$32.17
Only 3 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon AU.
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$33.59
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Conversations with Friends Hardcover – 11 July 2017

4.0 out of 5 stars 7,147 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$32.17
$32.17
FREE delivery: 11 - 12 March on first order.
Fastest delivery: Tuesday, 9 March
Order within 19 hrs and 10 mins

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

  • Buy this item and get 90 days Free Amazon Music Unlimited. After purchase you will receive an email with further information. Offer valid for a limited time only. Terms and Conditions apply.” Learn more here.

Frequently bought together

  • Conversations with Friends
  • +
  • Normal People
  • +
  • Where the Crawdads Sing Deluxe Edition
Total Price: $68.70
Buy the selected items together

Save on selected Penguin Classics and Popular Penguin books.
View our selection and latest deals. Click to explore.

Product details

  • Publisher : Hogarth Press (11 July 2017)
  • Language : English
  • Hardcover : 320 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 0451499050
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0451499059
  • Dimensions : 14.73 x 2.54 x 21.84 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.0 out of 5 stars 7,147 ratings

Product description

Review

"Smart and perceptive."--Minneapolis Star-Tribune

"The self-deceptions of a new generation are at the core of Sally Rooney's debut, Conversations with Friends, which captures something wonderfully odd-cornered and real in the story of an Irish millennial."--Megan O'Grady, Vogue

"A bracing, miraculous debut."--The Millions

"Sally Rooney's debut novel is a remarkably charming exploration of that very uncharming subject: the human ego. . . . Conversations with Friends sparkles with controlled rhetoric. But it ends up emphasizing the truths exploding in the silences."--Slate

"Rooney's exploration of growing out of naïveté is true to life, sometimes painfully so, and anyone who has thrived on created drama, who has imagined higher stakes than exist, will see a bit of themselves."--BuzzFeed

"An insightful look at what it's like to be young, smart, and deeply confused about friendship and love . . . It's like an Ask Polly letter in the form of a novel, in the best possible way."--The Cut

"Rooney expertly captures what it's like to be young today: the conversations flow seamlessly from email to text message to unspoken glance, the sexual and creative confidence, the admiration for older men who write emails written in all lowercase. Her first person narrator, the twenty-one-year-old Frances, is a constant, careful observer, and yet Rooney leaves room for the reader to see all the things Frances herself does not."--The Paris Review

"In this searing, insightful debut, Rooney offers an unapologetic perspective on the vagaries of relationships . . . a treatise on married life, the impact of infidelity, the ramifications of one's actions, and how the person one chooses to be with can impact one's individuality. Throughout, Rooney's descriptive eye lends beauty and veracity to this complex and vivid story."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Readers who enjoyed Belinda McKeon's Tender and Caitriona Lally's Eggshells will enjoy this exceptional debut."--Library Journal (starred review)

"A smart, sexy, realistic portrayal of a woman finding herself."--Booklist (starred review)

"[Sally] Rooney has managed to take something old, the romance novel, and make it new: Frances is a bisexual communist student, allergic to expressing emotion, and her love affair is with a married man, and yet the book makes no attempt to make a moral stand on fidelity or punish its characters for their passions. The effect is, frankly, riveting, and creates a peculiar sensation of danger. An addictive read."--Rufi Thorpe, author of The Girls from Corona del Mar and Dear Fang, with Love

"Sally Rooney's writing is cool, wry, and smooth and gives the reader a sense of being in the lucky position of overhearing not only what fascinating strangers are talking about, but also what they're thinking. I was riveted 'til the last page."--Emily Gould, author of Friendship

About the Author

Sally Rooney was born in the west of Ireland in 1991. Her work has appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Times, Granta and The London Review of Books. Winner of the Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award, she is the author of Conversations with Friends. In 2019, she was named to the inaugural Time 100 Next list.

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4 out of 5
7,147 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 5 September 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 2 January 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 13 January 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 20 April 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 9 June 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 28 May 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 1 March 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 24 July 2020
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Adam K.
1.0 out of 5 stars Surely Some Mistake?
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 April 2019
Verified Purchase
272 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Molly
1.0 out of 5 stars The reviews on the cover are wrong
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 October 2018
Verified Purchase
213 people found this helpful
Report abuse
S. Gleeson
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible characters and storyline
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 January 2019
Verified Purchase
149 people found this helpful
Report abuse
P. G. Harris
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply human and humane
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 September 2018
Verified Purchase
120 people found this helpful
Report abuse
C Heath
2.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful writing, pedestrian story-telling
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 September 2018
Verified Purchase
68 people found this helpful
Report abuse