You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: $6.51
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Curse of the Scarab (Big Honey Dog Mysteries Book 1) by [Hanna, H.Y.]
Kindle App Ad

Curse of the Scarab (Big Honey Dog Mysteries Book 1) Kindle Edition

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
$6.51

Length: 243 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English
  • Similar books to Curse of the Scarab (Big Honey Dog Mysteries Book 1)

Winter Sale
Save up to 70% on over 250 Kindle Books. Sale ends 27 August 2017 at 11:59 pm AEST. Shop now

Product description

Product Description

A dog detective mystery adventure for children ages 9 to 12
Missing puppies. Deadly secrets. Serious slobber.
All Honey the Great Dane ever wanted was a peaceful life - walking her human, checking Peemail at the park - but when neighbourhood puppies start disappearing, life takes a sinister turn. Why are dead scarab beetles found after each disappearance? Do the strange markings on a gravestone really spell out an ancient Egyptian curse? And what about Max, the Pit Bull with a murky past, who seems to be hiding secrets of his own...can Honey risk everything and trust him or will it cost her the chance to save the puppies?

Perfect for fans of animal fiction, dog stories and classic mystery series like Nancy Drew and the Famous Five. Kids & dog lovers of all ages will enjoy this action-packed mystery filled with suspense and humour!

Moonbeam Children's Book Awards 2014 - GOLD Medal Winner
Children's Literary Classics Book Awards 2014 - GOLD Medal Winner
Readers' Favorite International Book Awards 2014 - SILVER Medal Winner
The Wishing Shelf Independent Children's Book Awards 2013 - Finalist

Collect the other books in the series:
- A Secret in Time
- Big Honey Dog Mysteries HOLIDAY COLLECTION

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2353 KB
  • Print Length: 243 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Wisheart Press; 2 edition (6 December 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00EWNHDX8
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #343,063 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

click to open popover

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top customer reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
this book contains a great and exiting rush of adrenelin about a amazing mystery were puppies that are under 16 weeks are disappearing.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 4.8 out of 5 stars 117 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing 18 September 2016
By moderatelymoderate - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Disappointing. Has a few good points, like not judging a dog by its breed, but introduces some problems. First, where are there full-time dog catchers these days? Budget cuts have made animal control hard to be able to use, even when a wild dog does frequent damage. And making the man cruel to animals is reinforcing a bogus stereotype. And the story could foster a fear of insects in young readers. The scarab beetle isn't the killer the story pictures And of course the main problem is that not only do the dogs talk, they can read and do subtraction.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great bedtime reading 30 March 2014
By Mathochist - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
My partners and I like to read books to each other at bedtime, and we often choose books aimed at juvenile readers (or "young adults"). This one was just perfect. We enjoyed it very much, and look forward to starting on the next one in the series as well.

The central theme of the book is, of course, the rescue of the puppies that have gone missing. But an important secondary theme is prejudice. By the end of the story, many of the characters learn that their breed-based negative assumptions were far from true.

The author of these books lives in Australia, so expect to see some British-style spellings, phrases, and cultural references. She has included a glossary of British terms used in the second book ("A Secret In Time"), which will be especially helpful for American children.

One small word of caution (and a couple small <SPOILER> s): There is a little bit of violence, and in particular one scene that we found a little disturbing to read. In this scene, a cruel man at a dog shelter abuses one of the dogs in the story. Most readers over age 9 (the age this book is aimed at) should be able to handle it, and the vast majority of the book is not like that. There is also one noble death, and some reference to the cruel realities of one dog's past, when he was forced by humans to fight. But there is only that one scene that directly portrays pointless, cruel violence. If you are reading the book to a younger (and/or more sensitive) child, you might just want to skip that bit.
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read for Fans of Mysteries or Dog Stories 3 September 2013
By LazyDane - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is a wonderful "tail" of suspense featuring a charming cast of characters and an intriguing mystery. All of the dogs are beautifully drawn, especially the puppy, Bean, who perfectly captures the clumsy boisterousness of a young Great Dane. I found the Egyptian theme of the central mystery particularly appealing and I couldn't wait to find out how everything would be resolved.

Adults and children alike will enjoy this story. The plot is detailed enough to hold an adult's attention and the characters and situations are humorous enough to engage a child. Some scenes are a little intense, but no more so than in a lot of children's literature these days! The story reads like a cross between Rita Mae Brown's "Ms. Murphy" series and "Bunnicula".

H. Y. Hanna has given her main character, Honey, an earnest, sincere voice and personality that will ring true to any dog lover. I can't wait to see more books in this series!!
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Tweens Mystery 11 May 2017
By Naomi - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
I'd recommend this mystery for young readers of about 10-12, although older children and adults who love dogs and aren't put off by the paranormal or anthropomorphism will enjoy it as well. The story unfolds through the eyes of the dogs themselves. As dogs do, they all have distinct personalities. I would swear the author based one of the characters on my own dog.
5.0 out of 5 stars Hi. I read this book and I'll tell you about how totally EPIC it was! 5 November 2013
By Anna Erishkigal - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
I purchased this book for my 11-year-old daughter to read. She is a 'warriors' fan who has read through all those series, sub-series, sub-sub-series, you get the idea. This book seemed like it would hit that nice 'sweet spot' to get her to read instead of watching television. Since she is articulate enough to speak for herself, I will let -her- tell you what she thought of it:

************
Review from Catherine:

Hi. I read this book and I'll tell you about how totally EPIC it was!

I'm just saying... I don't think that you should have let what happened to Max, until the end of the series!

Don't look at me! I'm not telling you what happens to Max, or even who max is!

I gave this book a 5 star rating because it was worth reading!

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?