$44.21
Usually dispatched within 6 to 10 days.
Ships from and sold by Book Depository UK.
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$43.56
And FREE delivery on eligible orders. See details and conditions
Sold by: Amazon AU
$44.20
+ FREE Delivery
Sold by: Paper Cavalier US
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Book of Summer Hardcover – 9 May 2017

3.9 out of 5 stars 61 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$44.21
$40.30
FREE delivery: 26 March - 8 April

Save up to 50% off RRP on select top books
PLUS, free expedited delivery. T&C's apply. See more
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

  • Buy this item and get 90 days Free Amazon Music Unlimited. After purchase you will receive an email with further information. Offer valid for a limited time only. Terms and Conditions apply.” Learn more here.

Frequently bought together

  • Book of Summer
  • +
  • Summer I Met Jack
  • +
  • Summer of '69 - Target Exclusive
Total Price: $100.57
Buy the selected items together

Save on selected Penguin Classics and Popular Penguin books.
View our selection and latest deals. Click to explore.

Product details

  • Publisher : St. Martin's Press (9 May 2017)
  • Language : English
  • Hardcover : 418 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1250070627
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1250070623
  • Dimensions : 15.24 x 2.69 x 22.86 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.9 out of 5 stars 61 ratings

Product description

Review

Praise for The Book of Summer

"Michelle Gable has moved in on [Elin] Hilderbrand's home turf with a humorous and smartly written story of two generations of love and vacations." --Wall Street Journal

"A sure bet for women's-fiction fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Nantucket novels." --Booklist

"Gable cleverly illuminates the past, revealing how it mirrors the present. This is a splendid multigenerational novel about the strength of the women of Cliff House." --Publishers Weekly

"Gable develops fully rounded characters that readers feel as if they could reach out and touch. We want to know more about them and Gable gives us plenty." --Richmond Times-Dispatch

"These laid-back books epitomize the term 'beach read.'" --Coastal Living

"A must for any summer reading list." --The Boston Herald

"This time of year is meant for books to devour. Vacations, the beach, lazy afternoons all call for a good book that allows you to escape. Michelle Gable knows how to deliver." --Newport News Daily Press

"It's Gable's ability to weave a family's tale through the musings of summer visitors, war, relationship drama and a smattering of sexual tension that makes it a must for any summer reading list." --Fort Worth Star- Telegram

"A deep look at the strength of women, this will tantalize readers as they, along with Bess, learn of her family." --Parkersburg News + Sentinel

"The Book of Summer is delightful. The three main women in the story are quirky creatures with major differences, but their family bond shines through, making this a charming, profane, funny, and touching read...A perfect book to bring to the beach, Michelle Gable's fourth novel is sure to appeal to readers of Elin Hilderbrand and Kristan Higgins." --Shelf Awareness

"This book warmed my soul and I couldn't wait to finish it! I aggressively read like the last third of the book because I was so wrapped up in it! It was wonderful and I would highly recommend this book to other readers! Though now I want to binge read all of her other novels because her narration style and plot points were all wonderfully thought out." --The Lit Bitch

"If you enjoy historical beach reads that focus on family, you'll love The Book of Summer. I especially appreciated how the past intertwined with the present and the message of female strength throughout the novel. I definitely recommend this one!" --Confessions of a Book Addict

"A great escape!" --The Fine Books Blog

Praise for Michelle Gable:

"Plot-master Gable's (I'll See You In Paris) affection for hidden treasures emerges again in her second absorbing novel. Readers are kept guessing 'til the end in this sweet story of love, mystery, art, literature, and Paris. As complex and moving as Naomi Wood's Mrs. Hemingway and Liz Trenow's The Forgotten Seamstress." --Booklist

"Gable (A Paris Apartment) writes an engaging story, and both worlds--Annie's in 2001 and Pru's in 1973--are easy to slide into. Readers will root for both women as they uncover family secrets and discover hidden aspects of themselves. Readers of Kate Morton and those who enjoy family-centered mysteries will approve highly of this book." --Library Journal

"Gable (I'll See You In Paris) has crafted another page-turner of a good read, filled with history, mystery and a dash of romance. This is the sort of fun, escapist read that is beloved by books clubs. There are characters to love, characters to hate, enticing settings and a requisite amount of plot twists." --Fort Worth Star-Telegram

"Michelle Gable (I'll See You In Paris)...elegantly navigates the narratives of the generations, making each set of characters complex and likable." --Richmond Times Dispatch

"Gable's (I'll See You In Paris)novel provides a wonderful, highly literate mystery...stories within stories, an almost Wuthering Heights narrative complexity." --The Roanoke Times

"Gable (A Paris Apartment) tells an engaging story of a fascinating, largely forgotten historical figure against the backdrop of two fledgling romances." --Kirkus Reviews

About the Author

New York Times bestselling author of A Paris Apartment, MICHELLE GABLE graduated from The College of William & Mary. When not dreaming up fiction on the sly, she currently resides in Cardiff by the Sea, California, with her husband, two daughters, and one lazy cat.

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5
61 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 0 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

John
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Reviewed in Canada on 24 August 2017
Verified Purchase
Julie
4.0 out of 5 stars Once started it was hard to put down
Reviewed in Canada on 16 August 2019
Verified Purchase
mary gresham
1.0 out of 5 stars Yuck!
Reviewed in the United States on 1 September 2017
Verified Purchase
25 people found this helpful
Report abuse
hocs
3.0 out of 5 stars loved the portrait of Nantucket and the island
Reviewed in the United States on 11 April 2018
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Gail Weldon
1.0 out of 5 stars Book of sleeping
Reviewed in the United States on 29 May 2018
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse