You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $3.79
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
A Court of Thorns and Roses: The #1 bestselling series by [Sarah J. Maas]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


A Court of Thorns and Roses: The #1 bestselling series Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 12,683 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$3.79

Length: 433 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $3.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English
Age Level: 18 and up Grade Level: 9 - 12

Releases February 16, 2021. Pre-order How to Avoid a Climate Disaster now with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Order now

Product description

Book Description

Lose yourself in a land of legends, a fae world so sumptuous that you may never return home ... The tantalising start to a seductive high-fantasy trilogy from the New York Times bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas. Fans of Laini Taylor and George R.R. Martin will find it irresistible --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Review

"A gorgeously written tale as lush and romantic as it is ferocious. Absolutely spellbinding." --Alexandra Bracken, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author

"Simply dazzles. . . . the clamor for a sequel will be deafening. . . . Maas' Throne of Glass series has been a smash hit. . . this new series is primed to follow in its footsteps." --starred review, Booklist

"Readers will find the author's trademark blend of action, romance, and witty banter as well as a sexier, edgier tone. " --School Library Journal

"Sarah J. Maas delivers what may be her best work to date. . . . Enchanting, spellbinding and imaginative. . . . The world-building is stellar, as only Maas can imagine it." --USA Today

"Suspense, romance, intrigue and action. This is not a book to be missed!" --The Huffington Post

"[T]he sexual tension and deadly action are well-supported by Maas' expertly drawn, multidimensional characters and their nuanced interpersonal dynamics. . . . Sexy and romantic." --Kirkus Reviews

"Elements from 'Beauty and the Beast, ' 'East o' the Sun, West o' the Moon, ' the myth of Persephone, and the legend of Tamlin are seamlessly interwoven with clever allusions." --BCCB

"A dazzling world, complex characters and sizzling romance." --RT Book Reviews

"A well-developed world. . . . [Feyre's] grit and boundless loyalty demand that her foes--and readers--sit up and pay attention." --Publishers Weekly

I was afraid to put the book down! - Tamora Pierce, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author, on HEIR OF FIRE

The pages fly by. - Booklist on HEIR OF FIRE

Will leave readers ravenous for more. - Kirkus Reviews on HEIR OF FIRE

Readers will devour Maas's latest entry . . . A must-purchase. - School Library Journal on HEIR OF FIRE

An epic fantasy readers will immerse themselves in and never want to leave. - starred review, Kirkus Reviews on CROWN OF MIDNIGHT

Series fans . . . will be thrilled by the prospect of deepening adventures in the next volume. - Booklist on CROWN OF MIDNIGHT

A thrilling read. - starred review, Publishers Weekly on THRONE OF GLASS

A must-read for lovers of epic fantasy and fairy tales. - USA Today Happy Ever After on THRONE OF GLASS

Fans of Tamora Pierce and George R.R. Martin, pick up this book! - RT Book Reviews on THRONE OF GLASS

--This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • ASIN : B00R32ZP0I
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing; 1st edition (5 May 2015)
  • Language : English
  • File size : 7644 KB
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Screen Reader : Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Enabled
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print length : 433 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN : 1408857863
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 12,683 ratings
click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
12,683 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 16 August 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 23 February 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 26 October 2017
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 7 May 2017
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 13 February 2016
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 28 December 2020
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Letícia
5.0 out of 5 stars Edição fantástica!
Reviewed in Brazil on 9 June 2020
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Edição fantástica!
Reviewed in Brazil on 9 June 2020
Com certeza o livro mais bonito da minha estante! O primeiro livro da trilogia não é o melhor, nem de longe, mas quem é fã da Sarah e da trilogia precisa dele! Lindo demais, estou apaixonada!
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer imageCustomer image
46 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Anne Pruitt
2.0 out of 5 stars ACOTAR is nothing more than erotica
Reviewed in the United States on 14 November 2018
Verified Purchase
568 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Miss K. Southern
3.0 out of 5 stars It took me a lot longer to get through this one than I would have liked, mostly because despite the fact that I did ...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 January 2018
Verified Purchase
28 people found this helpful
Report abuse
jek
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 February 2018
Verified Purchase
16 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Tackfiction
4.0 out of 5 stars This one is good, the sequel is even better...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 September 2017
Verified Purchase
Customer image
4.0 out of 5 stars This one is good, the sequel is even better...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 September 2017
So, where do I begin?
This book has such a following its hard to really say anything that hasn’t already been said but I shall do my best.

The story starts off with a ‘Beauty and The Beast’ vibe that mingles with a Hunger Games-y, Cinderella-esque type main character and a super mysterious plot. However, it quickly develops into much more than that as we gradually discover more and more about the Faerie world and the creatures who inhabit it.

Something I liked about the plot (and something that seems to be a trend among YA fiction at the moment – see Caraval) was the way Mass played with the idea of truth. A Court of Thorns and Roses invites the reader to question a great deal of what we read on the page, making it both more unpredictable and more magical. In terms of ‘overall outcome’ the plot was fairly typical but this didn’t really take away from the story. The only part I found a little disappointing was the way the key romantic relationship shifts after about half-way through. I think I’ve guessed events in the sequel purely because later descriptions of the couple seem to indicate that Maas is no longer invested in it – it will be interesting to see how it all plays out. (I hope it plays out in a particular way) I totally ship Rhys – I’m not even ashamed. He’s so much more interesting than Tamlin.

I really enjoyed the way Maas made faeries so acutely unlike traditional ‘fairy’ images. The raw, animal nature of the Fae characters was fun to read and I liked the little canine and feline behavioural traits she used. Feyre’s character is still kind of growing on me though – I was disappointed that she was given quite so much help by male characters in later chapters, it really took away from the gender tropes the opening chapters challenged. The weak father and strong daughter juxtaposition paired with the female Mercenary was a good opener and I’d definitely like to read more about the briefly introduced mercenary.

Nesta, I think, actually proved to be one of the most intriguing characters and I’d really like to read more about her too. Don’t get me wrong, the faeries are cool and all, I just feel like her character was compelling and utterly human – and, really, there’s some magic in that too. She pulls a full 360 and goes from evil step-sister to loyal protector, a character arc I just really felt was worth mentioning. She’s so magically human that she defies magic, I hope Maas does something cool with her character.
“I’d never heard of a glamour not working. But Nesta’s mind was so entirely her own; she had put up such strong walls—of steel and iron and ash wood—that even a High Lord’s magic couldn’t pierce them.”
Another thing that disappointed me about this read, and perhaps the reason it doesn’t quite make it to four stars, was that I felt quite disconnected from the characters I was reading about. There are real gruesome and emotional events going on in this novel but few made my heart race and I didn’t cry – not even once. I’m not saying crying makes a book good but sad things did happen, it would’ve been a better book had I felt that in the writing. I really want to love this series and I’m hoping the second book lets me do that by just harnessing a little more emotion and tension.

In summary, this was an interesting story and kept me reading till the last page. Despite all the little niggles, I really did enjoy it and I’ll definitely be picking up the sequel with high hopes.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
17 people found this helpful
Report abuse