<Embed>
$15.17
  • RRP: $19.99 Details

    Recommended Retail Price (RRP)

    The RRP displayed is the most recent manufacturer’s recommended retail price made available to Amazon AU.
  • You Save: $4.82 (24%)
FREE Delivery on first order. Details
Only 2 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon AU.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$20.26
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Cry Paperback – 28 September 2013

4.1 out of 5 stars 577 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback, 28 September 2013
$15.17
$15.17
Arrives: 4 - 11 Dec
Fastest delivery: Wednesday, 9 Dec

FREE expedited delivery and up to 50% off RRP on select top books.
Explore our selection of bestsellers, new releases, children's books, fiction, non-fiction, cookbooks and more. T&Cs apply. Shop now
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • The Cry
  • +
  • The Donor
  • +
  • The Exit
Total Price: $52.20
Buy the selected items together

Cyber Monday Sale - Deals you don't want to miss
Discover deals on Books and more. Shop now

Product details

  • Paperback : 320 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 0571287700
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0571287703
  • Dimensions : 12.6 x 1.9 x 19.8 cm
  • Publisher : Faber Paperback; Main edition (28 September 2013)
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.1 out of 5 stars 577 ratings

Product description

Review

'Astonishingly good. It is utterly harrowing, completely plausible, constantly nerve-shredding ... It plays on the deepest, darkest fears of all parents about their children, and embeds that everyday terror in a plot so up-to-the-minute that you'll swear it's been lifted from the pages of a newspaper ... The Cry is a remarkable novel - its devastating power all the stronger for its realistic rendering. Brilliant stuff.' Doug Johnstone, Independent on Sunday Exceptional ... this powerful noir tale is by turns devastating and uplifting. Chris Ewan, author of Safe House A book you find yourself greedily gulping down. Herald The harrowing plot keeps you gripped until the final, devastating revelation. Sunday Mirror In this very modern novel, which arrives at a startling conclusion, Fitzgerald manipulates our knowledge of earlier cases in which women have been wrongly accused. -- Joan Smith Sunday Times The Cry really is extraordinary. In a just universe, it will be [Helen FitzGerald's] Gone Girl moment. Read it at once. Steve Mosby 'Fitzgerald's punchy thriller fleshes out new circles of parental hell -- Emma Hagestadt Independent Brilliant ... 300 pages of taut, sharp, chilling and often laugh out loud funny genius. Lisa Jewell It is not until the final pages and after twist upon twist that we are finally given a punch in the stomach, an ending that still leaves a question. Did she or didn't she? Is she mad or not? You've got to read this inventive domestic drama to find out. Highly recommended, read it and then all her others, particularly The Donor. She is very special. lovereading.co.uk An incredible read. I couldn't put it down. A beautifully crafted, heartbreaking story. Lisa O'Donnell 'THE CRY is excellent; unsettling and filled with moral ambiguity. Go read her. Now.' Russel D McLean This book takes a nightmare scenario and wrings every last drop of suspense out of it. It's gut wrenching in places, heart breaking in others, a purely visceral experience like very few other crime novels I can think of ... The Cry has been packaged to appeal to fans of Sophie Hannah and Julia Crouch - those doyennes of domestic noir - and while FitzGerald's style is more streamlined, darker and earthier, I think those fans will do well to add her to their must-read lists. 2013 has already proved to be a strong year for psychological fiction but The Cry is without question the best yet. -- Eva Dolan Crime Fiction Lover 'Her finest book to date ... thriller writing of the very highest order. Big Issue Scotland 'Stunningly good.' Mark Edwards My favourite read of 2013 (so far - but I can't see it being beat). Luca Veste I loved it. It's beautifully written and absolutely heartrending. I loved every page and couldn't put the bloody thing down. James Carol What a book! Superb. Michael Malone

About the Author

Helen FitzGerald is one of thirteen children and grew up in Victoria, Australia. She now lives in Glasgow with her husband and two children. Helen has worked as a social worker for over ten years. She has published three previous novels with Faber: Dead Lovely, My Last Confession and The Donor.

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5
577 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

TOP 10 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 11 February 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 5 April 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 19 February 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 5 March 2018
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

C Knight
5.0 out of 5 stars You can’t handle the truth!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 October 2018
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
JRx
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 October 2018
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Mauve Peace
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read but written in a hurry
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 September 2020
Verified Purchase
Amazon Customer
4.0 out of 5 stars Mother and baby
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 April 2016
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Jessica B-T
2.0 out of 5 stars Wanted to like it but...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 December 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse