Digital List Price: $15.39
Kindle Price: $8.60

Save $6.79 (44%)

includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Conversations with Friends by [Rooney, Sally]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Conversations with Friends Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$8.60

Length: 322 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $4.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Winter Sale
Choose from over 250 books on sale at up to 70% off. Sale ends on 31 August 2018 at 11:59 pm AEDT. Shop now

Product description

Review

Praise for Conversations with Friends

A Publishers Weekly Pick of the Week
Vogue's 10 Best Books of 2017
Slate's 10 Favorite Books of the Year
Elle.com's Best Books of the Year
The Cut's Best Books by Women

"A writer of rare confidence, with a lucid, exacting style... [O]ne wonderful aspect of Rooney's consistently wonderful novel is the fierce clarity with which she examines the self-delusion that so often festers alongside presumed self-knowledge... But Rooney's natural power is as a psychological portraitist. She is acute and sophisticated about the workings of innocence; the protagonist of this novel about growing up has no idea just how much of it she has left to do."
- The New Yorker

"Rooney has the gift of imbuing everyday life with a sense of high stakes...a novel of delicious frictions."
- New York Magazine

"I love debuts where you just can't believe that it was a debut... Conversations with Friends paints a nuanced, page-turning portrait of a whip-smart university student in the throes of an affair with an older married man."
- Zadie Smith, Elle

"The dialogue is superb, as are the insights about communicating in the age of electronic devices. Rooney has a magical ability to write scenes of such verisimilitude that even when little happens they're suspenseful."
- Curtis Sittenfeld, The Week

"Sharp, funny, thought-provoking . . . a really great portrait of two young women as they're figuring out how to be adults."
- Celeste Ng, "Late Night with Seth Meyers Podcast"

"This book. This book. I read it in one day. I hear I'm not alone."
- Sarah Jessica Parker (Instagram)

"The self-deceptions of a new generation are at the core of Sally Rooney's debut, Conversations With Friends (Hogarth), which captures something wonderfully odd-cornered and real in the story of an Irish millennial..."
- Megan O'Grady, Vogue's 10 Best Books of 2017

"[A] bracing, miraculous debut."
- The Millions

"Sally Rooney's debut novel is a remarkably charming exploration of that very uncharming subject: the human ego...Conversations With Friends sparkles with controlled rhetoric. But it ends up emphasizing the truths exploding in the silences."
- Slate

"Rooney's exploration of growing out of naïveté is true to life, sometimes painfully so, and anyone who has thrived on created drama, who has imagined higher stakes than exist, will see a bit of themselves."
- Buzzfeed, "24 Best Fiction Books of 2017"

"In this searing, insightful debut, Rooney offers an unapologetic perspective on the vagaries of relationships... a treatise on married life, the impact of infidelity, the ramifications of one's actions, and how the person one chooses to be with can impact one's individuality. Throughout, Rooney's descriptive eye lends beauty and veracity to this complex and vivid story."
- Publishers Weekly (starred)

"Readers who enjoyed Belinda McKeon's Tender and Caitriona Lally's Eggshells will enjoy this exceptional debut."
- Library Journal (starred)

"A smart, sexy, realistic portrayal of a woman finding herself."
- Booklist (starred)

"An astonishing assured debut."
- The Bookseller

"The book of the summer...the wider issues underscoring her book - including race, sex and gender - which in her careful treatment, emerge far more complex and often funnier, than we could have ever imagined."
- Refinery29

"A very funny, very humanly messy tale of sexual and artistic self-discovery in which every page reveals shrewd emotional insight. Caught between laser-eyed irony and heart-melting sincerity, the book is a masterclass in narrative tone that left me desperate to read whatever Rooney writes next... ​An addictive, funny and truthful first novel about love and literature​.​"
- Metro

"[Sally] Rooney has managed to take something old, the romance novel, and make it new: Frances is a bisexual communist student, allergic to expressing emotion, and her love affair is with a married man, and yet the book makes no attempt to make a moral stand on fidelity or punish its characters for their passions. The effect is, frankly, riveting, and creates a peculiar sensation of danger...An addictive read."
- Rufi Thorpe, author of The Girls From Corona del Mar and Dear Fang, With Love

"Sally Rooney's writing is cool, wry and smooth, and gives the reader a sense of being in the lucky position of overhearing not only what fascinating strangers are talking about, but also what they're thinking. I was riveted til the last page."
- Emily Gould, author of Friendship

"Fascinating, ferocious and shrewd. Sally Rooney has the sharpest eye for all of the most delicate cruelties of human interaction."
- Lisa McInerney, author of The Glorious Heresies (winner of the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction)

"[Sally] Rooney captures the mood and voice of contemporary women and their interpersonal connections and concerns without being remotely predictable...A clever and current book about a complicated woman and her romantic relationships."
- Kirkus

"Rooney writes so well of the condition of being a young, gifted but self-destructive woman, both the mentality and physicality of it. She is alert to the invisible bars imprisoning the apparently free. Though herself young - she was born in 1991 - she has already been shortlisted for this year's Sunday Times EFG short story award. Her hyperarticulate characters may fail to communicate their fragile selves, but Rooney does it for them in a voice distinctively her own."
- The Guardian

"A novelist to watch: An addictive debut, with nods to Tender is the Night, heralds a bright new talent."
- Sunday Times

"A contemporary love story so powerful, graceful and honest it left me reeling. [Conversations with Friends] is, by turns, astonishing, heart-rending and perfect; there's not a word out of place."
- Luke Kennard, author of The Transition

"Sally Rooney is a writer going all the way to the top. Conversations with Friends features the 21st century, Irish descendents of Salinger's guileless wiseasses brought to life in prose as taut and coolly poised as early Bret Easton Ellis."
- Colin Barrett, author of Young Skins

"There's not a beat out of place in Sally Rooney's astonishingly poised writing. Conversations with Friends is the most sophisticated and perceptive novel I've read about relationships in the 2010s."
- Gavin Corbett, author of This Is The Way and Green Glowing Skull

"Written with such precision and perceptiveness, full of arid humour and reckless despair, a novel of spine-tingling salience."
- Sara Baume, author of Spill Simmer Falter Wither and winner of the 2015 Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize

Product Description

WINNER OF THE SUNDAY TIMES / PFD YOUNG WRITER OF THE YEAR
SHORTLISTED FOR THE KERRY GROUP IRISH NOVEL OF THE YEAR 2018
SHORTLISTED FOR THE DESMOND ELLIOT PRIZE 2018
SHORTLISTED FOR THE RATHBONES FOLIO PRIZE 2018
A SUNDAY TIMES, OBSERVER AND TELEGRAPH BOOK OF THE YEAR

Frances is twenty-one years old, cool-headed and darkly observant. A college student in Dublin and aspiring writer, she works at a literary agency by day. At night, she performs spoken word with her best friend Bobbi, who used to be her girlfriend. When they are profiled by Melissa, a well-known journalist, they enter an exotic orbit of beautiful houses, raucous dinner parties and holidays in Provence.

Initially unimpressed, Frances finds herself embroiled in a risky ménage a quatre when she begins an affair with Nick, Melissa's actor husband. Desperate to reconcile herself to the desires and vulnerabilities of her body, Frances's intellectual certainties begin to yield to something new - a painful and disorienting way of living from moment to moment. But as Frances tries to keep control, her relationships increasingly unspool: with Nick, with her difficult and unhappy father, and finally even with Bobbi.

Written with rare precision and probing intelligence, Conversations with Friends is exquisitely alive to the pleasures and inhibitions of youth.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 374 KB
  • Print Length: 322 pages
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber (25 May 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B06XRYXP14
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #26,039 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

click to open popover

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 2 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

2 January 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
10 April 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3.6 out of 5 stars 81 reviews
Sarah Bethany
5.0 out of 5 starsReally enjoyed it, and a stunning accomplishment!
4 December 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful.
Jennifer Roup
5.0 out of 5 starsRecommended by Sarah Jessica Parker
17 March 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful.
Russell Streshly
3.0 out of 5 starsRough Roads
12 August 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful.
PJH
4.0 out of 5 starsI thoroughly enjoyed it. As a more general overview of early ...
28 October 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
gambrelle k. snyder
3.0 out of 5 starsNot a feel good read...
13 January 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?