Buying Options

Kindle Price: $12.99
includes tax, if applicable

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
The Boat Runner: A Novel by [Murphy, Devin]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Boat Runner: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 176 ratings

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99

Length: 375 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $14.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Language: English

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Product description

Review

"Devin Murphy's The Boat Runner is staggering. An epic and unknown story of World War II, it lays bare the moral impossibilities families face when bombs begin to fall. Masterful prose pairs with an uncommon sense for emotional complexity-here, Murphy renders both exploding warships and the deepest quandaries of the human heart with equal grace, with equal force. In The Boat Runner, Devin Murphy has given us a much-needed tale of redemption in dark times. Its truths will be with me for a long while."--Nicholas Mainieri, author of The Infinite

"Murphy is a rare writer whose prose rings with authority and beauty as it weaves the devastating story of children coming of age in the darkest hours of the twentieth century. Every page is alive with discovery, surprise, and ultimately, the mystery of what drives the human heart. The electricity which sets this story on its journey continues to crackle and spark long after the lights begin to go out across Europe, one after another, until we finally understand the cost and meaning of resistance, our only weapon against the tyranny that threatens to destroy civilization. This is an unforgettable tale of human triumph."--Jonis Agee, author of The Bones of Paradise

"Devin Murphy's fantastic debut novel The Boat Runner is a lot of things--thrilling, tragic, well-paced--but maybe most of all, timely. With prose reminiscent of Per Petterson, The Boat Runner is a book that asks its reader, When does a person stand up? When does a normal person take action? And how does a person resist against overwhelming power? The Boat Runner is a satisfying page-turner, sure, but it is also an allegory for our time, a reminder of world war not so long ago, when fishermen, factory owners, children, and mothers became reluctant heroes, standing bravely against a sudden and twisted evil."--Nickolas Butler, internationally best-selling author of SHOTGUN LOVESONGS and THE HEARTS OF MEN

"Poignant...acts as a cautionary tale for our own times....The young Dutch boy Jacob Koopman, together with his family, lives in the middle of a morality tale, in which doing the right thing is often obscured by the need to survive. Devin Murphy has given us a moving, powerful and important work."--Joseph Kertes, author of The Afterlife of Stars and Gratitude, winner of the National Jewish Book Award for Fiction

"An ambitious coming of age story...Murphy's debut novel is a purposely limited view of war, as was The Red Badge of Courage, but strong characters and compelling narrative convey the impact well beyond one family. An impressive debut."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"A stellar account of wartime sacrifice, loss, and suspense...Jacob's final salvation is satisfying and inspiring. As one character says, 'It's the incidents we can't control that make us who we are.'"--Publishers Weekly

"Murphy's novel is successful not only for its visceral depiction of Europe at war but also as a study in character, limning Jacob's growth to a self-sufficient, empathetic adult."--Booklist

"Debut novelist Murphy lends authenticity to his story by drawing on the life of his Dutch maternal grandfather and his own experiences at sea, where Jacob crucially spends time...An effectively detailed, morally complex book that will appeal to all readers of historical fiction."--Library Journal

"[A] stellar account of sacrifice, loss and survival."--Eyes on World Culture

"Chilling...deadly earnest...full of discomfiting nuance...an astute and riveting portrait of one young man."--New York Times Book Review

Product Description

National Bestseller

In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II.

Beginning in the summer of 1939, fourteen-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives of prosperity and quiet contentment. Many of the residents in their small Dutch town have some connection to the Koopman lightbulb factory, and the locals hold the family in high esteem.

On days when they aren’t playing with friends, Jacob and Edwin help their Uncle Martin on his fishing boat in the North Sea, where German ships have become a common sight. But conflict still seems unthinkable, even as the boys’ father naively sends his sons to a Hitler Youth Camp in an effort to secure German business for the factory.

When war breaks out, Jacob’s world is thrown into chaos. The Boat Runner follows Jacob over the course of four years, through the forests of France, the stormy beaches of England, and deep within the secret missions of the German Navy, where he is confronted with the moral dilemma that will change his life—and his life’s mission—forever.

Epic in scope and featuring a thrilling narrative with precise, elegant language, The Boat Runner tells the little-known story of the young Dutch boys who were thrown into the Nazi campaign, as well as the brave boatmen who risked everything to give Jewish refugees safe passage to land abroad. Through one boy’s harrowing tale of personal redemption, here is a novel about the power of people’s stories and voices to shine light through our darkest days, until only love prevails. 

 

 


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 838 KB
  • Print Length: 375 pages
  • Publisher: Harper Perennial (5 September 2017)
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers (AU)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01N1RHB79
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #159,300 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

click to open popover

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
176 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 31 December 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Reviewed in Australia on 8 January 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 18 April 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Top international reviews

S. Mac
4.0 out of 5 stars A moving account of a Dutchman caught up in the agonies and trials of war
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 June 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Happy1971
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 August 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Marjie gilpin
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story
Reviewed in Canada on 31 July 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
R1Z2
4.0 out of 5 stars Moral dilemma
Reviewed in the United States on 15 February 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
27 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Caryn, the Book Whisperer
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing WWII story by a writer to watch
Reviewed in the United States on 26 September 2017
Verified Purchase
20 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
S Ward
5.0 out of 5 stars The beautiful, sensitive writing about brutal and shocking events keeps ...
Reviewed in the United States on 8 November 2017
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful and mesmerizing
Reviewed in the United States on 12 January 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
K8tfb
4.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly moving
Reviewed in the United States on 27 February 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
dearborn firefly
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing story
Reviewed in the United States on 13 May 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
BookHawk
4.0 out of 5 stars Intensely emotional novel of war and suffering
Reviewed in the United States on 20 December 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Barbara A Klein
4.0 out of 5 stars A Boy's Conscience
Reviewed in the United States on 16 May 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Don Ugliano
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible book
Reviewed in the United States on 23 July 2018
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
cwg
5.0 out of 5 stars a book to be savored, over and over
Reviewed in the United States on 7 January 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Iain
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read
Reviewed in the United States on 4 October 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Ed Champagne
5.0 out of 5 stars One young boy's story you won't want to miss.
Reviewed in the United States on 13 February 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse