<Embed>
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Bloodleaf Hardcover – 1 April 2020

4.5 out of 5 stars 152 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$18.56

Get 90 days FREE of Amazon Music Unlimited
with the purchase of any eligible product. Shop now

Special offers and product promotions

  • Buy this item and get 90 days Free Amazon Music Unlimited. After purchase you will receive an email with further information. Offer valid for a limited time only. Terms and Conditions apply.” Learn more here.

Save on selected Bestselling Children's books.
Includes Bluey, Peter Rabbit, Spot, Peppa Pig, Roald Dahl and more. Click to explore.

Product details

  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Children (1 April 2020)
  • Language : English
  • Hardcover : 384 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1328496309
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1328496300
  • Reading age : 14 - 17 years
  • Dimensions : 15.49 x 3.81 x 23.11 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 152 ratings

Product description

Review

"[R]omance, danger, and magic make for a winning combination that will keep readers glued to the pages long after bedtime." -School Library Journal

"A multifaceted scheme, mistaken identity, and a simmering romance will keep readers riveted and dying to know how it all unfolds. The exploration of the land's religion and people's conflicting understandings of it seems to be a reflection of the real world, lending the story a deeper commentary without sidelining the main plot. An excellent choice for fans of smart, independent female leads, intriguing fantasy worlds, and a race against the clock to defeat evil." -Booklist

"The plot is breathlessly fast, complete with creepy spirits, a satisfying romance, and complex but clear political twists and turns....Political, romantic, magical, timely, yet also traditionally appealing." -Kirkus

"[A] riveting read....rife with surprising twists....This novel is a well-developed page-turner that will have fans of both the fantasy and mystery genres rushing to finish." -Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Debut author Smith explores the power of sacrifice in this darkly romantic reimagining of the Brothers Grimm's 'The Goose Girl.'" -Publishers Weekly

Early praise for Bloodleaf:

"Enchanting, visceral, and twisty, Bloodleaf is a phantasmagorical wonder that will keep you guessing until the very last page."-NYT bestselling author of Ash Princess, Laura Sebastian

"Eerie, immersive, and fascinating, Bloodleaf feels like a classic in the making. Readers will be pulled deep into Aurelia's world, and lose sleep alongside her as the deadly mysteries close in."-Sarah Holland, NYT bestselling author of Everless

"Smith weaves together mystery, adventure and a reimagined fairy tale in this bewitching debut. An irresistible, spellbinding story."-Rebecca Ross, author of The Queen's Rising

"I am all in my feelings about this book. This book got under my skin and poked at my soul. Bloodleaf is gritty, raw, and dark but it is also beautiful and powerful. Crystal Smith is like the George R.R. Martin of YA. A roundhouse kick to the heart and readers will ask for more--Crystal has a new fan!"-Kim Brock, Joseph Beth Booksellers, Cincinnati, OH

"Bloodleaf provides food for thought on our world even while immersing readers in a fully imagined world of its own. The combination of magic and political intrigue make it a great choice for fans of Victoria Aveyard or Susan Dennard."-Leslie Hawkins, Spellbound Children's Bookshop, Asheville, NC

"I was so absolutely enthralled with what was going on that I wasn't even thinking more than a sentence ahead. Highly Highly recommend!!"-Nichole Cousins, White Birch Books, North Conway, NH

"Bloodleaf is one of those rare stories that truly grabbed me from the very first paragraph and never let me go. So much more than a retelling of the Grimm fairy tale the Goose Girl, Crystal Smith has woven a tale of identity, secrets, adventure, magic, and love that I just adored. I cannot wait for what comes next!"-Lauren D'Alessio, Wellesley Books, Wellesley, MA

"Unusually convincing romantic tension and exceptionally dynamic character development."-Kenny Brechner, DDG Booksellers, Farmington, ME

"Bloodleaf is an intriguing and suspenseful fantasy, sure to be popular with teen and adult readers. I loved it and am already looking forward to book 2!"-Holly Frakes, Schuler Books and Music, Okemos, MI

"Being strong means making important choices in a moment-- Aurelia has to abandon her emotional and physical comforts, and her family to save her kingdom. Through complicated magic and courage, Aurelia shows us how believing in yourself, while not being selfish, conjures up a power that brings justice to her world."-Kira Wizner, Merritt Bookstore, Millbrook, NY

"A YA fantasy page turner, Bloodleaf captures all the excitement of a strong princess fighting for her country and her life while exploring her identity."-Jen Kraar, City of Asylum Books, Pittsburgh, PA

About the Author

Crystal Smith is a writer, photographer, and artist who developed an early love of storytelling in a family of voracious readers. She resides in Utah with her high school sweetheart husband and two lively sons. When she isn't writing or creating, she can be found re-watching Jane Eyre or reading ghost stories with all the lights on. @crysrensmith.

From the Publisher

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
152 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Top reviews from Australia

There are 0 reviews and 4 ratings from Australia

Top reviews from other countries

Suzanne Clune
3.0 out of 5 stars A Solid YA Fantasy Debut With Great Potential
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 August 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Sara Stouby Pedersen
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 April 2021
Verified Purchase
Candice
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun read!
Reviewed in Canada on 8 July 2019
Verified Purchase
A Court of Coffee and Books
5.0 out of 5 stars This dark and luscious tale will have you hooked from the first page.
Reviewed in the United States on 14 March 2019
Verified Purchase
21 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Jessica S.
4.0 out of 5 stars A Reimagined Fairy Tale that Rocked!
Reviewed in the United States on 13 March 2019
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse