malik
4.0 out of 5 starsIntriguing story after WW1
30 May 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
chip
5.0 out of 5 starsVery good read
11 June 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase