You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $12.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
The Convictions of John Delahunt by [Andrew Hughes]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Convictions of John Delahunt Kindle Edition

3.9 out of 5 stars 49 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99
Length: 352 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Language: English

Save up to 50% off RRP on select top books
PLUS, free expedited delivery. T&C's apply. See more

Product description

Review

A quite exceptional novel . . . The world he creates has echoes of Kafka and Orwell . . . totally convincing. It draws you in like a trap. ― C. J. SANSOM, author of Dissolution and Winter in Madrid

Unputdownable . . . chillingly portrayed . . . a highly sophisticated first novel. ― CHARLES PALLISER, author of The Quincunx

Compelling and eerily authentic . . . Read it and be grateful to be alive in our day and age. ― ROBERT GODDARD

A dark, original story wrapped in a wonderful gothic gloom . . . it's a tough act to pull off, but Andrew Hughes manages it with brio. I heard echoes of James Hogg and Robert Louis Stevenson. ― ANDREW TAYLOR, author of The American Boy and The Scent of Death

Reminiscent of John Banville's The Book of Evidence . . . a bracing, lurid tale that is as engrossing as it is chilling. -- Declan Burke ― IRISH INDEPENDENT

A vivid piece of writing . . . brings to mind Andrew Miller’s Costa-winning novel, Pure. ― IRISH TIMES

Extraordinarily detailed world, impeccably researched . . . so superbly written that it soars as a masterly work of fiction . . . utterly compelling. -- Dermot Bolger ― IRISH MAIL ON SUNDAY

An intriguing debut (that) sets out Hughes as one to watch. ― SUNDAY TIMES IRELAND

A skilfully planned, elegantly written debut . . . a riveting read. ― SUNDAY INDEPENDENT

Stupendous: a brilliant achievement for a first novel, completely compelling and with a perfectly damaged central character. ― MANDA SCOTT --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Book Description

Set in Dublin in the 1840s and based on the true story of the murder of a child, this dazzling literary debut - at once a historical novel and crime thriller - will appeal to fans of Andrew Taylor, Andrew Miller and Peter Ackroyd. --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • ASIN : B00EALI5SY
  • Publisher : Transworld Digital (12 September 2013)
  • Language : English
  • File size : 3053 KB
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Screen Reader : Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Not Enabled
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print length : 352 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.9 out of 5 stars 49 ratings
click to open popover

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5
49 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top review from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 10 April 2014

Top reviews from other countries

Clemens A. Schoonderwoert
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling and Stunning Debut!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 6 June 2015
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Willow
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, am very impressed!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 June 2014
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Norman Housley
4.0 out of 5 stars Admirably dense, atmospheric book, shame about the narrator
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 December 2015
Verified Purchase
Eva18
1.0 out of 5 stars Bleak, brutal and depressing tale.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 December 2019
Verified Purchase
Fnoonar
3.0 out of 5 stars The tale of a tell-tale
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 January 2015
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse