You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Kindle Price: $1.29
includes tax, if applicable
Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
The Candidate's Daughter: A Gripping Thriller (An Elizabeth McClaine Thriller Book 1) by [Lea, Catherine]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Candidate's Daughter: A Gripping Thriller (An Elizabeth McClaine Thriller Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 11 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$1.29

Length: 353 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $2.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English
  • Similar books to The Candidate's Daughter: A Gripping Thriller (An Elizabeth McClaine Thriller Book 1)

Kindle Monthly Deals
Kindle Monthly Deals
New deals each month starting at $1.49. Learn more

Product description

Review

"A thriller with heart." - Sara J. Henry, Anthony-award winning author of A COLD AND LONELY PLACE. "Absolutely spellbinding ... completely unputdownable." - Karen Dionne, internationally published author of BOILING POINT and FREEZING POINT. "...a cinematically-imagined ending that would do any Hollywood Blockbuster proud." - IndieHeart reviewer, Jill Nojack.

Product Description

She's six years old, Down Syndrome, and lost.

Only her kidnapper can save her.



The plan is simple: kidnap the daughter of Senate candidate Richard McClaine, take the money and run. Nobody gets hurt, the kid goes home alive.

Twenty-two-year-old car thief Kelsey Money thinks it's the worst scheme her boyfriend Matt and his drug-fueled brother have ever come up with. But Matt's the only one Kelsey's ever loved, the only one she's ever trusted.

Then she discovers the part she wasn’t told - that six-year-old Holly isn’t going home alive. So, Kelsey makes a decision. And some decisions can never be undone.

Elizabeth McClaine can't even tell the police what her daughter was wearing when she disappeared. Soon after Holly was born with Down Syndrome and a cleft palate, she was placed in the care of a nanny while her mother battled postpartum depression. But when Elizabeth learns the detective on the case has already failed one kidnapped child, she cannot fail hers.

The clock is ticking. Both women have twenty-four hours to find Holly because in twenty-five, she’ll be dead.

The Candidate's Daughter and its sequels Child of the State and A Stolen Woman are additions to the great action and character-driven mystery and suspense thrillers in the tradition of J.D. Robb, Faye Kellerman, and Mary Higgins Clark.

(Warning: Some language may offend)

What readers are saying about The Candidate's Daughter


"Absolutely spellbinding ... completely unputdownable." - Karen Dionne, author of THE MARSH KING'S DAUGHTER.

"A terrific ticking-clock thriller."

"...political suspense of the best kind."

"...makes you want to stop and read it all over again."


Start reading today!



A Word from the Author


First of all, thank you for your interest in my books. You’ll find in many of my books, I include characters with intellectual or physical challenges. Added to this, I wanted to write twisty crime thrillers with complex characters and surprise endings, so I created the Elizabeth McClaine thriller series.

So, who is Elizabeth McClaine?


Strong-minded Elizabeth uses her connections to the local government in her home town of Cleveland, Ohio to find justice for those who need it. The stories involve kidnappings and heists, corporate greed and murders and storylines that will keep the pages turning onto the wee hours.

What gives these stories heart?


Real, believable characters from Elizabeth herself to Holly, the cherished only daughter born with Down syndrome. Having loved and cared for a disabled daughter myself, I know the joy and the challenges caring for and loving a disabled child can bring. Therefore, from book #1, Holly brings Elizabeth a real sense of purpose and a desire to help those in need.
The books in the series are sequential, but each is a standalone, so you can read them out of order.

The Elizabeth McClaine Series so far Includes:


BOOK #1: THE CANDIDATE’S DAUGHTER
BOOK #2: CHILD OF THE STATE
BOOK #3 A STOLEN WOMAN
THE ELIZABETH MCCLAINE BOX SET OF THRILLERS

Standalone Titles by Catherine Lea


LAST SEEN LEAVING – A THRILLER
DROPPING DEAD IN DELBY RISH – A VERY BRITISH MURDER MYSTERY (Satire)
THE CONTESTANT – A SERIAL KILLER THRILLER
If you have any questions, you’ll find my page on Goodreads.
Again, my most heartfelt thanks for your interest,
Catherine

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1648 KB
  • Print Length: 353 pages
  • Publisher: Brakelight Press; 1 edition (31 January 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Australia Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00D3DDNJQ
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 11 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #5,354 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?


11 customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

TOP 50 REVIEWER
29 November 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
21 February 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
22 February 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
9 February 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
14 November 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
14 November 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
13 November 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
17 November 2013
Format: Kindle Edition

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?