You don't need to own a Kindle device to enjoy Kindle books. Download one of our FREE Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on all your devices.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Buying Options

Read this title for $0.00. Learn more
Read for $0.00
OR
Kindle Price: $7.91
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Bull Mountain by [Brian Panowich]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Bull Mountain Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 638 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$7.91

Length: 306 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $3.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

60 Kindle Books for $2 each
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to $2 each. Learn more

Product description

Review

Praise for Bull Mountain
[Brian Panowich] pulls off [a] daunting undertaking with astounding success . . . The storytelling is mesmerizing, with virtually every chapter set in a different timeline and focused on a single character, but the sense of immediacy carries over into each era. And while the violence is shocking in its coldhearted brutality, it s as aesthetically choreographed as any ballet. Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review
Panowich has crafted a satisfying and smartly constructed book whose time-shifting sequences build suspense even as they parcel out telling revelations. Once events are in full play, there s no turning back. The Wall Street Journal
[Panowich storms] onto the scene with an epic southern tale that establishes him as a new voice for southern writers. . . . An unabashed literary page-turner, Bull Mountain, takes readers along for a ride full of well timed twists and turns, and the shocking family secret that causes the inevitable climax. . . . one of the best multi-generational family sagas in years. Huffington Post
You d be hard pressed to believe Bull Mountain is the work of a debut author. What Panowich puts together is more than a history of family, but a chronology of the violence perpetrated for nearly a century in maintaining an empire built on bootleg hooch and drugs not in the name of power, women, or money, but of home. . . .Panowich s Southern grit is stubborn and gets into every crevice . . . he tears apart the hardened, Southern man so popular in rural noir. Even more, he does so while maintaining that those characters have a moral, human center. The Los Angeles Review of Books
A brilliant debut novel . . . extraordinary. Atlanta Magazine
Dazzling . . . Panowich tells his story in lengthy, nicely worked chapters reminiscent of John Steinbeck, who did his own brother-versus-brother story in East of Eden. Both write in a flowing, textured, understated style that is such a pleasure to read we don t realize we re being set up for a series of uppercuts. They come in revelations accompanied by gunfire. Read and recommend to anyone who follows country noir or savors delicious prose. Booklist (starred review)
Panowich plants his Bull Mountain squarely on those same shelves among the classic works of Daniel Woodrell, Larry Brown and James Lee Burke. It's that good. . . . A worthy addition to the growing canon of dope and deadbeat Southern "country noir." Shelf Awareness
Prose as punchy as rapid-aged whiskey. Esquire
Part Dashiell Hammett, part Hamlet...The story of a familial criminal empire embedded in the mountains of North Georgia, [Bull Mountain] is a book that never lets a complicated plot and structure get in the way of what, I believe, is Panowich s greatest gift the ability to build layered, authentic characters and the world in which they live. . . . Graceful prose, compelling characters, and a true sense of place [make this] gripping reading. Augusta Chronicle
The author delivers characters with depth, a lushly described setting, and an intergenerational battle between good and evil. After many twists and turns, the story ends with a welcome surprise. . . . His book will appeal to readers of Wiley Cash, Ron Rash, and Daniel Woodrell for the way in which it brings the landscape and culture of rural Appalachia to life. Library Journal
Hillbilly noir goes literary in [Bull Mountain] . . . Panowich deftly delves into "something deeper than bone" between fathers and sons, between the land and its people. Kirkus Reviews
Brian Panowich stamps words on the page as if they ve been blasted from the barrel of a shotgun, and as with a shotgun blast, no one is safe from the scattered fragments of history that impale the people of Bull Mountain. From a conflict born of violence and loyalty, Panowich brings us a cast of remarkable characters who are linked by blood but severed by duty. This is a wonderfully rich and evocative debut novel that is steeped in both the history of Appalachia and well aware of the current challenges it faces. Wiley Cash, New York Times-bestselling author of This Dark Road to Mercy
Brian Panowich had me at the first word of his spectacular debut novel, 'Family, ' and he held me until the very last page. Bull Mountain is a sprawling, gritty, violent, tribal inter-generational crime epic with a deeply rooted sense of place and an gut-punch ending I didn t see coming. Expect to see Bull Mountain on the short-list of many 'Best First Novel' awards. C. J. Box, New York Times-bestselling author of Endangered
Holy cow, what a book! It moves like a bullet. Mr. Panowich knows his mountains, his whiskey, his dope and his meth. And boy, does he know his characters, who are drawn sovividly I can't forget them. I can't recommend this novel enough it will thrill fans of Daniel Woodrell and Larry Brown as well as fans of Dennis Lehane and William Gay. First rate, first rate! Tom Franklin, New York Times-bestselling author of Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter
The gripping, witty Bull Mountain is not only a fine debut, but a fine mystery novel, period. Panowich may even have carved out his own subgenre of hillbilly noir. I can't wait to see what he comes up with next. John Connolly, New York Times-bestselling author of The Wolf in Winter
Bull Mountain is a stone gas and a stone winner! It s brother-versus-brother in the dope-damned South. This first novel has it all: moonshine, maryjane and mayhem! Read this book now and succumb to a startling new talent. James Ellroy, author of Perfidia
Bull Mountain is a stunningly polished debut novel. Panowich s tale of family, of land, of crimes large and small, of right and wrong, is so vivid that the reader can almost see the blood in the soil and smell the violence on the wind. Reed Farrel Coleman, New York Times-bestselling author of Robert B. Parker s Blind Spot
"The resurgence of American heartland noir gets a strong new prose soldier with Brian Panowich's debut novel Bull Mountain, a tense, multi-generational tale of life on the hard side, a cops vs. bad guys story with subtly interwoven family sagas, romance and redemption. Panowich is a rising author to watch." James Grady, author of Six Days of the Condor
"With echoes of Faulkner'sSanctuary and McCarthy'sNo Country for Old Men, Brian Panowich's debut novel is Cain and Abel for a sticky South. Strong as bootleg whiskey, smooth as the action of a well-oiled pistol, Bull Mountain is a beautiful, harrowing debut and so much fun, it ought to be against the law." Aaron Gwyn, author of Wynne's War
Dug into the landscape like a grave, Bull Mountain is a novel that resonates with a stirring combinationofgrace and brutality, of beauty and loss. In the Burroughs family, Brian Panowichcreates a clan with all the fire and depth of Faulkner s Henry Sutpen storming through a Steve Earle song. Steve Weddle, author of Country Hardball" --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

Brian Panowich was a touring musician for twelve years before settling in East Georgia with his family. He now works full-time as a firefighter. Bull Mountain is his first novel." --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Product details

  • ASIN : B00R4PUEE6
  • Publisher : Head of Zeus (16 July 2015)
  • Language: : English
  • File size : 1284 KB
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Enabled
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print length : 306 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 638 ratings
click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
638 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

TOP 100 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 2 December 2015
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
TOP 10 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 4 September 2015
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 25 December 2015
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 31 December 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 13 November 2015
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 26 November 2015
Verified Purchase
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 28 May 2019
Reviewed in Australia on 3 October 2016
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

CAVE
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing how this is a first novel!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 October 2015
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Donny Rock
3.0 out of 5 stars Local violence
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 October 2019
Verified Purchase
Tom
5.0 out of 5 stars 5*
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 January 2019
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars 5*
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 January 2019
One of the most enjoyable books I've read last couple years. Don't be put off by the chapters set in different years, it works really well at giving you a scope of the family as a whole and the background of each member.
Their is an urgency in the way brain panowich writes, as someone else put it, like a double barrel shotgun straight on to the page.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
Dirty Books
5.0 out of 5 stars A shotgun wedding between Justified and Sons of Anarchy
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 April 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Lindylou
4.0 out of 5 stars Try it
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 October 2015
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse