$39.25
+ $3.00 Delivery
In stock.
Ships from and sold by RarewavesUSA.
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$42.26
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Blackwell UK Ltd
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha) Hardcover – 6 March 2018

4.7 out of 5 stars 7,976 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover, 6 March 2018
$39.25
$32.48
Digital
Arrives: 8 - 12 March

Releases February 16, 2021. Pre-order How to Avoid a Climate Disaster now with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Order now
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

  • Buy this item and get 90 days Free Amazon Music Unlimited. After purchase you will receive an email with further information. Offer valid for a limited time only. Terms and Conditions apply.” Learn more here.

Frequently bought together

  • Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha)
  • +
  • Marrow Thieves
  • +
  • The Hate U Give
Total Price: $89.19
Buy the selected items together

Releases March 2, 2021. Pre-order Beyond Order: 12 More Rules for Life now with Pre-order Price Guarantee.
If the Amazon.com.au price decreases between your order time and the end of the day of the release date, you'll receive the lowest price. Order now

Product details

  • Publisher : Adeyemi, Tomi (6 March 2018)
  • Language : English
  • Hardcover : 544 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1250170974
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1250170972
  • Reading age : 14 - 18 years
  • Dimensions : 16.26 x 4.76 x 23.77 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 7,976 ratings

Product description

Review

New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018
TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018
NPR's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List
Bustle's Top 25 Best Young Adults Books of 2018
2018 Kirkus Prize Finalist
Paste Magazine's 30 Best YA Novels of 2018
Newsweek's 61 Best Books from 2018
Boston Globe's Best Children's Books of 2018
Publishers Weekly Best YA Books of 2018
School Library Journal Best Books of 2018
Chicago Public Library Best Books of 2018
New York Public Library Top Ten Showstopper Favorite of 2018 (Notable 100 Books for Kids)
A TAYSHAS 2019 Reading List Pick
2019 YALSA Best Fiction Pick
2019 YALSA Teen's Top Ten List

"A magnificent, heartrending, earthshaking debut." --New York Times-bestselling author Daniel José Older

High stakes, a captivating fantasy landscape, and a brave heroine worth rooting for make Children of Blood and Bone unlike anything I've ever read. --Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling co-author of Beautiful Creatures and author of The Lovely Reckless

Powerful, captivating, and raw--Adeyemi is a talent to watch. Exceptional. --Kirkus, Starred Review

Adeyemi's devastating debut is a brutal, beautiful tale of revolution, faith, and star-crossed love. --Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

... Adeyemi keeps it fresh with an all-black cast of characters, a meaningful emphasis on fighting for justice, a complex heroine saving her own people, and a brand of magic made more powerful by the strength of heritage and ancestry. Perfect for fans of the expansive fantasy worlds of Leigh Bardugo, Daniel Jose´ Older, and Sabaa Tahir. --Booklist, Starred Review

...A refreshing YA fantasy with an all-West African cast of characters that should be on every shelf. --School Library Journal, Starred Review

This is an exceptional debut from the author and will have a huge audience desperately waiting for more. Children of Blood and Bone is perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Nancy Farmer, and Angie Thomas. --VOYA, Starred Review

Nigerian culture and geography... give this fantasy a distinct flavor, further distinguished by the intensity of emotion. --Horn Book

"Meet Tomi Adeyemi--the new J.K. Rowling. (Yep, she's that good)." --Entertainment Weekly

"Poses thought-provoking questions about race, class and authority that hold up a warning mirror to our sharply divided society." -The New York Times

"A fast-paced, excellently crafted hero's journey...populated with compelling and nuanced black characters." -NPR

"A debut novel that is nearly impossible to put down."-USA Today

"Adeyemi's writing is beautiful and immersive." -Tor.com

"A miraculous achievement." -The Guardian

About the Author

Named one of TIME magazine's 100 most influential people, Tomi Adeyemi is a Hugo and Nebula Award-winning Nigerian-American writer and storyteller based in Los Angeles, CA. After graduating from Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she studied West African mythology, religion, and culture in Salvador, Brazil. Her first novel, Children of Blood and Bone, debuted at #1 on The New York Times Bestseller list and is being developed into a movie by Disney's Fox & Lucasfilm. Its highly anticipated sequel, Children of Virtue and Vengeance, also debuted at #1 on the New York Times Bestseller list. When she's not working or playing with puppies, Tomi can be found teaching creative writing at thewritersroadmap.net. In 2020, she was named one of Forbes 30 Under 30 in Media, and her website has been named one of the 101 best websites for writers by Writer's Digest.

From the Publisher

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
7,976 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

Reviewed in Australia on 26 July 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 21 August 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 17 July 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 14 November 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 16 August 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 21 March 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 2 April 2019
Reviewed in Australia on 1 June 2018

Top reviews from other countries

Arkham Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing start to the series
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 March 2018
Verified Purchase
44 people found this helpful
Report abuse
gizmo91
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, deeply involving and magical novel.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 March 2018
Verified Purchase
24 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Harmony Kent
5.0 out of 5 stars Most compelling book I've read in years
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 July 2018
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Muse
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of those books that gets better and better as you keep on reading.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 October 2018
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome approach to Afro-mysticism; a must-read!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 August 2018
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome approach to Afro-mysticism; a must-read!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 August 2018
The story follows a young girl: Zélie. She is haunted by the murder of her mother and the subjugation of her Reaper clan - one of the ten Maji clans oppressed by the ruling class of Orïsha. Circumstances see her journeying and fighting alongside her brother and an escaped princess to restore magic to the land and allow her clan and the nine other Maji clans in the land, a fighting chance. In this story, the ruling class of Orïsha can be seen as a metaphor for oppressive classes or races across the world, with the Reaper clan and other formerly magic clans being forced to live in slums, work as slaves and suffer abuse from corporal power.

As with many Young Adult novels, Children Of Blood And Bone is also love story—in the romantic and familial sense—as well as a story of self discovery. The added beauty of this narrative is its Afro-mysticism: a genre that is finally getting its deserved spotlight after existing off the fringes of literary discourse, and being conflated with magic-realism. In this Afro-mystical novel, the magical, in the African sense, is not othered as something from a scary, unknown, feared presence but, rather, portrayed as a gift from the deities. These deities are pointedly inspired by the Nigerian, Yoruba tradition.

In Yoruba tradition, children are named to reflect the circumstance of birth, or, as prophecy into their destinies. The names given to a child usually holds weight both on paper and when sounded out. In both reading and sounding out the names—particularly of the four central characters—I felt no depth. On the other hand, as a friend suggests, the ambiguity of the names could be seen as representative of the loss of and disdain for magic across Orïsha. In this sense, Zélie and Tzain’s names can be seen to reflect the new Maji existence under their tyrannical, magic-hating ruler, and displacement from their true identity. Though this perspective is equally valid, it is with one exception: the novel’s time frame.

That aside, it's a really good read that explores a good number of themes in a unique way. A must-read! Looking forward to the sequel: Children Of Virtue and Vengeance!
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse