Buying Options

Kindle Price: $5.39
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
The Cry by [FitzGerald, Helen]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Cry Kindle Edition

3.6 out of 5 stars 33 customer reviews

See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$5.39

Length: 320 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $2.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

Product description

Review

'Astonishingly good. It is utterly harrowing, completely plausible, constantly nerve-shredding ... It plays on the deepest, darkest fears of all parents about their children, and embeds that everyday terror in a plot so up-to-the-minute that you'll swear it's been lifted from the pages of a newspaper ... The Cry is a remarkable novel - its devastating power all the stronger for its realistic rendering. Brilliant stuff.' Doug Johnstone, Independent on Sunday Exceptional ... this powerful noir tale is by turns devastating and uplifting. Chris Ewan, author of Safe House A book you find yourself greedily gulping down. Herald The harrowing plot keeps you gripped until the final, devastating revelation. Sunday Mirror In this very modern novel, which arrives at a startling conclusion, Fitzgerald manipulates our knowledge of earlier cases in which women have been wrongly accused. -- Joan Smith Sunday Times The Cry really is extraordinary. In a just universe, it will be [Helen FitzGerald's] Gone Girl moment. Read it at once. Steve Mosby 'Fitzgerald's punchy thriller fleshes out new circles of parental hell -- Emma Hagestadt Independent Brilliant ... 300 pages of taut, sharp, chilling and often laugh out loud funny genius. Lisa Jewell It is not until the final pages and after twist upon twist that we are finally given a punch in the stomach, an ending that still leaves a question. Did she or didn't she? Is she mad or not? You've got to read this inventive domestic drama to find out. Highly recommended, read it and then all her others, particularly The Donor. She is very special. lovereading.co.uk An incredible read. I couldn't put it down. A beautifully crafted, heartbreaking story. Lisa O'Donnell 'THE CRY is excellent; unsettling and filled with moral ambiguity. Go read her. Now.' Russel D McLean This book takes a nightmare scenario and wrings every last drop of suspense out of it. It's gut wrenching in places, heart breaking in others, a purely visceral experience like very few other crime novels I can think of ... The Cry has been packaged to appeal to fans of Sophie Hannah and Julia Crouch - those doyennes of domestic noir - and while FitzGerald's style is more streamlined, darker and earthier, I think those fans will do well to add her to their must-read lists. 2013 has already proved to be a strong year for psychological fiction but The Cry is without question the best yet. -- Eva Dolan Crime Fiction Lover 'Her finest book to date ... thriller writing of the very highest order. Big Issue Scotland 'Stunningly good.' Mark Edwards My favourite read of 2013 (so far - but I can't see it being beat). Luca Veste I loved it. It's beautifully written and absolutely heartrending. I loved every page and couldn't put the bloody thing down. James Carol What a book! Superb. Michael Malone

Book Description

Now a major televisions series starring Jenna Coleman and Ewen Leslie, The Cry by Helen Fitzgerald brings a parent's worst nightmare to vivid life.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1080 KB
  • Print Length: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber; Main edition (27 August 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00DAJ5AEY
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.6 out of 5 stars 33 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #1,797 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

click to open popover

33 customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

16 May 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
19 February 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
5 March 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
13 April 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
30 January 2015
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWER
4 July 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
18 December 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
1 April 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?