Buy new:
$31.68
$2.99 delivery: 16 - 26 July
In stock.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Book Outlet Canada
Sold by Book Outlet Canada
Ships from
Book Outlet Canada
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$40.85
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
Sold by: Book Depository UK
(32225 ratings)
93% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
$47.48
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: PBShopUK-au TRACKED
Sold by: PBShopUK-au TRACKED
(1458 ratings)
89% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Cruel as the Grave: 22 Hardcover – 30 November 2020

4.7 out of 5 stars 150 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$31.68
$31.68

Enhance your purchase

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Frequently bought together

  • Cruel as the Grave: 22
  • +
  • A Fatal Lie: A Novel: 23
  • +
  • An Extravagant Death: A Charles Lenox Mystery
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items ship sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

AUDIBLE FREE TRIAL
Includes your first audiobook free, a bonus book selected by our editors, unlimited access to exclusive podcasts and more. $16.45/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime. Learn more >

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Canongate Books Ltd; Main ed. edition (30 November 2020)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 256 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0727890859
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0727890856
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 14.48 x 2.29 x 21.59 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 150 ratings

Product description

Review

A cracking police procedural ... Another sterling entry in a truly outstanding series-- "Booklist Starred Review of Old Bones"

A witty, thoughtful mystery ... Fans of Deborah Crombie's 'Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James' series will be moved by this carefully constructed tale-- "Library Journal Starred Review of Headlong"

Dialogue sparkling with wit and humor ... An immensely enjoyable ride through London and its publishing world in the company of thoroughly relatable characters. Readers will wish for Slider's career to continue for many years to come-- "Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Headlong"

Harrod-Eagles' latest DCI Bill Slider novel brings the series to a new level, with one of Slider's most challenging and unusual cases to date ... An outstanding mix of hard-boiled action and interpersonal give-and-take, perfect for those who like something a bit different from the standard police procedural-- "Booklist Starred Review"

Highly entertaining ... Harrod-Eagles shows once again why this series ranks high among contemporary British police procedurals-- "Publishers Weekly on Shadow Play"

While the investigation itself makes for an attention-grabbing read, it's Harrod-Eagles' deftly drawn characters and the sheer likability of Slider and his colleagues that provide the central appeal. As always, Harrod-Eagles salts the narrative with witty repartee, including a wealth of clever puns, all of which help make reading this particular book and the entire series such a treat-- "Booklist on Headlong"

"Sparkling dialogue complements a plot that provides satisfyingly shifting motives and persons of interest. However, it's Harrod-Eagles's ability to create authentic relationships between Slider and his colleagues and family that lifts this series into a league of its own ... This entry will garner new readers and delight loyal fans" - Publishers Weekly Starred Review

"A model no-frills British procedural, written with the author's cool confidence and lashes of humor" - Kirkus Reviews

From the Back Cover

CYNTHIA HARROD-EAGLES CRUEL AS THE GRAVE Fitness trainer Erik Lingoss is found dead in his west London flat, his head smashed by one of his own dumbbells. His heartlessly-dumped girlfriend, blood on her clothes and hands, is the prime suspect. She had means, opportunity, and motive. But is the case as clear-cut as it seems? Handsome Erik Lingoss had clients in high places; and he seemed to engender powerful emotions. If it was a crime of passion, there was plenty of that to go round: love strong as death, jealousy cruel as the grave. Who did he let in to his flat that evening? Where is his missing mobile phone? Why is seven hundred pounds in cash stuffed under his pillow? The deeper Slider and his team dig, the clearer it becomes there's far more to this case than meets the eye.

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
150 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 14 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

Helen19
3.0 out of 5 stars Not vintage Bill Slider...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 January 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Joan C
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 January 2021
Verified Purchase
Migs Jacques
5.0 out of 5 stars crime and humour
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 January 2021
Verified Purchase
COH
3.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight entry
Reviewed in the United States on 18 January 2021
Verified Purchase
peggyh
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Reviewed in the United States on 6 January 2021
Verified Purchase