$5.61
  • RRP: $19.99 Details

    Recommended Retail Price (RRP)

    The RRP displayed is the most recent manufacturer’s recommended retail price made available to Amazon AU.
  • You Save: $14.38 (72%)
Only 2 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon AU.
<Embed>
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Convictions of John Delahunt Paperback – 15 October 2014

3.9 out of 5 stars 49 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$5.61
$5.61
FREE delivery: 10 - 11 March on first order.
Fastest delivery: Tuesday, 9 March

Save up to 50% off RRP on select top books
PLUS, free expedited delivery. T&C's apply. See more
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

  • Buy this item and get 90 days Free Amazon Music Unlimited. After purchase you will receive an email with further information. Offer valid for a limited time only. Terms and Conditions apply.” Learn more here.

Frequently bought together

  • The Convictions of John Delahunt
  • +
  • The Coroner's Daughter
Total Price: $28.64
Buy the selected items together

Save on selected Penguin Classics and Popular Penguin books.
View our selection and latest deals. Click to explore.

Product details

  • ASIN : 0552779415
  • Publisher : BLACK SWAN; 1st edition (15 October 2014)
  • Language : English
  • Paperback : 352 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 9780552779418
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0552779418
  • Dimensions : 12.7 x 2.2 x 19.8 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.9 out of 5 stars 49 ratings

Product description

Review

A quite exceptional novel . . . The world he creates has echoes of Kafka and Orwell . . . totally convincing. It draws you in like a trap. ― C. J. SANSOM, author of Dissolution and Winter in Madrid

Unputdownable . . . chillingly portrayed . . . a highly sophisticated first novel. ― CHARLES PALLISER, author of The Quincunx

Compelling and eerily authentic . . . Read it and be grateful to be alive in our day and age. ― ROBERT GODDARD

A dark, original story wrapped in a wonderful gothic gloom . . . it's a tough act to pull off, but Andrew Hughes manages it with brio. I heard echoes of James Hogg and Robert Louis Stevenson. ― ANDREW TAYLOR, author of The American Boy and The Scent of Death

Reminiscent of John Banville's The Book of Evidence . . . a bracing, lurid tale that is as engrossing as it is chilling. -- Declan Burke ― IRISH INDEPENDENT

A vivid piece of writing . . . brings to mind Andrew Miller’s Costa-winning novel, Pure. ― IRISH TIMES

Extraordinarily detailed world, impeccably researched . . . so superbly written that it soars as a masterly work of fiction . . . utterly compelling. -- Dermot Bolger ― IRISH MAIL ON SUNDAY

An intriguing debut (that) sets out Hughes as one to watch. ― SUNDAY TIMES IRELAND

A skilfully planned, elegantly written debut . . . a riveting read. ― SUNDAY INDEPENDENT

Stupendous: a brilliant achievement for a first novel, completely compelling and with a perfectly damaged central character. ― MANDA SCOTT

Book Description

Set in Dublin in the 1840s and based on the true story of the murder of a child, this dazzling literary debut - at once a historical novel and crime thriller - will appeal to fans of Andrew Taylor, Andrew Miller and Peter Ackroyd.

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5
49 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top review from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 10 April 2014

Top reviews from other countries

Clemens A. Schoonderwoert
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling and Stunning Debut!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 6 June 2015
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Willow
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, am very impressed!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 June 2014
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Norman Housley
4.0 out of 5 stars Admirably dense, atmospheric book, shame about the narrator
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 December 2015
Verified Purchase
Eva18
1.0 out of 5 stars Bleak, brutal and depressing tale.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 December 2019
Verified Purchase
Fnoonar
3.0 out of 5 stars The tale of a tell-tale
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 January 2015
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse