Buying Options

Kindle Price: $7.19
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Conversations with Friends by [Sally Rooney]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Conversations with Friends Kindle Edition

4.0 out of 5 stars 944 ratings

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$7.19
Audio CD, Audiobook

Length: 322 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $4.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Product description

Review

"Smart and perceptive."--Minneapolis Star-Tribune

"The self-deceptions of a new generation are at the core of Sally Rooney's debut, Conversations with Friends, which captures something wonderfully odd-cornered and real in the story of an Irish millennial."--Megan O'Grady, Vogue

"A bracing, miraculous debut."--The Millions

"Sally Rooney's debut novel is a remarkably charming exploration of that very uncharming subject: the human ego. . . . Conversations with Friends sparkles with controlled rhetoric. But it ends up emphasizing the truths exploding in the silences."--Slate

"Rooney's exploration of growing out of naïveté is true to life, sometimes painfully so, and anyone who has thrived on created drama, who has imagined higher stakes than exist, will see a bit of themselves."--BuzzFeed

"An insightful look at what it's like to be young, smart, and deeply confused about friendship and love . . . It's like an Ask Polly letter in the form of a novel, in the best possible way."--The Cut

"Rooney expertly captures what it's like to be young today: the conversations flow seamlessly from email to text message to unspoken glance, the sexual and creative confidence, the admiration for older men who write emails written in all lowercase. Her first person narrator, the twenty-one-year-old Frances, is a constant, careful observer, and yet Rooney leaves room for the reader to see all the things Frances herself does not."--The Paris Review

"In this searing, insightful debut, Rooney offers an unapologetic perspective on the vagaries of relationships . . . a treatise on married life, the impact of infidelity, the ramifications of one's actions, and how the person one chooses to be with can impact one's individuality. Throughout, Rooney's descriptive eye lends beauty and veracity to this complex and vivid story."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Readers who enjoyed Belinda McKeon's Tender and Caitriona Lally's Eggshells will enjoy this exceptional debut."--Library Journal (starred review)

"A smart, sexy, realistic portrayal of a woman finding herself."--Booklist (starred review)

"[Sally] Rooney has managed to take something old, the romance novel, and make it new: Frances is a bisexual communist student, allergic to expressing emotion, and her love affair is with a married man, and yet the book makes no attempt to make a moral stand on fidelity or punish its characters for their passions. The effect is, frankly, riveting, and creates a peculiar sensation of danger. An addictive read."--Rufi Thorpe, author of The Girls from Corona del Mar and Dear Fang, with Love

"Sally Rooney's writing is cool, wry, and smooth and gives the reader a sense of being in the lucky position of overhearing not only what fascinating strangers are talking about, but also what they're thinking. I was riveted 'til the last page."--Emily Gould, author of Friendship

About the Author

Sally Rooney was born in the west of Ireland in 1991. Her work has appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Times, Granta and The London Review of Books. Winner of the Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award, she is the author of Conversations with Friends. In 2019, she was named to the inaugural Time 100 Next list.

Product details

click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4 out of 5
944 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers
Reviewed in Australia on 5 September 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 2 January 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 13 January 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 20 April 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 1 March 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 28 May 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 11 May 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 3 July 2019
Verified Purchase

Top international reviews

Adam K.
1.0 out of 5 stars Surely Some Mistake?
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 April 2019
Verified Purchase
149 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Molly
1.0 out of 5 stars The reviews on the cover are wrong
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 October 2018
Verified Purchase
152 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
S. Gleeson
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible characters and storyline
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 January 2019
Verified Purchase
99 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
P. G. Harris
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply human and humane
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 September 2018
Verified Purchase
98 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
C Heath
2.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful writing, pedestrian story-telling
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 September 2018
Verified Purchase
58 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
madeleine davitt
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 October 2018
Verified Purchase
32 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Mr S. J. Watt
2.0 out of 5 stars Over-hyped and one dimensional
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 September 2018
Verified Purchase
29 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Toni Tonkin
2.0 out of 5 stars Overhyped but well written
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 May 2018
Verified Purchase
29 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Jessica M.
1.0 out of 5 stars Ho hum
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 December 2018
Verified Purchase
19 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Raficq Abdulla
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 July 2018
Verified Purchase
21 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Cleversaz
1.0 out of 5 stars So boring I'm giving up
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 March 2019
Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Lorena
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time and money
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 December 2018
Verified Purchase
16 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read but flawed and irritating characters
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 June 2018
Verified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Millie
1.0 out of 5 stars shame I have to give it one star
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 March 2019
Verified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Tessa McCourt
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a great conversation ....
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 September 2018
Verified Purchase
16 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse