$21.51
This item will be released on July 28, 2021.
Pre-order now.
Ships from and sold by Amazon AU.
<Embed>
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Color Of Air: A Novel Paperback – 28 July 2021

4.2 out of 5 stars 392 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$21.51
$21.51
Pre-order Price Guarantee. Details
FREE delivery on first order.

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Special offers and product promotions

  • Pre-order Price Guarantee! Order now and if the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Offered by Amazon AU. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)
  • Buy this item and get 90 days Free Amazon Music Unlimited. After purchase you will receive an email with further information. Offer valid for a limited time only. Terms and Conditions apply.” Learn more here.

AUDIBLE FREE TRIAL
Includes your first audiobook free, a bonus book selected by our editors, unlimited access to exclusive podcasts and more. $16.45/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime. Learn more >

Product details

  • Publisher : HarperVia US (28 July 2021)
  • Language : English
  • Paperback : 320 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 0062976206
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0062976208
  • Dimensions : 13.49 x 1.83 x 20.32 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 392 ratings

Product description

Review

"Through tragedy and joy, Tsukiyama crafts characters whose reliance on each other is their greatest strength, with many strong women leading the way. The dialogue flows easily, and the landscape is rendered with such vibrance that the reader will become fully immersed in the sensory details. Well-paced and lush, this is a captivating historical novel that shows the power of love and human resilience."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Writing with supple and entrancing grace, Tsukiyama has each of her caring, charismatic characters share their memories and heartaches.....Tsukiyama also evokes the wild, opulent beauty of the island, the harsh lives of migrant workers, racist and domestic violence, mystical connections, the repercussions of a love triangle, and the tolls of age. As the volcano erupts, long buried secrets and guilt surge to seismic effect. Tsukiyama's dramatic yet discerningly congenial novel confronts the precariousness of existence and celebrates the healing power of generosity and love." --Booklist (starred review)

In The Color of Air, Tsukiyama has created a community with characters who meet difficulties and persist with grace and endurance; whose dependence on one another is, in fact, their greatest strength. A rich historical novel that illustrates why connection is more important and more vital than ever." --Lisa See, New York Times bestselling author of The Island of Sea Women and The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane

"Lushly written, this is a story of family ties, immigration, resilience and home." --Ms. magazine

Rich with sensuous detail of island life....In this sumptuous novel, a Depression-era sugar plantation community faces a threatening volcano in the lush seaside town of Hilo, Hawai'i. --Shelf Awareness

Tsukiyama's rich and beautifully written exploration of the uncertainty of life and the power of community has timeless appeal.--Publishers Weekly

With a piercing and authentic sense of place, Gail Tsukiyama brings to life a group of ordinary Japanese/Hawaiians with intertwined lives that are filled with love, passion, empathy, wisdom, and joy. Life is hard, but it is not hopeless and in the shadow of the volcano Mauna Loa, unforgettable individuals--drawn by the author with tenderness and in vivid detail--contend with the pain and confusion of the past and the fleeting moments of happiness in the present, letting go of both pain and fear in order to meet the future.--Elizabeth George, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"The Color of Air is quintessential Tsukiyama, generous in spirit, gorgeously written, and full of secrets and surprises. Every character in this ensemble novel is as compelling and appealing as the next and together they lead the reader into the beating heart of this tight-knit community. A stupendous work."--Karen Joy Fowler, New York Times bestselling author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves and Winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award

"Readers in search of stories about the complexity of fellowship, and how it is made and unmade over time, will find much to admire in Tsukiyama's lush novel."--San Francisco Chronicle

"An intoxicating blend of historical events and fiction, The Color of Air is a richly rewarding reading experience perfect for fans of Lisa See or Isabel Allende, or anyone looking for a magical love story that transcends time."--BookPage

About the Author

Gail Tsukiyama was born in San Francisco, California to a Chinese mother from Hong Kong and a Japanese father from Hawaii. She attended San Francisco State University where she received both her Bachelor of Arts Degree and a Master of Arts Degree in English. She is the bestselling author of Women of the Silk and The Samurai's Garden, as well as the recipient of the Academy of American Poets Award and the PEN Oakland/Josephine Miles Literary Award. She divides her time between El Cerrito and Napa Valley, California.

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
392 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

D.M.
2.0 out of 5 stars Astonishingly careless about Hilo and its history
Reviewed in the United States on 3 September 2020
Verified Purchase
56 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Frances H. Kakugawa
2.0 out of 5 stars A Disappointment
Reviewed in the United States on 23 August 2020
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't hesitate!
Reviewed in the United States on 4 August 2020
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Kerri S. White
4.0 out of 5 stars Great recommendation
Reviewed in the United States on 12 July 2020
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
ibuystuff
5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative, transporting historical novel
Reviewed in the United States on 10 July 2020
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse